A slow start to changing my garden

2 25
Avatar for Diziette
2 years ago

Every garden needs a destination and every destination a view. The destination is a place to go to. A braai area or comfortable place to sit and chat. Some even have an outside dining room.

Whatever your destination it will always be measured at how much anyone enjoys using it. The more they like it, the more visitors you will have to your garden.

In my small garden I rearranged existing garden furniture, pushing a table to the south wall and hanging the chairs on the wall. I took the braai from its stand and put it on some paving bricks.

This reduce not only the space taken up when not in use but it looks mote open. When I have a planned braai or outside evening, I take the chairs off the hook. I leave one chair off the hook for the casual visitor wanting to go outside or for when I have the insane urge to sit outside reading. It does happen.

The view of the garden is what gets your attention immediately when you go out. It is a feature like a garden ornament, a water feature or a striking planted arrangement that just grabs your mind.

While your garden should be an overall pleasant experience, The feature is the thing that creates the first impression. If you take the time to create a feature you can regularly adjust or replace, your visitors will come back out of curiosity. I can say that from experience.

The braai area is on the north wall. The best place to put the feature and create would be on the south wall closer to the east end, drawing attention away from the building. I am a bit lost at the moment though trying to decide how to create a feature or the view.

After the cleanup not much are left. Most plants are new cuttings. I also have some seeds in. I planted climbing beans, parsley and onions against the South wall. There are a few tomato plants that showed themselves in the pots. Unfortunately the snails decimated the beans leaving me one bean plant. I had to plant more.

I also added some Vygie cuttings in red, purple and orange to the bottle tower I have in the corner. That can become part of a possible feature.

The bottle tower is a remnant from a not so distant past. I cut the bottoms of some soft drink bottles, leaving the caps on the tops. Then I filled the bottles with soil and built a tower putting the bottle tops into the open ends. I punched two holes in the top end about two inches from the cap. When I pour water into the top one, it runs through to the bottom. Because of the space between the cap and the holes it leaves a small reservoir in the head of the bottle. That saves on watering.

Planting the vygies in there will make a nice red, purple and orange tower in the corner. A good start for a view.

Right now I am sitting in front of the computer, looking out of the door, whishing the rain wood stop so I can go make a fire in my braai. My garden is an outside room.

For the moment, that is all about my garden. Thank you for your support. Your likes are truly appreciated.

This post was originally made on Peakd. You can join me there using this link, https://peakd.com/register?ref=diziette

If you would like to earn crypto while searching join me on Preseasrch and earn while each time you search https://presearch.org/signup?rid=2946923

Regards, Diziette

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Diziette
2 years ago

Comments

You are doing great, I love the redecoration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you @remona

$ 0.00
2 years ago