Becoming an Independent Young Adult

1 47
Avatar for Dennosaur
2 years ago

Have you ever questioned yourself when I will finally be free in the prison of being teenager? As a child, our teachers often asked us what should we like to become when we grow up. I personally answered like "I want to be a policeman". Then after a year my answer will be like this "I want to be a teacher". Yeah, our answers are definitely changing over time. It is because our interest as a child are growing, and our observations to our environment widens.

Growing up in a poor family, my experiences in life are surely made me tough and keen. For over 9 years, I grew up in farm and survived without electricity. In the morning, when the roosters are singing their sunrise song I'll immediately wake up to visit our farm. It's sometimes cold or gloomy since the sun was not up yet. Doing farming chores early in the morning has perks like you'll not expose too much in the sun.

The early you do your work, the early you will finish it.

When I reach senior high school, my life changed. Our farm was sold and we sheltered to my grandparents house. We lived there for about 5 years. It's really good to live as extended family but sometimes not. Especially when it comes to paying bills and grocery. There are arguments sometimes and it's okay. Family matters need to be discussed though. Don't keep your grudge too much or it will consume you inside and out.

Dependency trap

As a child, our dependency to our parents are as solid as rock. We cannot imagine how and what will be our life if our parents support, care and love was taken away from us. I called our dependency to our parents as trap especially when we are turning to young adult. Our transition from teenager to young adult is very crucial and difficult because there are a lot of factors to be considered. But do not worry, I'll tell you some things I did when I transitioned.

Change is possible.

During transitioning, I mostly give time for myself to be alone and reflect to my experiences. My life was becoming harder and facing difficulties are challenging. Let me enlighten you, friends!

Three keys to successful transitioning

  • Preparedness - as a teen you should become prepared and ready to what will life brings you. You are packed of curiosity and your emotions are stirring to your decision. Become prepared and let yourself be observant to your environment.

  • Responsibility - "I'm responsible enough I can do this, trust me!". This is one of the most common line I always tell to my parents. Yes, being responsible plays an important role for you to become successful in transitioning. Help yourself, and be liable to everything you do.

  • Belief - it's important for you to trust your own process. Do not be jealous if others are finished in their transitioning or they coping it better than you. Stand in your own conviction.

Life is becoming easy when you finally made it to accept who you are.

Greetings to you all, friends!

Sponsors of Dennosaur
empty
empty
empty

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @Cleophia2
Sponsors of Dennosaur
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dennosaur
2 years ago

Comments

Like we have some experience in childhood though it's a difficult life but, it serves as on how we are strong right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago