Missed Opportunities Due To Covid-19

0 7
Avatar for Danbrilliant
3 years ago

How many opportunities have you lost just in 2020?

Have you given up?

Kindly Read my story.

Early this year, around January, I saw an application for a Chemistry summer internship at the University of Rochester, USA.

Having seen this application that triggered my interest. I began preparing documents so as to apply for it. I wrote all essays required, contacted two professors in my department to stand as my referees, then I applied. Hoping to be chosen among the few, thereby making my 1st international travel experience. After 3 weeks, I got a mail of the cancellation of the summer internship. What??!!! I felt so down. After hoping to be chosen, the event was can cancelled due to the covid-19 pandemic.

Next, by February I attended a student technical symposium in Benin by Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE).

In the event, I represented my university in a national stage quiz competition where the top 10 schools were to represent Nigeria in Africa for the regional competition. At the end of the competition, my school came out 5th, I was so happy because I was going to be travelling out of my country to represent my school. The committee of the event took our information in preparation for our international passport. I was so happy, nothing at that point could reduce my joy. After 2 months, we were contacted that the event in which the top 10 schools were to represent their country was cancelled. What???!!!! NOT AGAIN !!!. Wow, I couldn't believe that because of the covid-19 pandemic it was also cancelled. Well, they told us safety first.

Not so long after this cancellation, I got another news that an international exhibition for petroleum engineer which ought to hold in Nigeria August this year was also cancelled due to the pandemic.

I couldn't hold myself. I intended to attended the event so as to grow my network and learn from professional in the industry. This was my third event that was cancelled.

Lastly, I heard of the International Petroleum Technical Conference (IPTC) which was to hold in Malaysia in 2021.

I started writing my essays and preparing my transcripts and other documents. However, 3 days ago it was cancelled due to the pandemic.

All these opportunities missed in just 6-7 months.

Well, its just half of the year.

Should I give up?? No! Keep applying.

Don't give up. I know you must have lost some too due to the pandemic but don't rest yet.

The Best Is Yet To Come!

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Danbrilliant
3 years ago

Comments