Meeting with the bear, a dream come true!

0 11
Avatar for Daliana
1 year ago

June 29, somewhere in Romania...

All the pictures and words in this article are mine and please excuse me for shaking my hand on the phone when I took the pictures, I hope it's understandable. Fear, emotion, but also a lot of joy I felt at that moment.

I live in a mountainous area and lately bears are descending into people's households, but apart from the zoo I never met one, that's until Wednesday.

Being a holiday in our country, we decided to take a walk at a dam about 70 kilometers from where we live, not knowing what will happen next. I often receive alerts on the phone about the presence of bears in my home area and a wish of mine was to meet a bear, just to see it and take a picture.

As we approached the dam at one point we saw a bear on the left side of the road. I said "God, a bear, I can't believe it"! Of course I stopped to take a picture of him, he was so close to us and what I liked the most was the fact that he was gentle, but also old and big.I couldn't accept the fact that I was never from the mountains to see a bear, but I felt like I had a hunch to go there that day.

Some pictures are not very clear because there was a fear that he would come to the car and attack us, I was happy that I managed to see him.

Bears have been seen more and more often lately, either near boarding houses or along heavily trafficked roads. Tourists are advised to be prepared for a meeting with wildlife. Do not feed them and have the bear whistle and spray at hand. The truth is that they can be very dangerous, everyone knows that. And the bears, after all, began to descend closer and closer to their homes, also because of us, the people. Because of deforestation in the first place.

The lack of places specially designed for bears, the lack of proper storage of household waste, the uncontrolled multiplication and construction of human settlements in the places where they walk, perpetuate and multiply unwanted contacts between us and animals and change their behavior.

We all know from the media about how frequent meetings with bears are and what the consequences can be. And that's only a small part, most of those who have gone through such a situation are not covered by the media because the meeting simply did not result in any victims. Partly because they were lucky, and partly because they knew what to do in such a situation.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @reanbooks
Avatar for Daliana
1 year ago

Comments