Have you been Served Breakfast Before?

2 37
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I know you will be very quick to assume what this post is talking about because of the title especially if you are not conversant with the slang I used in the title. My humble advice to you right now is that you should read the post carefully to understand what the title truly means. As a Nigerian, there are millions of slang we use every day both in and outside the family. This has become our way of life both for the old and young. I believe the usage of slang is not peculiar to Nigerians alone therefore, I will be glad if you can drop some of the slang used in your country in the comment section. You already know that we are not just here to earn, we are also here to learn. With that being said, I will head straight into the business of the day.

Breakfast in Bed.

For those of you who are in a great romantic relationship where true love strives, you must have experienced breakfast in bed either once, twice or more. Well, it is always a sweet experience, especially for the ladies. To be frank, most ladies use it as a yardstick to measure their man's level of love. It is not something they expect you to be doing every day because if it becomes a steady thing, it may lose its value. We all know how the ladies operate in things that concern love. Ladies don't expect you to always do this romantic thing in such a way that it will no longer carry deeper meaning or have any effect on them. The truth is that once a lady begins to predict what you will do or how you will react when it comes to being romantic, she may not value whatever romantic gesture you show her. For the guys, the key is to be unpredictable.

I am not a relationship expert therefore if you think otherwise about what I have said above kindly know that it's my opinion. Let's get back to the breakfast thing. It all started a few weeks ago or should I say some months back when I went to watch WhatsApp status. I stumbled upon a short video clip with Breakfast boldly written as its caption. At first, I did not understand it because the video was showing a girl in tears with her girlfriend trying to console her. I could not imagine the connection between a crying girl and the word breakfast. I just had to slide to the next status and before I could slide through a few statues I saw another breakfast caption. This particular clip was also a girl lamenting how her boyfriend left her for her best friend. The video was also captioned breakfast but this time there was an additional word hot to it; Hot Breakfast.

After constantly seeing these video clips, I decided to know what and why such captions were added to them instead of breakups which we all know. In my search, I found out that it was tagged breakfast because most people were served theirs in the morning. Another explanation I got was that since every relationship is bound to experience a breakup, therefore it is better to tag it as breakfast. I could not agree wholistically with the latter point because I know that there are people who are ready to go the extra mile in other to keep their relationships going. So if you have read up to this point, I will like to ask you this question; have you been served breakfast or have served another person before?

Most persons have been moving in and out of relationships so much that they now see themselves as not being able to stay in a relationship. This feeling becomes their greatest enemy because they are always on the edge once they enter any relationship. They are always expectant of a breakup and this makes it very hard for them to go the extra mile to make their relationship work. Some people have become afraid of relationships due to their countless breakup experiences. This happens to both genders but it is more rampant with the ladies because they feel the brunt of a breakup more than the male folk. Like have always said, I intend to pass a message across to someone through my posts every day, therefore today won't be different.

A little Message for you.

Whether you are a man or woman in a relationship, you must understand that if you do not go the extra mile for your relationship, it will end up in heartbreak irrespective of the angel you are in the relationship with. Even if you are already married, you must know that there are millions of sacrifices you ought to make if you want your relationship to last longer. The major reason why we experience breakups or breakfast in relationships is that we see our partner as the only person who should make sacrifices for us at all times. I call it shifting grounds. Since we all know that no one is perfect, it will be unfair for us to always expect our partner to get it right always. I will end this post with this quote below.

The only glue that will mend every relationship challenge is unconditional love. Always keep it in your heart.

8
$ 3.50
$ 3.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

I have also heard of the slang before which means someone has been broke up with in a relationship. There are many causes as to why this happen and the most is that some just want it to be a one sided responsibility where they expect their partners doing everything for them without contributing their own quota. Of course such relationship cannot go anywhere than for both to be separated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true, relationship is a two way journey if we wish to enjoy the best out of it. Nice seeing you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago