What I have learnt as a blogger

0 19
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

To an extent, my journey in blogging has been predestined even though I did not realize it at that time. I remembered how I use to write short stories and poems which I will end up reading for my friends anytime they visit the house. It got to a point where I began to receive these stories and poems both in my dreams and as I walked on the road. At some point, I began to feel like someone was always whispering these words and lines to me. To be frank, I became afraid because I have read and seen movies where writers were possessed by some sort of spirit or what I later learned to be known as the Muse. It was a crazy experience for me because I was still young in the field of writing. I remembered the day I almost startled my mum because she walked into the room just to find me talking to myself and as I was making some gesticulations in the air. That particular day was a strange say for me and especially my mum because she stood at the door for over 10mins watching me whilst I was unaware of her presence even as I was looking around the room like someone collecting clues from different angles.

 

Her shock became evident when she called out my name and I did not answer. She walked to me and shoved me vehemently and surprisingly I began to look at her like someone who was just waking up from sleep. She could not hide her feelings because she took me straight to where my dad was seated as she narrated the whole story of what happened to him. It was during this period that I was banned from reading especially at night. Before then, I usually enjoy reading very late at night with my mum coming into the room unannounced to catch me with the light on. Each time this happens, she will report me to my dad who will tell her not to worry about it that I will grow past it one day. The question is; have I grown past it? I must be sincere with you my wonderful reader and I don’t want to scare you but I want you to know that writing is more than just a gift to me. I always feel like I am possessed each time I write even as I am writing this article. It may interest you to know that I have lost some of my friends due to their inability to understand that I may not want to play around with them at a given time because the muse is flowing in at that moment.

 

The truth is that it has made me better both as a writer and as an individual. Although I miss the life of the party most times because once the muse comes, it makes me forget about everything even food until I have finished writing everything it wants me to write. Sometimes I ask myself why me? But this question is what I have not been able to lay my hands upon but I believe that one day, I will get to the root of it. Ok, enough of this muses here and there. I wanted to tell you guys one of the lessons I have learnt in my years of blogging and I believe that it will go a long way to help those who are new to this platform to do better. I understand that some persons who are new here are not new in the world of blogging, they may have been blogging on other platforms before now to have multiple streams of income and meet new friends, they decided to join this platform.

 

The lesson I learnt is very simple and I will be happy if those of us who have earned a good amount of BCH on this platform can join me in this crusade and message of hope.

 

My First Three Months in this Platform

I am not going to bore you with so many stories rather I will get straight to the point I want to make here. I joined the platform intending to earn BCH but after my first three months, I was unable to make not even a cent from the platform. I must confess that these three months were the worst three months for me in my entire blogging journey. At first, I thought maybe my articles were not long enough or I was not good enough but I found out that the tipper was not human rather it was a tipping bot. I tried all I could to get the bots attention but all to no avail not until the fourth or fifth month when the bot remembered me. Now, I must make it clear that what I am about to say is not in any way to suggest that we should now support low-quality content creators rather I want us to see it as a means of encouraging them even before the bot will remember them.

 

What could have happened to me if I had no passion or better still if the muse has not possessed me before now? I could have run away after the first one month or even after the first three months. A lot of quality content creators have run away from the platform just because they were not able to get that encouragement they needed in the first month. Have you ever tried to visit the session for newcomers? You will be surprised to notice that most of their contents are of good quality but because they were not able to get the required popularity, their article may end up not getting tipped by people like you and me.

 

What am I saying?

I learnt that encouragement goes a long way in the life of every writer because no one will feel happy to write something that nobody reads let alone appreciates. We cannot expect @MarcDeMesel to go about looking for these newbie’s who are quality content creators in this platform to tip them rather we can take up that task by doing so. Just dedicate a cent or more to the course and I bet you, we will see more and wonderful writers on this platform. Of course, I made a post about my plans on giving back to the community something ago. I have not missed a day without searching for good contents to tip as my way of giving back. You too can join in this wonderful philanthropic gesture. Remember it starts with just a cent and boom, it becomes a dollar. Try it today and see how happy you will feel putting smiles on another person’s face especially someone you will not and may never meet in life.

Hope I did not break any rule for writing this. The thought perceived in this article is mine and mine alone, no one made me write or say these things. BE WARNED.

I love you all.

Lead image

[Sponsor]

5
$ 4.38
$ 4.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments