Empty Promises again...

2 14
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

I must say that it is very heartbreaking listening to these same old tales filled with lies, deception and great emptiness. I am sorry to talk about this thing on this platform but I can't seem to help myself because it leaves my whole body shaking with anger. Well, I never planned to talk politics or anything related to it, especially as regards Nigeria.

I wish I could talk about my country in the litter of good governance and progress but it seems far-fetched.

As I woke up today, I was already filled with a great muse on what to write because it has always been my routine, but as I was

listening over the radio, I heard a politically motivated announcement. I could not focus on what I was doing because of what the voice I heard over the radio was saying.

"I will make sure that the roads in Abia State are in good shape if I am elected as the governor come 2023"

This statement was coming from one of the governorship aspirants in the state. I could not stop myself from thinking because I have heard this same statement over and over again.

It has become like an old movie where we see the same characters trying to act as though we are seeing the movie for the first time. I was just angered by the statement of this aspirant and this made me believe that these politicians have taken us all for fools. If not so, how can a man have such audacity to be saying such stupid things move the radio. I seriously fear for the future of Abia State and Nigeria at large.

The election is just around the corner and all the politicians are beginning to show their ugly faces at every town hall gathering in their respective communities. These are people who never cared to check up on their community after winning the last election. My heart is so bitter and heavy as I'm writing this post. How can a country like mine be talking about road infrastructure and a steady power supply after all these years of gaining independence?

It may sound more like an impossible thing but I am sure that a lot of Nigerians on this platform will not say otherwise. The very important question to ask is; are these politicians not travelling out of the country either for medical checkups or for vacation? Do they not have eyes to see the level of organisation and development in the countries they have gone to? The answer to this question is not far-fetched. What we are suffering in this country are selfishness and greed.

Once they step into that office, they will begin to loot government funds for their gains. Someone who never had the finances to go for medical check-ups overseas will suddenly begin to visit foreign hospitals with the slightest fever. They will as much as go for medical checkups overseas if they hear the sound of a mosquito around them. Do I blame the politicians?

Of course, I do not blame them because we the masses are the major reason why they have continued in their selfishness. I heard clearly over the radio as the politician finished making his how he was being cheered by people who must have gathered for the peanut they will get from him. They are already willing to sell their votes which is their only power to make things right even before the election proper.

The year 2023 is just by the corner and everyone is aligning and realignment in other not to miss their chances. One thing I know is that the elections will come and go but if we make another mistake, we will have only ourselves to blame. Do not all hunger to make you sell your vote which is the only power you have in making things right. We can't take the lies anymore.

Thank you for your time.

5
$ 1.94
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago

Comments

Politicians are like that sir. They can go telling the people about the wildest promises they can and they still wont be able to fulfill it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is why I hate to hear them speak, they do not have plans for others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago