Crypto Bear - who cares?

1 17
Avatar for CryptoMasterMiner
2 years ago

I'm still new into cryptohaving first getting involved in late 2021.  I've bought my first crypto in the last few weeks buying both Bitcoin and Ethereum.  Both are down since I've bought and down significantly from each of their highs.  

Who cares?

As a long time investor in stocks I just don't get all the panic.  I'm up, I'm down.  Not really, unless you sold your holdings.  If you did sell, well you locked in your losses and in this case you really are down.  If you didn't sell, well your not really down because it really doesn't matter UNTIL you sell.  In stocks they call it just paper money, for us this is just digital money in a paper sense...

As someone who has been in stocks for 30 years I can tell you honestly I look at my investments once a year.  Every January 1st, I plug everything I have into a spreadsheet and see where things stand.  That's it.  I hear friends, coworkers, etc. talking about the markets and freaking out one way or another and I just ignore it.  They huddle in corners talking about Wall Street Bets and panicking because their AMC stock has lost 30% of its value.  Honestly, I've been shocked the past couple of years at the growth of my investments each New Years Day as you would think a global pandemic would have clobbered my net worth, but alas no.  Surely a big bad bear must be on the way and I'm ready for it.

Because I'm new at this crypto thing, I pretty much update my numbers every day.  I'm trying to get a feel for things and I do want to be more hands on with crypto than other investments.  I am a little disappointed on how much stocks and crypto tends to move together from the bits I've picked up the last few weeks having hoped for more diversification and investments that moved independently.  

It seems with crypto the highs and lows are just more intense due to all the volitivity.  That is exactly why I got involved with crypto and therein lies the opportunity, a least in the long run and in the short run for those who know how to take advantage.  Personally, I'm not there yet but I'm trying to learn.

In crypto you have this great word - HODL...  It suits me well but is something I'd like to move away from a little with crypto.  I'm an expert hodler when it comes to stocks, bonds, real estate, etc.  I want crypto to be more fun, more thrilling, more of a ride.  Perhaps that is why I don't mind a 10%, 20%, 30% or bigger fall.

Who cares?

Crypto almost seems like monopoly money.  And while most seemed to be focused on the value of their investments, I'm much more concerned with the number of coins I hold.  It is quite simple, when I go to eventually sell crypto in 10 or 20 years, I won't have much control over the price but I do expect it to rise significantly over that amount of time.  So the key number is the amount of BTC coins I own and the amount of ETH coins.  That is the key and guess what?  Bear markets give me the opportunity to build more.

When you have invested as long as I have you have seen the bubbles, bears and bulls.  I embrace them all, but for different reasons.  If you are hoping for an every lasting bull market then investing isn't for you.  I'm a little like Goldilocks except all the porridge and beds are just right, nothing too hot or cold and nothing to big or short.

Bear market?  Who cares?  The answer is I do because I see it as a golden opportunity.  How about you?

0
$ 0.00
Avatar for CryptoMasterMiner
2 years ago

Comments

I too, like you, are buying crypto in the long term.

$ 0.00
2 years ago