Who Is truly Blind?

0 19
Avatar for Davinchysax
3 years ago

Source

You have heard people saying that they had a bird’s eye view about an event or something. Have you ever wondered what it means to have a bird’s eye view of something? Well for me, the first time I heard the statement I think I was still very young so I was left in utter wonderment on how or what the statement means but then as I checked on the meaning I found out its meaning. Seeing something in the bird’s eye view simply means that you have a general or cursory look of something. For instance, if you want to see your city in a bird’s eye view, you will have to be on a helicopter, a high vantage point or you make use of drones. That is when you can say that you have seen your city in the bird’s eye view but that does not mean that the statement does not and cannot have other connotations to it.

 

Source

Now, you have heard about seeing the world in the bird’s eye view, but have you heard about seeing the world in a blind man’s view? I know that this may sound strange to some persons but I would want you to approach the statement with the mindset of its literary meaning instead of its literal meaning. The first question one should be tempted to ask is; does a blind man see? If the blind man does not see, then how would you say that you saw the world in a blind man’s view?

 

If you begin to have literal reasoning of the statement you may end up fighting someone or misunderstanding the intent of the statement. I will try to answer the question rolling deep down in your mind. First, a blind man cannot see his environment or whatever that happens around him but have you bordered to know how a blind man can be able to know that you are not in a good mood even without you saying a word?

 

If you have had the opportunity of being or spending some time with a blind person, you will understand that the blind man has his view of the world or his environment and this means that you can never see what he sees because you are only seeing with your eyes while he sees the world or his environment through his mind.

 

Source

When the power of sight is lost, the human body redirects or rewires every sensor for sight to the ear, mind, nose, etc and this makes the blind man develop a stronger sense of hearing, feeling, smelling and so forth. That is the reason why a blind man does not need to see your face or hear your voice before he dictates that you are either sad or happy.

 

To go deeper into my explanation or reason for the statement, I will like to pose a question which you must have thought of in your mind sometime in your life. How does the blind see the world the live in? Truth be told, this is a question only the blind would be able o answer but with the help of books, novels and literary works even art and music inclusive I will try to answer the question and I would want to urge you to try as much as possible to think about these things.

 

I was opportune to meet a blind music producer and the first reaction I had was; can he handle this, like would he be able to do justice to this recording? But I must tell you that I was completely swept off my feet when this blind guy started playing on the piano and I must say that I have heard about Steve Wonder but I have not been up close with a blind man playing an instrument let alone working as a music producer. There were a whole lot of things I noticed from his style because I have had the opportunity of working with other producers. One distinct thing I noticed was his sharp ear and this endeared me to him.

 

Before you would go off, he is already aware and waiting for you in the next key and this is something I have seen most pianist battle with but he was doing it effortlessly. Another thing that made him stand out was his level of percussion usage in his production. He made it clear for every one of us in that studio to understand that he has a photographic image of what good music should sound like i.e. he already knows what sound to use even before you get to where you want it to be used.

 

Source

Most times we try to close our eyes as a way to try and understand what the blind people see but I must tell you that even when you close your eyes or blindfold yourself, you are still seeing 100 per cent but the difference is that you are just seeing darkness but the blind man’s eyes do not see even the darkness you are seeing. What this means is that you as a person who has his/her full sight cannot and will never understand what and how they see the world in their view until you learn to appreciate them and their lifestyle instead of seeing them as a burden to you i.e. if you are living or having any dealings with them.

 

Let us look at it this way, what if the blind people are the once with the sight while we are the once who are blind? What it means is that we have just a few persons on earth who see the world and what it truly means while the rest of us wallow in complete ignorance. I bet you have had such thought before. Don’t forget that blindness is not and should not be seen as a disease or even a curse because no one knows exactly who the creator sees as blind and most importantly, blindness is not of the eyes but the mind. So when next you see a man/woman walking with the aid of a stick or staff, don’t look down on him/her because when you do so, you are the one who is truly blind.

Lead image

4
$ 5.36
$ 5.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
3 years ago

Comments