Dare You Eat Them?

15 36
Avatar for Diana_
Written by
2 years ago

17-11-21. N6

A few years ago I traveled to China, I spent a few months in that legendary country. Enjoy fully its culture, its landscapes, its people. I have very fond memories of those days. Some experiences were new to me, I come from a western culture, but I quickly embraced many of their eastern customs.

I tell you something that impacted me a lot, since I am a bit conservative and traditional according to my roots, when talking about culinary tastes.

During my stay there I could see how in supermarkets in the fishmongers, we could find ponds full of toads, ready to be bought and eaten, a bit creepy because of the fear I have of them, luckily they were so big that their weight prevented them from jumping, I suppose which are an exquisite delicacy but I prefer to keep them at bay. Perhaps who knows some day I ate it, in our outings and street lunches, better not even know.

Image from my phone

I was in Beijing for a few days, and we visited an alley known as Wangfujing Market, very crowded by certain foreigners and locals, it was difficult to walk among so many people. We visit them precisely in search of the exotic delicacies that are tasted there. One of my friends wanted to experiment, I really only went to look and see them with my own eyes, but I did not think to try them. There I was very impressed by all kinds of insects, live scorpions that moved inserted in sticks ready to eat, seahorses, crickets, cockroaches, starfish, worms, I suppose as the Lion King say "slimy but tasty" , in spanish "Viscosos, pero sabrosos", that's how I would see myself me 👇😀.

Image from film The Lion King

A friend who had eaten a scorpion told me that you have to know how to eat it because poison can make the part of your mouth that comes into contact with it numb. The way of preparing the insects is once they are thrown in hot oil on the skewers to fry them, their crunchy shape and flavor is what makes many want to try them. I wanted to show you photos taken by my camera but I did not find them among so many.

Image from my phone

It was also very common to find fish and ducks hanging in this way on the streets on clotheslines. The technique of drying raw meat using the sun as a dehydrator is a primitive technique and custom.

Image from my camera

It was very common to find street vendors who prepared very rich dishes, and typical, those well-stocked tortillas with vegetables and meat inside were the favorite of a friend.

Image from my camera

A very common smell near each food point was that of tofu, a cheese that has a fairly strong smell. Just as it was very common for street sandwiches to be eaten on skewers, a toothpick where the bites were strung.

Image from my phone

Other of its peculiarities is the consumption of cat and dog meat, for many of us considered domestic and affectionate animals. Although not all the cities of China have these habits, nor do all people, if they were common to see these images while walking the streets of a rural town. Although I have read that after the pandemic some Chinese provinces have banned the consumption of this type of meat as well as the elimination of certain culinary practices of eating live animals.

There are many countries with exotic dishes that impress, either for their flavor or eccentricity, the truth is that we are a universe of cultures and knowing them is a challenge.

I hope you liked what I shared about my experiences, would you eat them? Or have you eaten some of these exotic dishes, in your country you have seen a similar one?.

If you like me, don't forget to like me and comment, see you.

Thank you for reading.

7
$ 1.59
$ 1.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 7
Sponsors of Diana_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Diana_
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I probably prefer to go hungry than try them out, lol!

I have not seen nor encountered those types of exotic foods (scorpions, dog meat, or cat meats, etc) during my stay in another Chinese city. What I have seen were snakes in jars :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

What do you think and if you were alone on an island, after a shipwreck, you only have one frog to eat, what would you do? Haha 😂 difficult situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha, I wouldn't eat it, will make it go away, haha. I would go find something else to eat, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here in our country we also have exotic foods, like worms and frog..but I still haven't tried to eat them, and I'm not sure if I can dare to eat them 😂😂..but people says that they taste good..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dare and tell me haha, in my country you don't see these exotic dishes, so I should put my husband to hunt a frog to eat it, I don't think so he is also afraid of haha, we spend work at home arguing who takes out a frog when he enters through window.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I could eat all those exotic dishes. But I have eaten frog legs and I like them. And of insects, I have eaten bachacos culones from the Amazon. I ate them fried at a gastronomy fair. They are also used to make a famous spicy from the Amazon called Catara.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The frog legs taste good as you say, but I think that knowing what it is I could not eat it, I hope they never fool me and make me eat it as if it were another meat, I trust they never make that joke on me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how bad you ate it deceived. Someone did something like this to me with donkey meat and I was really mad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would never eat them. I respect their culture and what they eat. I am not saying it is bad. They love it so it means it is not bad. It is just the fact to know that eating insect. It is not for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you, I respect it, I like to meet, but I would not eat them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewww, I don't want even to see them. My sister is studying in china and in Beijing city and we always tease her with frogs. They are very commons on the streets there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha good, people who have eaten them say that their legs are delicious.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world is rich in cultural differences. Exotic foods are present in many countries. 😃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of exotic foods.in the Philippines too haha..including mr froggy..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In my country they also eat them, which is not very common, my dad says that sometime when he was young he ate them and that they are delicious. I don't think consciously I will ever do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago