A Christmas Story: An Unexpected Visit

14 48
Avatar for Diana_
Written by
2 years ago

Today is December 24 and my little one is eager to go to bed. He knows that he has been good all year and that he deserves a gift from Santa Claus. At least this is what we parents tell them to try to appease a little those energies that they give off so much every day. As adults we actually know that Santa does not exist, that it is an invention that they make us as children, but it is a way that now ours have that illusion that magic is possible. In addition, this is how we have them under control all year long: "If you behave badly, Santa Claus will not give you gifts this year." I don't have a fireplace in the house, but it comes in through the window, oh oh oh.

It has been more than two months since my child put his letter next to the Christmas tree, which says:

Dear Santa Claus, I have been very good all year. I have not done any mischief, at least not one that you can punish me. I have listened to my parents and eat all the food whenever I sit at the table. I take great care of my kitten, and I like to play with him. I am a model child. I only ask you for a little sister. "

Here you can see the photo of the tree and the letter that I leave next to it.

He went straight to his room to sleep after dinner. He wanted to go to bed, because the faster he lies down and falls asleep, the faster he wakes up and has his gift. As we read his letter, or rather, explaining his letter to us ahh, we realized that perhaps instead of Santa he should have written it to the storks. But who are we to argue with a child's imagination? So we leave it as is.

In the middle of the morning, I felt a noise in the room. As if the window was half open. I did not want to pay much attention, but then I realized that my little one had gotten up and was going to the living room. I didn't want to ask him where he was going, I just looked at the situation carefully. He got to the living room and stood in front of the little tree. He gestured and extended his hand pointing his finger at the letter.

At that moment, the impossible happened. The letter rose in the air and remained suspended for a few seconds at a height of 1 meter, and then returned next to the tree to its initial position. It was then that I heard an "Oh Oh Oh" and a slight smile appeared on my face. I didn't understand what was happening and at the same time I didn't want to stop believing. It gave me back my childhood. At that moment my little one laughs too and it was when a cold air ran through the whole house, as if it were snowing there.

I approached my son and he didn't say anything to me. The father had already gotten up and was also observing everything from the room and joined us. The boy looked at us both, and without further ado, he raised his hand and touching my belly, he approached him and whispered: "See you soon little sister." At that moment, the three of us hugged each other and we stayed like that for a long time.

Magic and hope is the last thing to be lost. Imagination is the most powerful thing we have, and if we could understand that a child's mind is the greatest gift, free from impurities, trauma, and full of meaning, we would be better every day. Don't stop believing, magic exists.

Thank you very much for reading me today, friends of

This is it for today friends. This is my entry for the #ChristmasChallenge2021 contest proposed by TengoLoTodo. You can see the details in the following article: Christmas Challenge 2021.

In summary, the bases are the following:

• Submit an entry with the theme A Christmas Story

• Mention the tag #ChristmasChallenge2021

• Mention me @TengoLoTodo

• The article needs to be in English and at least 600 words in length

• Has to be your own words and original content

• Needs to have a picture of the Special Requirement READ somewhere in the article.

• No more entries after December 23rd will be eligible for prizes.

See you between the lines.

10
$ 6.11
$ 3.03 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 2.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 6
Sponsors of Diana_
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Diana_
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Congratulations Diana, I have tipped your prize for being a winner in my #ChristmasChallenge2021 contest :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How cute was that :) Loved the picture too, thank you for entering :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

A pleasure for me, thank you for convening this contest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Christmas tree is so cute! Your kid is so adorable! I hope Santa will visit you guys! Hehe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is a bit complicated what he asked for, it is rather the task of the storks, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awee I really feel the cold of our place here I guess santa will gonna show up. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That illusion feels unique and magical, also when I was little I longed to see it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awe that was too cute, I was imagining my own son while reading and that made me smile imagining how sweet the story was.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We like to keep that illusion for him, the time will come when at school, in the neighborhood, his friends will tell him the truth, but it is the magic of childhood, let them enjoy it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a magical one. I felt like mine was a lame 🤣. It was more realistic

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Magic or reality, everything has its wonder, let's wait awake for the one with the white beard, sometimes we have to tell the little one that one of his reindeer got sick and that is why Santa is late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best part of my life was when I believed in Santa Claus. I like to travel to the imagination world with my kids often.😊 It is nice to be a child sometimes, to escape from reality for a while. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is good that they live that illusion. I know parents who do not let it live so that they do not get frustrated later when they discover that they are the ones who bring the gifts. I think it is a very beautiful stage of life, you have to let your imagination fly.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also know some parents who do not let their children believe in Santa and maybe they are right but my son really enjoy these Christmas moments and I let him enjoy. It is nice to imagine. It is the part of childhood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago