Silence is Better.

0 16
Avatar for Davinchysax
3 years ago

Hush! That was the only word that came out of my father’s mouth as his eyes were super glued on the television. Meanwhile, I had a lot of things I wanted to say as I rushed inside the sitting room where he was seated watching the news from one of the local channels. I tried the second time to get his attention but lo and behold, I was met with a heavy slap on the shoulder accompanied by the roaring sound of his voice barking at me like a hungry lion. I was instantly submerged in fear which made me run away as fast as my legs could carry me.

As I dashed out of the sitting room, I had this thought running through my mind because I wanted to understand what could make a man silence his son in that manner? I could not comprehend it but then I had no option than to run and with the knowledge that my father did not care to know what I wanted to say or ask him.

 

Silence they say is golden but is there any time silence will no longer be golden? In my case, I felt it was no longer golden because I was meant to swallow what I had in my mind. That incident thought me a very great lesson. My father called me later after watching the news, as I went to answer him he told me that I should understand that a man must not always say that which is in his mind.

He continued by saying that I did not listen to him when he hushed me which shows that I had a lot to learn. He told me that if I want to be heard, I must make sure not to close my ears to the voice of others because that will make me selfish and less a human. I could not understand all he was saying back then but today, I have placed more understanding on his words and that has propelled me to share these thoughts with you my great friends.

 

How much do you know about the word “Silence?” So many times we are faced with the challenges of trying to spill out everything we have in our mind even when we should not do so. When we do this, e end up saying some things we should not say and this leaves us in a state of regret as human beings. The word Silence is very loud when not said more than when it is said i.e. if someone does not respond to your tantrums even after you have said a lot of hurtful things to them, you will be left wondering what might be going on in his mind and this will keep you in the state of uncertainty. That is the power of silence. The word is meant to carry a greater message whenever it is used and mind you, it makes even a fool the smartest person in a gathering.

 

If the word silence is very strong as we all know, why then do we not make use of it in our daily dealings with one another? The problem we have most times is that we want to say it all at all times even when it is not necessary or needed. A lot of persons have become less important in society not because they are wished to be but because they allowed their words to fall too many times which made them lose value even when they have important things to say. If you are the kind of person that goes to meetings you will understand that there are people who are not allowed to speak and there are those who are almost begged to speak. This is so because these persons have mastered the act of silence which is the highest key to open the door of respect among friends.

 

If you are a man reading this article you must try as much as possible to understand that you do not have to respond to everything your wife says whenever there is a little misunderstanding between the two of you. When you learn how to be silent in the midst of a heated argument with your spouse, you will notice that the more you are silent, the less long the argument will be. This is a common law of nature but a lot of people do not know this and that is why we witness a lot of domestic violence. If the man of the house can adapt to being silent whenever the woman has lost hold of her mouth, I bet there won’t be any form of physical abuse.

 

Silence is golden if you will be able to live by it. Don’t be eager to pour out your mind because it may not be taking with the same intent which you had in mind while saying it. Even in your dealings with others, you must know when to talk and when not to because if you are the type that talks even when you are not meant to, I bet you one day you will say something that may lead to your death or the death of another. Do you know that a million words said in anger can be said just in silence i.e. instead of venting out in anger use silence? Remember that silence has a lot of things to say but a million words have said it all. Make silence your best friend and see how new your life will become.

Lead image

3
$ 4.83
$ 4.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @chrishoffman
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
3 years ago

Comments