The Typical Nigerian Educational System

0 9
Avatar for Danbrilliant
3 years ago

A lot of students do complain of the unhealthy educational system we have here in Nigeria. As a result of this, many clamour to get a better one outside the country. I remember when I got admitted to study mechanical engineering, I felt so happy because that was my dream course. It was indeed a dream come true.

I resumed school in the university with a smiling & bright face, waiting to see what mechanical engineering entails. There was this itch for knowledge when I resumed, it was like I wanted to know everything in just one day, the desire was there.

After a week, I began to notice somethings I didn't like at all. They were draining my initial burning desire. I noticed that the school didn't have a good engineering lab where all our practicals will be done. The lab wasn't fully equipped as it should be for an engineering course. Instead, it was filled with old and out-fashioned machines and equipments. I also noticed that the population for my class was more than enough for the hall, so those who come late, stay outside the hall standing & listening to lectures. It was so bad!. Even those in the class struggle to breath fresh air because of the population, so some even decide to stay outside.

It was a mess to me but I didn't have a choice than to stay and do the needful. I also noticed that some students cheat during exam, some do bribe the lecturers to pass them, which wasn't nice at all. At a point, I was like, is this how our educational system is? At the point I understood why many people do clamour to study abroad, thereby having a better education than the one experienced here.

The above information tells a little of what happens in Nigeria universities. Thanks for reading.

10
$ 0.00

Comments

That is why Nigerian graduates are not recognized outside Nigeria. Back home in Nigeria, many graduates are not fit in the labour market as they have nothing upstairs and not ready to learn something different from what they had learned from the rotten Ivory towers. Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago