The Wisdom of a Mad Man.

5 19
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Before anyone could understand what was happening, the mad man was already inside the grave and was shouting;

“How can you people say that you are not mad when you are always behaving like mad people”?

Everyone who heard this statement was startled because no one could understand why the village mad man will make such a comment. The mad man did not waste any minute as they were all looking at him and trying to force him out of the grave where he was now seating down and he continued;

“You all are just mad and I wonder why you don’t know that you are mad”.

A voice in the crowd responded;

“You are the one who is very mad, nonsense”.

When the mad man heard this statement, he began to laugh so loud that everyone around him began to wonder if he was truly a mad man or was it just a case of frustration from life?

 

As the mad man continued to laugh, a man was moved to ask him this question;

“Why are you laughing?”

The mad man did not waste another minute because he felt like someone has asked the right question and this made him say;

“If all of you are claiming not to be mad, why then are you ignorant of the impending mistake which even a mad man like me was able to spot?”

He did not wait for anyone to respond to his question as he continued.

“Look at the size of this grave can it contain all his houses, cars and other properties?”

It was at this time that it dawned on everyone around what the mad man was talking about and this knowledge made all of them bow down their heads in shame and thoughtfulness.

 

Who was mad between them?

The mad man has been know throughout the length and breadth of that community therefore there is no argument on the fact that he was a mad man. But was he the mad person at that burial ground? This is the very question we should ask ourselves. How was it possible for the mad man to recognise that the grave was too small to contain all the properties the man acquired while he was alive? This is exactly what happens when we are met with life situations. Most times we become too wise not to look deeper into things especially when the thing seems too little. When we scramble and gather all the wealth in the world without a pinch of respite for others, we become so wise but foolish at the fact that we would be buried six feet below the earth with absolutely nothing.

Why did the mad man behave in such a manner?

This is another question I have always considered whenever I hear this story and this makes me wonder. Was that the only burial that has happened in that community or was the man the only wealthy man to die in that community? The truth is that the man was not the only wealthy man to die neither was his burial the only burial to be held in that community, but the fact is that there is a probability that the mad man has had an encounter with the man when he was alive, either to ask him for money or food.

From the mad man’s reaction, you would have noticed that there was no cordial relationship or any form of love that existed between the man and the mad man. What does this tell us? it is not about acquiring wealth here and there, it is about knowing how to use it to influence others positively in the community.

 

This takes me back to the burial of my grandmother some years back. I remembered about a madwoman who came into our compound on that faithful day crying so bitterly as if she had lost her mother. Now, when people around her noticed this, they were forced to ask her why she was carrying and she had this to say;

“Mama is dead therefore no one will give food and money again”.

As if that was not enough, she continued by saying;

“How I wish I can see death, I will take him to the house of that man that is always flogging me with cane any time I enter his compound to beg for food. Death should go and kill him and not mama”.

After saying this, she began to wail so bitterly that my father’s attention was drawn to her and after repeating the same thing she told others, my father asked her to clean her eyes and told her that God will send another mama that will take care of her.

 

Now, if my grandma was wicked to this madwoman, do you think she would be crying and saying all those things she said? We must understand that whatever gift God has given to us must not be seen as a personal gift for our selfish gains rather it should be used to lend a helping hand to others who we are better off. I cannot forget the day this same mad woman surprised me while I was going to buy something in the village market.

It happened like in movies and I was marvelled. This madwoman engaged in a fight with another mad woman who was blocking the path where I should pass through. I did not know that she was around and was keenly looking at what and how the other madwoman was proving stubborn to allow me to pass. Before I could say jack, she was already all over the other madwoman and within seconds, the madwoman that refused to clear the road for me to pass was already on her heels.

 

When she saw that the madwoman had run away, she turned to me and said;

“Mama’s son, is mama in the house? I want to come and visit her.”

Don’t forget that my grandma was already dead and buried yet, her good deeds were able to fight for me. I was not the person who gave the madwoman food or money but she had extended her hand of friendship to the entire family. My question is; what good deed will your family members enjoy from friends and even strangers when you are no more or will your death give them joy? We will all die one day therefore make your bed as you would want to lie on it.

Don’t be too wise not to see the mistakes in the little things of life.

Davinchysax loves you…

Don’t forget to hit the ⏩SUBSCRIBE⏪ button for more.

 

Lead image.                                                 

3
$ 2.17
$ 2.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 1
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

Everything in this life is vanity. We can't take it with us to the grave. Your grandma left a good footprint behind. If a mad woman can attest to her good deeds then if you ask those that are sane they will have lot of good tales to tell. Nice write up brother. This is really great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes I wish I spent more time with her but you know, death is inevitable. I learnt a great lesson from her even in death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we meet senses in the least expected place, imagine the words of the madwoman.

I always believed that the wealth we acquire here on earth is not just for ourselves. God gave us so that we will be able to reach out to others and anyone that is doing otherwise should be turn a new leaf.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is so heartbreaking whenever I see those who can render some form of help to others decline on it. Most times I wonder what goes on in their minds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome post..love your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago