Don't be too Proud to ask.

2 38
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago
Topics: Personality, Growth

I am a hundred 💯 per cent sure that you have heard this proverb;

Pride goes before a fall...

But let me pretend that you have not heard of the proverb before, what do you think you will gain when you allow pride to be the master of your life? I am not here to lecture you about the disadvantages of pride, but I believe we all owe it to ourselves to tell ourselves the most painful truth not minding how it is taken. This post is a reminder to all those who feel like they do not need others in life. One mistake you will make in life is to believe that you do not need others.

Let's just imagine that we truly do not need others in life, who will take care of us when we become sick or old? This has always been one question with a clear answer that should serve as an eye-opener to those who live a proud life. It does not matter how much or your level of knowledge in life, you just need someone in or way or the other. Let's look at these very simple case scenarios.

The Maid.

This is one major work I know most wealthy people will not find time to do. Can you imagine Dangote Africa's richest man sweeping his house or entire compound by himself?. Just imagine it and tell me how it and tell me what the picture looked like. Also, try and imagine Wizkid the Nigerian superstar washing his car by himself. Ok, imagine Beyonce washing mopping the floor of her mansion all by herself. It's very funny and unimaginable, right? This is just one aspect of life. Let us look at another one.

Security

Virtually all the wealthy people we know move around with security men and women. If they decide to say that they do not need others in life, who will be their security? It is not easy for a wealthy man to move about alone knowing the dangers around his community.

Employees

Now, if anyone feels as though they don't need others, then how will they carry out their daily numerous duties? Will they be able to play the role of a secretary and also that of an accountant? It will certainly not be an easy task. This is why we cannot say we don't need others to succeed in life. I know that some of us who are not employers of labour will say it does not concern them. Let's look at the common man and how he cannot survive without others.

Business Transactions.

For a common man, you cannot turn a deaf hear to the fact that you need others to buy that business you want to sell. No matter how little the business might be, you must need others in other to carry out the exchange of goods and services. It goes even beyond buying and selling. We all know that information is power therefore if we decide to become an island of our own, we will end up missing great information that could turn our lives around for good.

No man is an island but the moment we allow pride to be in control of our lives, we will end up living and dying alone. The most painful death is dying with no one around you. This is why Westerners do everything within their power to stay around their loved ones especially when they are down with a severe sickness. They understand the value of taking that last breath with your loved ones around you.

Let me buttress my point with this little story.

Recently, I have been laying my hands on everything that can earn me some more cash online since the world is gradually tending towards that angle.

In one of my pursuits, I met a barrier and as I noticed that I could not surmount it on my own, I reached out to a friend whom I believe has more experience in that field than I do. Mind you, this friend is very much younger than me but I did not care or bother myself about that since I needed help. This is one thing I have learnt about myself and it has been my saving grace in so many situations. As soon as I met with my friend, he directed me on how to cross the barrier and I wholeheartedly applied all the things he thought me. Today, I am reaping from that little show of humility.

I could have kept it all to myself with the silly excuse that I am older than him. I could have also given myself the excuse that he will seize that opportunity to insult me. The truth was that I was ready to take everything and anything he will say to me as long as I will get the help I needed. Don't allow pride to steal away your opportunity of becoming great in life. It does not matter who holds the key, what matters is that you were able to get the door open. Don't be too proud to ask for help at all times.

No man is an island...

9
$ 3.82
$ 3.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
+ 1
Sponsors of Davinchysax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Davinchysax
2 years ago
Topics: Personality, Growth

Comments

pride is a big set back to allow us do many things. Sometimes the solution we seek could just be that we need to bend a bit lower from that high position but for pride , it become too stiff to bend as we remain stuck and helpless and in worse cases degenerate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the greatest enemy within and we must fight it with all we have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago