Nigerian jollof

2 13
Avatar for Crownofbeauty
2 years ago
Topics: Lessons

Each country has her own nicest food. To we Africans we believe our jollof is incomparable. Jollof rice is one of the most common West African dishes eaten in the regions of Nigeria, Ghana, Togo, Senegal, Gambia, Mali, Sierra Leone, Ivory Coast, Cameroun, and Liberia. However, each of these West African countries has their own variation of this meal.  It is not too expensive and very easy to make and yet, delicious. Nigerian jollof is so special that other African countries like Ghana do love to compare but they know well enough that it is never possible to compare their jollof rice with Nigerian own.

I didn't go to church today because of my period because I hate not to be convenient because of the pains. I decided to prepare myself a delicious 😋jollof rice to see if my diet will come back. I went to market immediately after washing my laundry. I only need carrot,green beans and green pepper to put in my jollof rice because other ingredients are already available. When I came back from the market I quickly start my cooking.

  • The inevitable foundation for building up the flavor of my Nigerian jollof is to start by sauteeing the Onions. This took me about 2minutes. The next thing I did was to stir in the Tomato paste. I added a deep and rich tomato flavor; I simply fry this for 5 minutes or thereabouts.

  • I Add my blended peppers. Usually, there is no particular time frame for frying this pepper. I stop when the sauce becomes really thick and the oil literally floats on top of the sauce. At this point, most of the water is gone and the sauce no longer smells raw. Trust me you will know but just in case, you are still in doubt, I would say maybe 20 to 25 minutes depending on the quantity of water in your blended pepper.

  • Lastly, in building my flavor, I add the Thyme, Curry powder, Salt, white pepper (good but optional) and seasoning cubes. Adjust the seasoning at this point if there is a need to. Once the flavor is on point, then, I stir in my Rice. Make sure you stir the Rice properly until you cover each grain of Rice with the sauce. Now add the chicken stock. Give it a brief stir and cover it up with a tight-fitting lid. If your lid is not fitting enough, simply cover the rice with a foil paper before covering it with the lid. This is because Jollof needs a lot of steam in order to turn out well.

  • When the rice comes to a boil, i reduce the heat to medium-low immediately and continue to cook until the rice is done about 20 to 25 minutes.

I served my Nigerian jollof and it was really yummy 😋eventhough I couldn't eat much of it,so sad 😢

Sponsors of Crownofbeauty
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to all my sponsors and upvoters. The jollof rice is specially for you all.

3
$ 2.07
$ 2.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
Sponsors of Crownofbeauty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Crownofbeauty
2 years ago
Topics: Lessons

Comments

Nigerian jollof rice is a class and cannot be compared with that of any other nation in the world. I am proud to say that, yes. At least we are food at this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy Yummy, sweetest jollof rice always taste great

$ 0.00
2 years ago