5 Scary Nursery Rhymes Dark Origins

0 82
Avatar for Crizaah
3 years ago
Topics: Dark

Nursery Rhymes are songs for kids, we all know that right? but we also know that some of the nursery rhymes are used in horror movies, for instance, the "I love you song" of Barney I don't remember which horror movie is it but I can clearly remember that in the movie the guy was whistling the "I love you song" of Barny while he kills people but anyways since I love some dark and scary stuff I did some research, as always. I found this video about the scary origins of Nursery Rhymes and it was really disturbing and creepy so I want to share it with you guys!

Enough with the intro and let get started!

Ring Around the Rosie

photo source: Google

As far as I know this cute little nursery rhyme, kids sing while holding hands in a circle and the lyrics go like this

"Ring-a-ring-a-rosies
A pocket full of posies
A tissue, a tissue
We all fall down"

Behind that cute and fun song is actually about the majority of Europe dying from a plague, yup! dying. who would have thought that a cute nursery rhyme is about people dying? Anyways, the line "we all fall down" is where the kids will throw themselves on the floor is literally dropping down the dead people.

photo source: Google

Ring Around the Rosie is about the red rash plague victims and the line "A pocket full of posies" is about the herbs and flowers that people smell because they believed that it would protect them from the plague and lastly the "a tissue-a tissue" is about the sneeze which is a symptom of the red rash plague. how dark is that?

It's Raining-It's Pouring

photo source: Google

To be honest, I've never heard this one before but the lyrics go like this "it's rating-it's pouring-the old man is snoring-he went to bed and bump his head-he couldn't get up the next morning" just from the lyrics you can literally have a hint on why is the old man couldn't get up the next morning, well obviously he's dead.

The origin of this story s from, I think England and the nursery rhyme is a cautionary tale about drinking too much to ail your woes.

This Little Piggy

photo source: google

The lyrics of this Nursery rhyme is "This little piggy went to market,

This little piggy stayed home,

This little piggy had roast beef,

This little piggy had none.

This little piggy went ...

Wee, wee, wee,

all the way home" it would basically end up with a tickle and lots of laughter, but if you think about it the piggy who went to the market wasn't going shopping for lovely things to eat because he was the lovely thing to eat. It's like he went to the market to be sold then killed and eaten. Basically, the piggy who went to the market was always the big chubby toe, the fattest and tastiest toe of them all.

The London Bridge is Falling Down

photo source: Google

we are all familiar with this nursery rhyme right? I mean this is the first nursery rhyme I've heard.

It says that in the part of this song refers to immurement, which means sacrificing people to make the building strong. According to the rumors, dozens of children were bricked into the wall of the London bridge to stop it from falling. Dark, very dark.

Oranges and lemons

photo source: Google

Oranges and lemons say the bell of St. Clements, what a cute word rhyme but aside from that, the end of the song goes like this "here comes the candle to light you to bed-and here comes the chopper to chop off your head- chip-chop-chip-chop-the last man is dead" if that is not pretty disturbing to you then I don't know what is.

It actually turns out that the bells of St. Clements were execution bells, in short, the whole song is about killings and death.

And that is all guys! I know I basically ruined your childhood but hey, my childhood is ruined too, lol. My favorite one is the oranges and lemons, I don't know why but maybe bacause how dark the origin is. You know me, I like dark and scary stuff.

Anyways, I hope you like it! Have a nice day/night! Bye!

Source: Google, YouTube

Photo source: Google

4
$ 0.34
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Crizaah
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Crizaah
3 years ago
Topics: Dark

Comments