Forgiveness

4 30
Avatar for Creepymeow
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

A story that keeps pushing its way out of the crevices of my brain...telling me to write again...

Forgiveness

A hand grabbed my shoulder from behind, "Hey! It's you, Em!" a high pitched voice echoed through my ears as a forgotten memory resurfaced before my eyes.

My lips curved into a forced smile as cold ran down my spine, "Hey, it's been a long time. How are you, Trina?" I have always kept a safe distance. But, when fate work its claws, there's no way of escaping it.

The girl clapped her hands, shaking her head in disbelief. "My wedding is next month, you shouldn't miss it."

The sound of my back-up e-mail made two months ago, rang a bell in my head. I let her pull me in a corner, outside a wedding dress shop. "How are you? I haven't heard a news about you..."

"I um--" I started to stammer. I always hated confrontations that's why I chose not to look back. "I'm all good," I paused looking for a way out. "Actually I'm on my way to a business meeting. I should be going."

The girl sighed, "Common, Ron would love for you to be there. He--"

"Babe, where have you been? I've been running in circles--" the voice faltered meeting my eyes. "Em?" he asked with a tremble.

An awkward laugh escaped me, "I guess, fate isn't on my side today. Wedding dress shopping?"

Ron pulled his eyes away from me, "No. We're here for souvenirs."

"I see. Congratulations on your wedding but--" I inhaled, "You must be crazy thinking I would come." I was trying to maintain a calm exterior as a lone tear betrayed me and rolled down my eye. "What you two did would never be erased. No sorry could make it go away." I swallowed a lump in my throat. My hands balled on its own keeping my anger at bay.

"Em, it was a long time ago..."

"What?" I retaliated. "Two years isn't long ago. For me, it was still yesterday. I was living it everyday. My cousin. My bestfriend and..."

"Common Em, you should leave the past be. Wouldn't it be better if you can forgive me, us?"

I snapped my head to Trina as my hand connected to her soft face, "How can I leave the past be when you stole the future away from me?" I bit the corner of my lip until the taste of iron rounded in my mouth. "It was supposed to be my wedding too, two years ago." I turned my head to Ron, "It was supposed to be our wedding. So, forgive me too if I cannot be happy for you." I licked my lips and walked away.

Forgiveness isn't a thing you could ask freely but a privilegeou should work hard for.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Creepymeow
7 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Blogging, ...

Comments

Hi madam, kmusta kana? It's been a while :) based on experience ba yan?

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Been awhile na talaga dami na changes dito lalo sa noise ligaw na ako

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Matamlay na ang noise :( pati dito. Hahaaaay

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Wahahahaha hindi ahhh

$ 0.00
7 months ago