The Monster Slayer (English version)

0 20
Avatar for Dan25
Written by
1 year ago

I'm Carla, and I'm a monster hunter, I've managed to kill several of those fuckers, and I have to say it's really hard to do it, you know, you have to be strong to fight them, and you have to be smart to do traps and avoid getting caught or worse to run away, I think I've done a great job hunting them, I've done some good saving people from those creatures.

I should mention that I have a kind of power, I have I hear a voice that tells me if there is a monster, and it is like a voice, I have had it since I was 10 years old, which is great, because it allows me to identify them, the appearance of those aberrations is very similar to other people, but their behavior is not.

Furthermore, I feel I should tell you how I have managed to be what I am now, well I was born and raised in Chicago, my parents always traveled for work, and my older brother was the one who always took care of me, unfortunately since I am 5 years old (he was 17 at the time) my parents always left money for food and emergencies that might arise. Furthermore, I have always been an average student, when I turned 18 I went to the army, I didn't go much for patriotism, I went more to learn more about combat, and weapons, among other things, I went in as an ordinary girl, I came out as a woman hunter.

Likewise, I remember the first time I went out to hunt, it was at night, I was in a park, I saw one of those aberrations, he was disguised as a normal college boy, but that voice I heard told me he wasn't like that, he started to stalk him, but I think he saw me because he started to walk faster, luckily there was no one else there, then I went out and caught him with a net, he started to fight I must say he was very good, in the end, I had to stab him 41 times and throw his body into the lake.

Two months after that I caught another one, I was in the supermarket when I saw it, it had the appearance of a woman who was a mother, but a mother wouldn't deny food to her child just because she didn't have enough money to buy it, for now, that was the most mediocre lie I could tell (my brother said that excuse all the time just because it amused him to see me being hungry). I managed to get the creature to a more isolated place, I shot him in the head, and then I checked his wallet, and I noticed that he had the money to buy the candy that his son wanted; "you see that creature was a liar" said the voice.

During only one year I managed to kill more beasts, I think there were 15, but it is difficult to keep count, I always used the same procedure, the voice would tell me if there was a monster to kill, I would stalk them, I would deal with them and take them to a deserted place.

When I was honorably discharged from the army I wanted to go home to Chicago, I expected to take a holiday, but one day I was just passing by the high school where I studied, I saw a girl about 16 years old standing apart from the rest, for some reason I hid and stood there watching her, and in the afternoon I didn't think she would be walking home alone, I came out of my hiding place and I hurried to follow her when she saw me I knew by her face that she was scared I think she almost ran away, but I quickly introduced myself "hey calm my name is Carla I'm sorry I didn't mean to scare you, I just wanted to tell you that my car is not very far from here if you want I can take you home, you know the dangers that could be walking alone at this time of the day". She calmed down and accepted my offer.

On the way home, we talked a bit, her name was Jennifer and her parents couldn't pick her up because she was on a business trip, she reminded me a lot of me at her age, except that she didn't have an older brother (she was very lucky).

At night, I tried to sleep, but the voice kept telling me things like Jennifer was a creature that monsters discovered me and was trying to hunt me, I didn't know whether to listen to her this time. The next day, I wanted to take her home again, when she saw me near the school with more confidence, this time she got into my car, and we talked.

"Thank you so much for taking me home, seriously, you remind me a bit of my sister May, she used to pick me up from school, but she died when I was 10". That was too much of a coincidence with me, my brother thank god he died when I was 10 too, the voice was right, Jennifer was just playing me, those bastards must have found out about my past and were taunting me now, I wasn't going to let this go.

I swerved and drove into a forest, the creature noticed, when I checked to make sure there was no person or camera I gave it a knock-out punch, (or so I thought), I parked the car and carried it to a cabin off the road, which had no path and where I was going to torture it. To my surprise, when I dropped it on the ground to open the door, the beast ran away, "you shouldn't have been so careless, you should have just shot it, but because you wanted to torture it, now it escaped" the voice scolded me that day was the first and only time that someone escaped from me.

After that I took things calmly, I got a job as a teacher and in two years I killed 2 children, I tell you, the voice kept quiet for that time, I was busy with work, and also I fell in love with a man who was a teacher in the same school I worked, his name was Christian everything seemed magical every time I was with him, I even thought about letting him hunt, but of course, I can never have a happy ending.

When we had almost 2 years of boyfriend and girlfriend, one day he invited me to spend the weekend in his childhood home, this for the birthday of his father and I accepted happily, because his father, like me, was in the army, in the place where the celebrant, some uncles and cousins of Christian besides of course his brothers, he had an older sister Laura and a younger brother Carlos.

They were in the courtyard talking about trivial things until today something that froze my blood. "So tell us little brother, who is the unlucky one you are in love with" they all laughed at Christian’s joke, "ha, ha, ha, ha very funny, Carla must be a now to accept to go out with you" answered Carlos.

I didn't expect Christian to mistreat his poor little brother like that, when it got dark we went to our designated room, there I reproached him for what he did, but he told me "I was only bothering him a little, he and I get along like that almost all the time, but if he wants I will apologize to him in the morning", after that he went to sleep, I know it wasn't just a joke, I know he enjoyed secretly torturing his younger brother may be insulting him and hitting him when no one was looking, (as my brother did the same) how could I be so blind as I couldn't see that he was a monster "love mowed you down" the voice replied.

In the early morning, I got up and shot him in the head, I wasn't smart because I didn't wait for the house to be alone, and I wasn't strong because Christian’s father managed to knock me out.

I have done some good things in saving people from monsters, I did some good in killing Jennifer, a monster smart enough and dangerous enough to almost fool me and getaway, and I did some good in killing Christian, a monster who did or could do something to his little brother. If I did something good, then why were the police tracking me, because Carlos and his father testified against me?

If I have done very good things, as the voice told me, then why am I being locked up inside an asylum?

clarifications

I was partially inspired by the case of Andrew Urdiales, also I don't know if it was understood, but just to make it clear, let me guess that Carla's older brother beat her, insulted her, and let her starve just for fun, this left her with sequels, thinking that if her brother did that to her, the others could also do it, besides hearing a voice that told her to kill what she thought were bad people or monsters.

Also, in case you didn't understand, the mother just didn't want to buy her son sweets (she didn't starve him to death like Carla's older brother did), Jennifer only had a similar story to Carla's, and Christian teased his younger brother a bit (she didn't mistreat him).

4
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Captainkay
Avatar for Dan25
Written by
1 year ago

Comments