How New People are getting Scammed

0 67
Avatar for Crypto.guy
3 years ago

So, in the beginning when I got started in crypto currency. I had maybe ... $2000 dollars to my name... I got a DM with some guy who basically helped me get started with crypto.. he's only been a friend for a few years on Facebook and I've known him for a few years so I trusted him. He got me all setup with exodus, helped me register for coinbase the whole 9 yards...

I bought $2,000 dollars worth of BCH.. and had it for quite some time... had it for maybe 2 months.
I was so excited I thought my facebook friend was a legit COOL ASS dude, he's like yo bro you still buying more crypto? I said Hell yea, I bought 50 dollars of BCH 100 dollars of Vechain, I kept buying more and more of various coins that I liked..

Till one morning.. I woke up, and he msg'd me saying Broooooo!!!!
The crypto is PUMPING!! Did you see it?
I opened my exodus.. and sure enough.. 100% of my crypto was gone, $4,000 dollars worth in total.

I couldn't figure out how/why this happened. I contacted exodus customer support and they basically had said there's nothing they can do because they transferred it out of exodus already. Which sucked. As they were talking with me, they asked me if I ever gave my private keys to anybody... I said no. They said are you sure? And then I Remembered.... when I was setting up my account... I was sending him screen shots of my screen to ask him what next... so yes my dumb self sent him screen shots of my private key so he can tell me what to do with it. I didnt know the exact importance of it in the beginning.

He told me various places to put my private key and never to show nobody... etc.
when long behold... I remember he was the only person on planet earth who had access to those keys to.

We would send crypto back and forth to eachother all the time...
and I said, hey man.. can I ask you something? He said sure.
I said, here's your vechain address, and BCH address...
They match up to where my funds transferred to. He goes nahh bro, They're different, look....
and he sends me "NEW" addresses... But yet when I go in my history... There were PLENTY Of amounts I sent to him days/weeks before... that were his old addresses...

Shortly after he told me he's gonna help me n trying to recover these funds that he has a friend that can "track it" and he'll get back to me... and weeks went by where one day... he just deactivated his facebook.

I never received that money back...and.. that was my lesson coming into crypto.. Obviously now I made a new exodus account, and I haven't given my keys to a soul... and still try very hard with 10 20 50 dollar amounts to rebuild it but its just hard.

At the end of the day... involving money, people will go to crazy extents to steal your money. And.. I just hope if there's any one out there like me who have been victim to being ripped off... Under any circumstance you NEVER give out your keys.

Now to an experienced crypto person im sure you already know this but, I'm speaking more so to the new guys. And if whoever it is helped you get setup.... got your keys... get a new account ASAP.

Because he literally took everything... i had. and.. idk how long itll take me to get it back.

2
$ 0.23
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Crypto.guy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Crypto.guy
3 years ago

Comments