ISAW: Pinoy Street Foood

0 12
Avatar for Divinemae
3 years ago
Source: Unsplash

There are smokes everywhere every day at 5:00 p.m. in the plaza. You can taste the smell of grilled foods, and it's so satisfying, and you can't resist it. That was the BARBECUE!

You will find so many barbecue stores in this plaza every day, even on holidays, and it will make you hungry.

When I was a kid, my mom brings me this place to buy some delicious smoky food called Barbecue. At first, I don't like that food because it looks dirty to me, and I haven't eaten it before. I'm so picky when it comes to food when I was a kid, and most of the time I only eat junk foods. My mom would like me to eat this food called ISAW.

Source: Instagram

It looks gross and I don't want to eat it either. My mother, however, refuses and forces me to eat that isaw. It was just okay at the first bite and its sort of a gummy food, but it's so tender and tastes better than junk food. I can't stop myself from eating after I've tried the isaw. Especially when you dip it in the onion and garlic vinegar.

What is ISAW?

In the Philippines, it is popular street food and it's also known as grilled intestine or Isaw. A mixture of soy sauce, garlic, salt, pepper, ketchup, and cooking oil is usually grilled in the chicken intestine over charcoal. During the Spanish colonial era, Filipinos began eating the innards of poultry (specifically chicken) way back.

  • For more than 300 years, Spain colonized the Philippines and Filipinos were the lowest class in society during those days. Often, they are made "alipin" or slaves and forced to work for the colonizers. When a household kills a chicken for dinner, the masters consume all the good parts, while the slaves share the remaining parts, such as innards and feet.

source: unsplash

Where can I buy isaw?

They sell it on the street or in the plaza most of the time. In the Philippines, you can find it everywhere.

source: unsplash

Then the pandemic has come.

source: unsplash

I miss Isaw so much at that moment, but I can't find them anywhere because most of the streets and shops are closed throughout the pandemic. So I decided to make an isaw of my own during the pandemic. I told my mother to buy some chicken intestines to make my version of the isaw. Because she's the only one who can go to buy some food outside.

So how did I make my version of isaw?

First of all, you need to prepare all the ingredients.

  • Chicken intestine

  • 1/2 cup of vinegar

  • 2 tablespoon whole peppercorn

  • 3 tablespoon soy sauce

  • 2 tablespoon of cooking oil

  • Ketchup

I'm not an expert and it's all based on my own experience.

The intestine you bought is not clean most of the time, so make sure you clean the intestines again by gently squeezing it with your fingers to remove any residual waste.

To prepare the intestine, prevent mashing when it is boiled and cooked, it is recommended to skewer the intestine while it is raw.

  • Boil water in a big pot and add salt and whole peppercorn. Add the skewered intestines, then simmer over low heat for a few minutes. Simmer for up to 30 minutes or until the intestines are tender, then add vinegar. Turn the heat off and let it cool off.

Now it's time for grilling

Prepare the sauce in a medium bowl. Combine the cooking oil, ketchup and soy sauce. Stir until combined well. Just set aside. When basting, start grilling the intestine with the mixture of cooking oil, ketchup, and soy sauce.

SERVE THE ISAW WITH SPICED VINEGAR ENJOY!

Isaw is my favorite food of all time, and if you've done this far, thank you for reading my article and see you on my next one.

Sponsors of Divinemae
empty
empty
empty

0
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Divinemae
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Divinemae
3 years ago

Comments