The Rise of the In-Browser Wallet?

2 144
Avatar for Devalbo
4 years ago

The time for browser/site based wallets seems to be coming

I had first heard of the browser based wallet Telescope 18 months ago.

I've been working on Op-Wallet off and on for the past year for some of my own projects because I want to write web applications.

Read.cash needs wallets for its readers, so there's another one.

Plus, I just read about slightly more than two implementations (or planned implementations) today.

So, it looks like there's a common need for websites to want their own in-site/on-premise/non-custodial crypto-functionality. And I can't think of a better-suited coin than Bitcoin Cash to handle it with its low fees!

Infrastructure?

As far as I can tell, all of these wallets are intended to act as Simplified Payment Verification (SPV) wallets. Assuming growth continues and more developers move up the app stack, this SPV infrastructure will become more critical. Hopefully an ecosystem of diverse providers will arise as well.

Right now, many wallets use https://rest.bitcoin.com to handle their network needs, but I can imagine as quality-of-service becomes more critical, different models of provision (either as infrastructure hosting or service provider) may arise. As the pieces of the ecosystem become more mature, this will be an exciting development to watch.

3
$ 2.60
$ 2.50 from @nyusternie
$ 0.10 from @tula_s
Avatar for Devalbo
4 years ago

Comments

Your information is very useful to the society at large. You've really shed light on wallets. It is now left to individuals to make good choice.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm ready to BUIDL .. thanks for giving me a head start

$ 0.00
4 years ago