Technology has evolved

0 27
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

Over the years, I have watched how technology has evolved. I remember my first encounter with a desktop phone and how it rang like the Bell in my school, watching and listening to people talk over some device left me in awe. After the call ended, I picked the phone and tried to listen but there was no response, I began to doubt the authenticity of the communication, was still wondering with the receiver in my hand when I was slapped and accused of wanting to break the phone. I think that was the last time I touched the phone without being asked to touch it.

Months later, our computer teacher told us he will be bringing a computer for us to see and practicalize what we have learned so far, we were all excited and wondering what the computer looks like. On the said day, we were all excited and couldn't wait to touch the keyboard. Well, we all were allowed to type on the computer after series of admonitions and warnings, even though most of us didn't know how to use the caps lock. The memory of that day will last for a very long time as that was how I developed a thing for technology.

Years later, phones came into existence and a Sim card was sold for some ridiculous amount of money. . .our parents managed to get them but you dare not touch the phones if you do without permission, you are in for it. I remember the first call o made with the phone, I was so excited and couldn't wait to tell my peers about it. It was called GSM and we have it our meaning as "General Street Madness" as those who were on call were moving about trying to stabilize the network.

Years later, I was able to get my own phone, it was a Sony Ericsson K7 phone, I was the biggest boy in town. The phone was gifted to me based on my outstanding performance. Everyone envied me as the phone had a camera and I was able to download games. It was a Java phone and it was phone to use.

Things moved so fast and technology advanced so fast that each time I sit and think about those times, I wonder how time flies. Before technology, we did a whole lot of things manually, we read books in the library, wrote letters, go to stores but today we can do all of these at the comfort of our homes.

One of the disadvantages is that we spend most of our time being online, making friends online and playing games online. It has made us lost contact with the real world and making real friends now seem an impossible task.

Technology has not just advanced but it has moved the world closer.

2
$ 0.22
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

Comments