Nature

2 27
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

Date: August 8, 2022 (it's my brother's birthday , hoorah!)

Prompt #8 of @JonicaBradley : Nature

NATURE.

"Hi," greeted my sister, she sat beside me. "What's with the long face?"

"I am in the middle of a squabble," I answered ending with a deep sigh.

My sister furrowed her brows, "Uh-huh, and with whom?"

"Myself," I answered nonchalantly.

"And what is this squabble about?" she pulled me up. "Come. Let's have a walk."

I nodded, "You see people. I give them what they want and yet they keep asking more.." voicing my thoughts sent me into unfamiliar territory.

"Uh-huh. And what is there to worry about? You are Dream, you are the giver of hope." She knelt down, unfastening her boots.

"They were never contented. Whatever I give, they just ask for more."

My sister puts a finger to her lips, "Listen, do you hear that?" I shook my head. She removed her shoes and walked barefoot on the grass. "It is the sound of nature. Try walking barefoot, you can feel closer to nature. It is called grounding..."

I brushed a hand on my hair. Talking seemed pointless at the moment. "And what does it have to do with my squabble?"

My sister looked at me and smiled, "Because it is human's nature not to be contented. Do you see that?" she pointed to a red car passing the road. "Centuries ago people walk for miles just to get from one place to another. Then there are horses, carriages, trains, and cars...Do you know what brought these changes? This progress?"

"Their discontent?" I asked baffled.

"Precisely. Discontent leads to progress." She danced on the grass smiling at the sun.

"But it is also their nature to die yet they fear it. They fear you."

"They do...what do you fear, Dream?"

"Fear? There is nothing--"

"Humans fear death for they don't know when to face it. It is just their nature. You cannot blame them, they are faulty beings."

I sighed, taking my back from my sister. Perhaps I feel conflicted because it is in my nature to care for these faulty beings.

.....

Another hard one. This is inspired by SandMan

4
$ 1.06
$ 1.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Creepymeow
1 year ago

Comments

Finally. Hehe. Found you here too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahha welcome to the world of my short stories. 😬

$ 0.00
1 year ago