Try Again, The Tap Isn't Dry.

2 11
Avatar for Danbrilliant
3 years ago

What I'll be sharing now is a true life story of a close friend.

I had a friend in the university, since the day we knew that we were in the same department, we became very close. To me, he was my type of friend. I'm someone who loves academics and so was this my friend. He was indeed a guru.

In our year 3, he lost both his mother and father in a fatal accident. I was the first person in school that he informed. I felt very sad but I tried compensating him and telling him all is well. After all my efforts to calm him down, he screamed saying "who will pay my fees?". At that instant, I understood his pain more, so I told him money will come but his look showed unbelief. After the burial, we became very very close, so he asked me of any scholarship program I know. I told him the few I knew and when the applications do come out. Fortunately, one was to come out the following month. My friend applied for it but I didn't because my parent were well to do. After 5 weeks, he was shortlisted for the scholarship test but the centre was in another state. He used his savings to transport himself there. After 2 weeks, the result came up, he wasn't shortlisted. Woow, he felt pained. I tried calming him down, he was angry because he used his savings as transport to the venue. He started regretting ever going for the test. However, he was doing some menial jobs so as to make ends meet.

Before the next semester, he had written about 6 to 7 scholarship exam but to no avail. He told me that he won't write them again, that it was waste of his money transporting himself and getting all his documents. Then, I told him what one of our senior colleague said to me one day, he said "take every money you spend in order to get a scholarship as an investment, one day it will pay off". Those words calmed my friend.

Then, in our 200 level, there was this international scholarship he sillyfully applied for. He didn't put much hope in it, me too, I didn't regard it. He only told me that he wants to shoot his shot, no harm in trying. After 3 months, he was invited for the test. By then, we have even forgotten about the scholarship. He was surprised. So, he wrote the aptitude test. After 3 weeks, he got a mail in class during lectures that he was successful. What!!!! He went mad. He immediately screamed in the middle of the lecture we were having and bursted into tears. As we speak now, he's in United Kingdom studying aeronautic & robotic engineering on a fully funded scholarship.

So, what I'm I saying, you may have passed through a lot, maybe even more than my friend. But, don't give up. That tap that looks dry to you, people are still drinking from it!

Get up & move!

11
$ 0.00
Avatar for Danbrilliant
3 years ago

Comments

this article is very very informative also it's educative then it's amazing story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much. Duly appreciated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well said brother well said.. Though there are some typos in your write and room for improvement but the story line well awesome. It really captured my attention.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much. I'll check the typos

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Any bad circumstance is not the end of life. Sit back, think and strategize on the way forward. That is the solution for anyone in need of this advise.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for your comment. Duly appreciated

$ 0.00
3 years ago