Darth Roison: a spanish speaking bitcoincasher on YouTube part 1

2 102
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago

Who is "Darth Roison"?

In this post I want to talk about what I have achieved and learned during an approximate period of 2 months and 20 days. First of all, I will try to introduce myself for those who don't know me. My name is Luis Rodríguez and I was born in Venezuela. I met bitcoin in ~2012, and have been a bitcoincasher since 2017.

Due to the debate over the Bitcoin escaling that took place between 2015 and 2016, even before a Bitcoin-BTC split (originating Bitcoin Cash) was formally raised, I considered myself a big blocker. And today I continue supporting and believing in Bitcoin Cash (BCH) as a peer-to-peer electronic cash for the whole world.

During all this time, I have been participating in the Bitcoin Cash community as much as possible. Even when my English was not as good, I have kept myself informed using Google Translate, because the content about cryptos in spanish is not as accessible as in the anglo-world.

To mention some things I have done: I documented (in Spanish) the news about the adoption of Bitcoin Cash for ~ 1 year in a subreddit called «bitcoin_espanol»; I've posted so many posts about bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash that I've already lost count (some of them are published on elbitcoin.org –the blog of my friend majamalu–); I actively participated in Yours.org (when it was a relevant social network) and posted reflections on how to make Bitcoin Cash better for the world there, etc.

I have also been active documenting about BCH and cryptocurrencies on the spanish Wikipedia (in the Hispanic world, Wikipedia is a VERY popular quick reference site); I was a voluntary BCH Ambassador thanks to the Bitcoin Cash Association (BCA), A.K.A. Bitcoin Cash Fund (BCF) and I organized a couple of meetups in Venezuela; I have been one of the most active users in the venezuelan BCH community for all these years... and recently, I have started an outreach project about cryptocurrencies on YouTube that I would like to tell you about.

What have I done in that period?

Let me start by outlining my context earlier this year. I studied a T.S.U (University Superior Technician) in Audiovisual Sciences and Photographic Arts. My greatest passions are BCH and cinema. A couple of years ago I had to postpone the completion of my university career due to the situation in my country. But at the end of 2019 I decided to finish what I had left (At that time I only had to present the thesis and do the internships). In mid-December I completed my internships, and in early 2020 I finished my thesis and passed. When 2019 was ending I decided to start making content for YouTube, and as I finished my obligations I started a process of learning, trial and error in my spare time, which is the subject of this post.

What content did I make? Well, I started with that was simplest for me.

Before, I had edited videos (I've been the editor of more than a dozen short films and the subtitler of some 15 videos about cryptocurrencies; not counting a lot of other videos in different formats), but I had never considered being «YouTuber»; From the beginning I assumed that I was going to make a lot of mistakes initially and that realizing them would be my first profit. So I did a couple of tutorials using a program (OBS Studio) that I had tried to deal with before without success.

Thanks to those first experiences I understood how OBS worked, and then I started experimenting with streaming, which, I discovered, is possible to me, although I still have to gather some audience to make that possible. By the way, until this year I thought you couldn't stream with a 1 MB internet upload plan.

After these first results, not only did I feel motivated, but I was also more determined to overcome my stage fright to speak more and more openly, also sharing my point of view. And here I am, making this post, as a formal statement of my intention to stay active in order to grow and spread knowledge about cryptocurrencies, especially Bitcoin Cash.

What have I accomplished so far?

To summarize, I'm not "famous" yet.

I am still in my early stages of growth (I have just 36 YouTube subscribers, ~20 videos and my channel's videos accumulate a little more than 1,000 views –502 of them during the last 28 days–). However, I can notice a before and after (I think anyone watching my videos could notice it) and that makes me feel great.

BTW, I write this in English, because I've posted some of my videos in Spanish posts here at read.cash, and I'm afraid the Hispanic community is still a bit small.

Sponsors of DarthRoison
empty
empty
empty

I will list the topics covered during these (almost) 3 month. Divided by what I consider the first creative stages I have gone through as a content creator.

Stage 1

Stage 2

Stage 3

Stage 4

Where do I upload my videos?

For now, I upload my videos to my YouTube channel and my Facebook fanpage.

I share my YouTube videos on my Telegram channel and various cryptocurrency groups also on Telegram, as well as on my Twitter, among other media.

I share my Facebook fanpage's videos in Facebook groups only.

I've recently set up a profile on Patreon, and I've started sharing my videos there publicly (I guess I'll do the same with my new posts). But I'm just learning how to use that platform. I have also received a lot of feedback and a couple of tips in Bitcoin Cash through the QR codes of my videos. I think in total I received ~11 USD.

At the moment my goal is to continue learning and create an audience, as well as better define the type of content that I will create in the future, among other details.

I would be delighted to hear your advices on this. I will continue to report on it.

Bitcoin is Cash, BCH is Cash, BCH is Bitcoin ;)

4
$ 2.51
$ 2.50 from @majamalu
$ 0.01 from @Omar
Avatar for DarthRoison
4 years ago

Comments

Good job waking up the people of Venezuela! They need BCH more than anyone else in the world.

$ 0.06
4 years ago

Thank you. You have always been the one who has supported and helped me the most.

You are a great friend and also a great bitcoincasher.

You have much more merit than me. So I always try to learn from you.

I send you a big hug!!

$ 0.00
4 years ago