Growing up

0 23
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

Growing up in an African home can be fun, especially when one has extended families, cousins, nephews and nieces, they all tend to make growing up fun. Children grew up without malice, no prejudice, just innocence and pure love.

Though I grew up in an urban settlement which is kind of related to the modern world, we still had time to visit our grand parents, living in the villages and meeting other relatives. I must confess that it was fun, learning new things like climbing trees, hunting for rats, birds and squirrels, the fights, it was all fun. I'll tell you about an event I'll never forget, growing up as a child.

We were on holidays and we went to our grand parents house, it was a very large house and you can imagine the number of kids around. When the old men went to farm, they returned with bush meat and honey which they harvested and it was so tasty that we always wanted for more and always prayed that their outings are successful.

On this fateful day, my cousins and I decided to tour the little bush not very far from the village. One of my cousins spotted a fallen tree and it had bees on it. So he told us that it was where our grand parents got the honey from and we were all eager to prove our worth of providing honey for the entire house not knowing how to go about it.

My cousin being the oldest told us he had seen how it was done that we should just stay and watch him harvest the honey. We all stayed back to watch and learn. I decided to ease myself so I excused them while they were harvesting the honey.

I cannot tell what or how it happened, the next thing I heard were screams and the sound of them running towards me. I couldn't even think as I lead the race as we were being attacked by the bees. We ran all round the bush and couldn't find our way out but somehow, we managed to get out of the bush and ran home. How I managed not to be stung is still a mystery to me as everyone else has been stung.

The cries in our home that day was as if someone had died, as all of my cousins had swollen parts of their body. While some were stung on the head, some had the ears stung and others on various parts.

The next morning, I couldn't even recognize some of them as their physical appearances had changed. They all said I was highly favored as I didn't even have a scratch, some of the older ones even said I didn't go with them that maybe I hid somewhere. It was fun really and I can never forget the experience. Leave a like and comment if you grew up in an African home.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Danyskillz
3 years ago

Comments