7 reasons why I write

11 86
Avatar for CryptoSorted
3 years ago

I am a fan of documenting the WHY of whatever you do so that you can always reference it and get some inspiration to push through the hard days and keep yourself focused on the goal and the things that truly matter to you.

In this post, I am going to share with you my 7 non-confidential reasons why I write content both on my personal blog and other blogging platforms like read.cash and Publish0x (the two blogging platforms where I am more active).

Every single article I produce was written for one or a combination of the following reasons:

  • To inform and inspire someone

  • To learn more about the subject matter

  • To make money

  • To promote a project or course I believe in

  • I am good at and love writing

  • To document an idea and clarify a thought process

  • To promote and drive traffic to my blog

7 reasons why I write

1. To inform and inspire someone.

As you will easily notice from reading the about page of CryptoSorted (my personal crypto blog), my primary reason for writing is to help someone make informed and independent crypto investing decisions.

There's so much misinformation, manipulation, confusion, and outright lies in the space.

And it pisses me off to see people getting ripped off out of ignorance, misdirected by selfish influencers who are loyal to nothing other than their pocket and stomach.

I see people losing money left and right, front, back, and center in their attempt to make money and I knew I can (in my own small way) help guide someone aright in this crypto thing.

2. To learn more about the subject matter

The best way to learn something is to teach it to someone else.

I am not some "expert" or "guru" in crypto investing from Harvard or Cambridge and I don't need to be before I can teach someone a thing or two that I know.

Sometimes, when I discover a new concept or project and wanted to know more about I go into a deep research mode and document everything I learn about the project as a review, guide, or analysis post.

And because I have a knack for over-simplifying and presenting difficult information in simple, easy to understand English, I don't find it hard to communicate my new-found knowledge to another newbie.

So when I want to learn more about a topic, I research and write about it.

3. To make money

I also write to make money. How else can I sustain my writing?

I must eat, pay the electricity bills, maintain my devices, pay for internet data, rent, etc.

This is not even talking about wearing nice clothes, giving alms, and helping to make the world a better place for the less privileged in the neighborhood.

Don't you feel pathetic when you're unable to help someone with even the very basic things of life?

There's hardly anything you can do without money. But I'm not expecting to make all the money I want in life from my writings on these platforms.

But it does go a long way to cover some bases and help me keep my attention and time to writing more informational and inspiring content.

Some of the ways I try to monetize my articles is through affiliate and referral programs, participating in writing contest which seems to always pay some more reasonable amount, etc.

4. To promote a project or course I believe in

I have written a lot of articles about projects that I am invested in and love their business model.

Some people will even think it's a sponsored post, it's not.

I write exactly as I feel about the projects and you will see that from my writing.

Since most cryptocurrency projects are community projects, I believe writing about the good projects that I am invested in is a way of contributing my quota as a committed community member and investor.

I don't write about and promote a shitty project simply because I have degened into them and want to rope in unsuspecting investors so that I can cash out in profit.

I have seen so many so-called "influencers" do that and it's a shame.

If I feel a particular project is a scam I will say so. Just like I did with this article about Rocket Token.

I am invested in the project but I do feel it's a scam, even though my fears are not officially confirmed yet, and I have made it clear in the post.

On the same personal blog, I have written about other projects such as TrustSwap (SWAP), Presearch (PRE), etc, where I sounded like it's a sponsored post because I love these projects and find them to be of high value and that shows through my writing as well.

So yes, I write to promote good projects, especially ones I am invested in.

I will also expose and bash the useless ones from time to time.

5. I am good at and love writing

Ok! I know, it's for you -the reader- to judge me but please permit me to indulge myself this once and claim that I am good at writing.

Plus I love it when I write, knowing that the information I am sharing will help to inform or inspire someone to be better.

6. To document an idea and clarify a thought process

Sometimes I write solely to clarify an idea, concept, thought process that's forming in my mind.

And after a few days, return to it to see if it's still relevant or it's just a fleeting thought.

I have written several articles that I either abandoned halfway or completed but never published because through writing I discovered the idea to be flawed in one way or the other and not really going to be useful to anyone.

7. To promote and drive traffic to my blog

As you may already know, I am also running my own personal blog -CryptoSorted (cryptosorted.info)- where I publish very detailed crypto project reviews, guides, and analyses with the aim of helping you make informed and independent crypto investing decisions.

As a rule of thumb and to avoid duplicate content issues I write exclusive content for my blog.

That means I don't repost my blog contents on Publish0x or read.cash.

What I do is, I try to promote the articles on my blog on these other blogging platforms by linking to them wherever it makes sense and relevant.

I have some really solid articles on the blog that I am sure you'll find both interesting and useful.

I invite you to check them out by clicking HERE.

How and why I decided to consider writing professionally

I never thought about writing professionally until I had a few encounters or feedbacks from two very different colleagues.

At one time, I came into my office and I needed to produce a project report.

I sat down, powered my laptop, and started typing.

In a space of 30 minutes to 1 hour, I was done and asked one of my colleagues to help me proof-read it before I release the update.

She was like, did you type all these just now that you entered here?

I said yes, what's the problem?

And she responded it's incredible, that I both constructed and finished typing such a detailed report in such a short time.

I just finished writing an about 1000 word document in less than one hour and she couldn't believe it.

I felt proud and took that as a compliment especially considering I didn't pull a single sweat to write that piece.

On another occasion, a friend told me that I have a compelling way of writing.

He meant my writing was effective, even if sometimes not everyone will agree with the message or point being communicated but you wouldn't have a doubt about what I am talking about.

These two compliments among others were the basis of my deciding to write professionally.

Because I saw that I have a knack for explaining complex information in the simplest of terms to make it understandable even to a complete idiot.

It comes naturally and I felt, people love and appreciate it so why not do more of it.

Ok!

So that's enough about me and my writing.

Over to you!

Why do you write? Share with us in the comments section below.

6
$ 4.09
$ 4.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of CryptoSorted
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CryptoSorted
3 years ago

Comments

You do have a good reasons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, Obito.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly speaking Chris you are great and it's due to your writing and thinking(Analysis). I like the way you think and write. On the other hand, your seven ways why you write is true. For me am writing in the process to learn deeply about something and also, make some money. Thank you

$ 0.10
3 years ago

Thank you Sweatmum, I appreciate your kind words.

I think those are the two most important reasons aside from the natural reason of informing or inspiring others.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What happens? Your replay just disappear but I can see it in my notification

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah! It was for a different comment. I used the quick reply button and didn't notice it's your comment I clicked on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok But I notice you write something about payment, what's happening? And thanks alot for the tips, I really appreciate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was commenting on someone's article that I notice there's been quite a number of changes (improvements) to the read.cash reward system in just a span of 1 year. But it's all good since these are improvements that help everyone.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ok great, my account is showing spam too, that mean I will not be rewarded?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly my man. Nice meeting you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same here. Seems you new here too right?

$ 0.00
3 years ago