How Depression Almost Ruined My Life For 25 Years

0 16
Avatar for Croatian_Prince
1 year ago

I was diagnosed with clinical depression when I was 25 years old. It was a tough time in my life and I felt like I had nowhere to turn. I was prescribed medication and saw a therapist regularly, but I still couldn't seem to shake the feeling that something was wrong.A few years later, I was in a much better place mentally and decided to go off of my medication. I felt like I could finally handle my depression on my own. However, about six months after I stopped taking my medication, I started to experience some of the same symptoms I had when I was first diagnosed.

unsplash.com

I realised that my depression had come back and that I needed to seek help. I went back on medication and saw a therapist regularly. I also began to share my problem with my friends and family. This was a huge help because it made me feel less alone.

It's no secret that depression is a serious problem. According to the National Institute of Mental Health, depression is one of the most common mental disorders in the United States. According to their website, "Depression is characterised by persistent sadness and sometimes irritability, loss of interest in activities, and difficulty concentrating." 

While it's important to seek help if you're struggling with depression, it's also important to be aware of the dangers associated with the condition. Here are some of the most serious dangers of depression:

1. Increased Risk of Suicide

Studies have found out that depression is one of the leading causes of death worldwide. According to the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention, "Depression is associated with a six-fold increase in the risk of suicide." If you or someone you know is struggling with depression, it's important to get help immediately.

2. Increased Risk of Substance Abuse

Depression is also associated with an increased risk of substance abuse. According to the National Institute on Drug Abuse, "People with depression are more likely to abuse alcohol or drugs." If you or someone you know is struggling with depression and substance abuse, it's important to get help immediately.

3. Increased Risk of Eating Disorders

Depression is also associated with an increased risk of eating disorders. According to the National Eating Disorders Association, "Depression is a risk factor for developing an eating disorder." If you or someone you know is struggling with depression and an eating disorder, it's important to get help immediately.

4. Increased Risk of Health Problems

Depression is also associated with an increased risk of health problems. According to the Mayo Clinic, "Depression can lead to physical problems, such as insomnia, headaches, and muscle aches." If you or someone you know is struggling with depression and health problems, it's important to get help immediately.

5. Increased Risk of Death

Depression is also associated with an increased risk of death. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, "Depression is associated with a 2.5-fold increased risk of death." If you or someone you know is struggling with depression, it's important to get help immediately.

If you or someone you know is struggling with depression, it's important to get help immediately. There are a number of resources available to help you or someone you know get the help they need.

Final Words

It's important to always have it at the back of your mind being depressed isn't a sign of being weak. It's a real and serious illness that can have a profound impact on every aspect of a person's life. But with treatment, people with depression can lead full and productive lives.



1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Croatian_Prince
1 year ago

Comments