Why my first prep is always money

0 12
Avatar for Diziette
2 years ago
Picture on Pixabay by Alexas Fotos

I have my own opinion on prepping and money. Sure, I would like to influence you to my point of view but I would also like it if you point out where I am going wrong. I am not a financial advisor and the suggestions I make are not meant as financial advice. On the financial advice you have to do your own homework.

What I have realized is that you get a lot of advice on prepping. Everyone wants to tell you what to stock up and what skills you should have. Not many try to tell you how to preserve your wealth in times of disaster. Never forget, money represents most of the wealth you gathered throughout your life, even if it is only numbers in a ledger.

This is why knowing how to preserve your wealth in times of disaster is important. It represents your whole life's work. Or to some of us the lack thereof.

In times of disaster or war, changes take place. The things and places you know change or disappear and people you know move or die. Money and the things that hold value and accessibility to it also changes. Even if it is only for a while, it could really disrupt your life in a negative way.

That is why my first prep is money. With money you have to prep for the good and the bad times. If your Television, your fridge and your fridge ever broke down in the same month and you had to replace or repair you understand what I mean. Being prepared for the smallest disaster goes a long way towards better living.

Being prepared financially holds more value than any other type of prepping you have ever done.

In times of disaster or war life goes on. After every war there were survivors rebuilding their lives. Same with every other type of disaster.

The point is, no matter what happens, there will always be someone willing to trade and someone willing to take a bribe. Then when all is done you will always need resources to get back on your feet.

Life goes on. Never forget the golden rule. He who has the gold, makes the rules.

There are some very solid reasons for prepping money in good times. Everyone knows about sudden breakdowns of things you rely on. There other more unexpected things though.

A while ago, I don't remember if it were 2015 or16, on the first of January the banks went offline for the day. That was through the whole of South Africa.

No card transaction could be put through. Anything you wanted to buy that day had to be bought in cash. The banking machines were also off and the banks closed because it was a public holiday.

If you had no cash, you were stuck.

This was my first money prepping lesson. My answer to that is to have enough cash stashed for three days' food.

I also keep cash for another 6 days of food in the bank where I can get to it quickly. If the banks are online but the till points are not, there is always a plan to be made.

That is also the only instance where I keep cash or money in a bank. The rest of what I have is in things that will keep its value even if we have hyperinflation.

Apart from this there is something else you have to consider when it comes to money. The two things that will have the biggest influence on your money is the growing debt situation and the thing that underwrites the value of your money.

Credit is highly dependent on the repayment cycle which causes inflation. It is also a hostage situation. When your income disappears your creditors will still want to be paid.

The scary part is what the value of money is actually connected to. Since money is not connected to the gold standard anymore, governments decide that the money of their country has value. You can say they underwrite the value of the money.

If you learn that you cannot trust a government, that they are liars who will just as soon kill you, how long will there be trust in the money they underwrite. This applies to any and every government.

Even if you diversify your money internationally to keep it safe from a local crash, how long will that be safe. It's rather like scattering your money on the sand in an hourglass. When it goes through the hole it is buried in the sand forever.

Now you know why my first prep is always money.

Thank you so much for reading my post I originally posted it on Peakd. Thank you for your upvotes and comments. I really appreciate your assistance.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Diziette
2 years ago

Comments