Facebook Beta-Tests Fresher, Simpler Design

3 46
Avatar for CryptoStalker
4 years ago

The iconic Facebook blue and white style design that has dominated for over 10 years may soon be coming to an end.

If you’ve noticed a slightly different looking login screen when you visit Facebook.com it’s not a phishing site or browser error.

It’s Facebook testing their fresher, simpler design.

It started a couple of months ago, from what I noticed. I would visit Facebook.com and see a wierd, different login screen.

I checked the domain name to be sure it wasn’t a Phishin website.

Sure enough, I was on the real, ssl secured facebook.

That was a few weeks ago, since then I have noticed this wierd login screen several times.

This morning however, when I went to login, I got a welcome message, asking if I would like to help Beta-Test the new Facebook design and layout.

Once you choose to test out the new design, you get another cool choice:

Light or Dark? — Facebook will now let you choose if you prefer a lighter layout or darker layout/design.

The dark seems great so far! Reminds me a lot of Discord chat or Twitch.

They also let you switch back to the old facebook anytime.

Loading the new design, it looks like they have definitely simplified things a lot. The round user avatars and simpler layout remind me a lot of the old MySpace days or the current Discord chat design.

The left-hand column that used to be overflowing with menu options is now much simpler.

The newsfeed seems more clean cut and the right-hand side seems less advertisement filled.

Overall from what I can tell, this is a smart change, however I am sure plenty of folks won’t like it.

I suspect however, those would be the folks using Facebook until the day it dies, as they don’t like change.

Personally, I barely use Facebook and thought it’s way over-due for a refresher. For the casual user like me, it’s a welcome change.

However, I suspect many folks won’t like these changes, such as my wife who lives on Facebook and always gripes about their changes.

I guess you can’t please everyone.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for CryptoStalker
4 years ago

Comments

please dont use facebook 😯

$ 0.00
4 years ago

I try not to hehe

$ 0.00
4 years ago