. . My personal experience with the COVID-19 Pandemic . .

0 9
Avatar for Dibari
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

The year 2020 was one of my most awaited years because I had a lot of plans for this year and this decade. My friends and I had planned to visit several cities before the year ended. I had also planned to visit several relatives and to work more this year with the kids from church. However, this has turned out to be a historical year because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

When the virus started in China, no one would have imagined that it would cross borders and would hit the world like it has today. No one would also have guessed activities in the busiest world cities like New York would be brought into a standstill. Worse of all, I would never have imagined that I would see the most deaths from a virus in such a short time.   At the moment, my vulnerability to this condition is minimal because of several reasons. One of them is that the virus seems to have the most effect on people with other health conditions. Luckily, I have not had any serious health issues before, but my family members and I are not taking any chances. Because of this, we have been taking serious precautions to make sure that none of us will be infected with the virus. Secondly, family movement out of the house has been minimized to buying grocery, and essential items, and only one or two of us are allowed out. Those who move out are required to take necessary precautions such as social distancing, covering their mouth, and cleaning their hands regularly to avoid infection. Though my susceptibility is low, the situation has greatly affected my personal life like it has affected others. I cannot move around the way I used to, plus I find myself being anxious about tomorrow. I am always worried about others and even myself because I do not know what would happen if any of us contracted the virus. Therefore, I am working hard to protect myself and others by limiting my movements. Though everything seems tough at this moment, I have also witnessed some positives, and one of them is that the pandemic has forced me to spend time with my family and appreciate life and other basics such as food and shelter, which I always took for granted.

Before this, I never knew that I could not enjoy staying indoors, and there was a lot I could do in such a situation. My resilience level has also gone high because I have become tough from the situations around me. For example, I can now cope with being indoors the whole day. I also find myself being even more creative with my family.  Even with the pandemic, I still plan to become a social worker because the experience has helped me to appreciate life and be more compassionate. Therefore, some of the things that I could do as a social worker to help those facing the pandemic includes calling them, comforting them. I also intend to donate to families and people who may be affected by the pandemic. I will also spend my free time to increase my competence and learn more about others and how I can help in such a situation. My current message of hope to all people around the world is that soon, we will overcome this threat.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Dibari
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments