Meet the man behind Wizardtavern

0 105
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: WAX, NFT, Artist

Guys I always look for fun and interesting projects and have to say this has to be one not only can you built a tavern for yourself using there app they have lots of stuff planned for the future .

Hi I'm joe from the wizardtavern twitter

Hey Joe How's things ?

Great, just home from work and walking my dog! How about you?

Nice lying on my sofa waiting to go to work lol . Can I ask how long this project been going ?

It is a project born out of another project. The original project was WizardTavern NFTs that are beer bottle labels for beer sold in the game called Niftywizards. So WizardTavern has been around since Sept 2020 but the tavernbuilder has been running only since June 2021

Ah and is it the original team ?

Yes . The focus has changed for the tavernbuilder, but the original is still running as it did before.

So the original project was creating NFTs from a game and then you branched out to create your own project can I ask why ?

Well, the game NFTs were always a single step away from the game. They are in the game but also not in the game. The game is cool because it is pretty loose in how it is actually played. Early on I knew I wanted to sort of springboard something from within the game.

I hope it will continue to launch other projects similar to how I came out of it. I am still involved in that game too, but this is another project that is on the side of the game, sort of running in the same universe or Metaverse.

I get you so you started with beer then you decided that people should have rooms to drink it in . How did you discover NFTs in the first place ?

I first heard about them during the Crypto kitties craze but didn't buy any then. About 3 or 4 years ago I started learning more about them through Eos while they were still working on their NFT standards. I had a crazy idea for an NFT project back then but I didn't have enough knowledge to see it through. Then about 2 years ago a guy I was following on Twitter asked, "who wants an NFT? Send me a DM! " So I did, and it was a key for Niftywizards. One of the original SimpleAssets keys.

Oh wow and is WAX your home for your project ?

Yes it has been so far WAX has been the home for this project and I think it will be for the foreseeable future. I thought about moving it over to Eth, and I think there are some advantages to that, but there are also advantages to stay on WAX.

What is the long term plan of the project?

This tavernbuilder app has been amazing to see how many different combinations users have created with so few items to place! There are so many possibilities to build new rooms and we will release a kitchen/laboratory builder next. Every tavern will need a kitchen. I would have released a kitchen builder already but there are some glitches in the tavern builder app that need to be fixed but as one gets patched another comes so the whole game engine is being rebuilt. There will be some new options on the new builder engine like the ability to free rotate items and an Undo/redo button. After the kitchen/laboratory builder, we will have an avatar builder, and then an animal builder. The possibilities are endless. I want to get small animations into the items too. Imagine a factory builder and you put together pieces of an assembly line in whatever order and configuration you want. Conveyor belts and cranes moving all around. When I see all the 10,000 NFT projects around I feel like they are basically paper dolls, without the fun of putting together a paperdoll. I am allowing users to create a new configurations, to "dress the paper doll" essentially and mint it into an NFT. I think it is pretty unique in the NFT market. I am excited for the avatar builder. I also have a new idea for distributing NFTs which could be fun. I guess part of the fun of the 10000 NFT model is that you don't know what you will get because they are randomly created by the app. I'd like to distribute some of the user created NFTs through a pool system. Users create an NFT but they don't receive the NFT they created. It goes into a pool and they get a random creation from the pool, but you have to "make one to take one."

Nice so is the app still useable during the rebuild ?

Yes, it is being rebuilt from the ground up so the app is still usable by anyone that holds any NFT from the collection WizardTavern. That includes the taverns that are built with the app. So the app is building keys to the app, and users are selling the keys to the app.

Do you have a link for the app ?

https://tavern-builder.herokuapp.com/

Here is a whole set of instructions that I give when people come to the tavernbuilder room :

First, for access to the builder, you need to hold a wizardtavern NFT!

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=wizardtavern&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

Or there is a Draught Drop for DU$T

https://neftyblocks.com/c/wizardtavern/drops/27748

Then you visit the app:

Tavern-builder https://tavern-builder.herokuapp.com/

Move some of the items onto the room to create a tavern then press save, name it, and name yourself, and it is automatically sent to your account.

It can be a little bit tricky to use on a phone but I have one more trick up my sleeve for phone users. There is an arrow at the bottom that pulls up and when you pull it up you get a trackpad. Select an item on the right with your finger, then place your finger on the trackpad and you can move the item over into the room on the left. Or you can just drag it over from right to left.

When you hoping to upgrade the app ?

Was hoping November, but that didn't happen. So now I am hoping before 2022. I am not too worried, this isn't a firecracker of a project, I am building a strong community and we are in it for the long burn. There are so many areas to explore and there isn't anyone doing what this project does. There is literally no competition. So we are not in a race. I would rather make a good project so users can also make good NFTs. That being said, the mechanics of the new app are done, it is just a matter of getting some of the actions working right and the UI a little more intuitive and of course finalizing the art for the next level.

Nice its better for it to be perfect than it half built and released are you doing all the dev work yourself ?

After all of this we still have more areas to explore as well like packs, drops, blends etc. I have a coder working for me, I can do a bit, but it quickly goes over my head. I am directing the UI and the look of it as it goes.

Of course so you really want to expand the selection ?

Yes first I want to expand what we can build, then I want to expand into other things. I don't want to get into burns and packs just for the sake of having burns and packs. I want it to fit into the whole story. I want the entire collection to tell a story and have a comprehensive flow. I am not really trying to make money, I am trying to build a community, and make it possible for them to make money and for them to make NFTs. I love that my Atomic Assets collection can allow users to put out a bit of their own creativity, and get a bit in return.

So its a community based project ?

I want it to be a community based project. There is a cafe recipe collection coming out when the kitchen builder launches. It is designed by @victoriatelos from Venezuela, and I have recently launched two new beer labels (Unicorn Rainbow Stout and Pet Shop Porter) designed by @johnteryx. Whenever someone mentions wanting to make an NFT or help in some way I try to find a way to fit it into the project. Someone a while ago mentioned an Ice-cream shop. I hope they come back and pursue that because I thought it would be a great idea. I love the new Nefty drops revenue split because I can direct most of the funds to the community members driving the idea, and just take enough funds to cover RAM costs for minting.

When the CafeRecipes launch @victoriatelos is getting 100% of the drop sales because she is living through terrible hyperinflation and needs crypto. The whole country needs crypto to overcome the greed of the central banks. She says prices change by the day and it is impossible to save up and buy the technology she needs because the money becomes worthless so quickly.

I have some other ideas that I still need to put together into a white paper, but again I am not in a hurry because I want it all to develop naturally. I want things to be thought through and be developed for a reason. I don't just want to do things because it is what everyone else is doing.

I was hoping there would be a tavern created by you when I checked the taverns but there isn't. If I send you a wizardtavern NFT will you make one?

Here is a link to all the taverns that have been created so far. https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/schema/wizardtavern/tavernbilder

There are currently 261 templates created for taverns!

Of course Il make tavern today . What was the first NFT you dropped

My first ever was a 3d recreation of an album cover. It isn't whitelisted so you will have to unclick the see only whitelisted button. It is a 3d recreation of RadioHead's OK COMPUTER album.

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/asset/1099511631336

It was also the first I sold .

Oh wow I have to say I loved that album so when did you drop the first nft out of this project ?

I had a bunch of labels that I made but didn't have a whitelisting yet so they were just sitting at that point. But the first NFT I gave to people who were in the NiftyWizards tavern room when I got my whitelisting was called Party draught and it was just a free airdrop to everyone who had helped me to that point.

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/wizardtavern/17802

The first tavernbuilder mint was dropped by my coder he named it J, and my first tavernbuilder NFT was The UpsideDowner

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/schema/wizardtavern/tavernbilder

What has been your favorite you have created ?

My favorite tavernbuilder is the one called Tapper. It was based on the old video game called Tapper or Root Beer Tapper created by Marvin Glass. There were a bunch of bars and you have to slide the beers down to the patrons before they get all the way to the main bar. I made one tavern that looks a bit like the game.

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/asset/1099556509376

I loved tapper it was addictive how did you create the original NFT for the project?

I made most of the labels through a combination of 3d models and still images layered and exported through Microsoft ppt. The tavern-builder assets were created with Aserprite .

How long did the first one take to make?

The label NFTs take a few hours to make, to get the animations look right and all the layers right. The NFT I worked on the longest so far was a custom label for someone. It is called Austrian Wookie. It took a few days from concept to mint because I was going back and forth with the customer to make sure he liked it and there were a lot of layers and animations that needed to come together perfectly. I am also going to answer about how long it took for the first version of the tavernbuilder app. That took a few months although not a few months to code it but a few months to find the right coder. I tried a few times with others before I finally found my current coder. He is a young guy studying in college, but he is a wizard. He understands what I am talking about, he understands my vision, and he understands block chain. Or at least, I can explain enough that he can do the work.

Has there been collabs with any NFT artists ?

Not yet, there are some projects and artists that I really like and would love to have a collaboration with. I am still trying to build my own brand and my own aesthetic so it can stand on its own.

Oh and I should say that there are some other artists that have come and built on the tavernbuilder app so that it almost like collaboration.

Who would you love to collab with ?

I really like the art of Stoccistudio, and I think that acidteagranny would fit well with a builder environment.

Do you collect NFTs ?

I do! I more just collect random pieces, but don't really collect from just one collection. If I see something I like, I buy it. I think acidteagranny is the first pack of NFTs I ever bought. I collect a lot of random things. I used to collect pictures of people holding ukuleles. That would be a great collection to add as NFTs hahaha.

Who is your favorite NFT artist ?

Right now on Wax of the big projects my favorite is Hot wheels. I love the cars and the packaging. Hot wheels were a big part of my childhood, and they continue to be a part of my kids childhood, and I have played hot wheels videogames in the past so I have big hopes for this. My favorite anywhere NFT project that is very inspiring is the Loot project on Ethereum. I love how open and imaginative it is. And my favorite tavernbuilder NFT is the GOLD ROOM by Mr.Dapp. It just seems to conjure the feeling of a string of taverns but this is the flagship locations with golden stairs leading up to a luxurious dining area. I love that all of the taverns from the tavernbuilder contain a backstory and a future. They can be filled by your imagination. You can imagine what the level of service would be at each location. https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/asset/1099554127917

What has been the best part of your project ?

The best part has been helping people to create and sell their first NFT. After AtomicHub created the whitelisting system it became more difficult for new users to use the platform to see the power of NFTs by creating and selling their first NFT. I am bringing that feeling back a tiny bit for new users. Of course, they don't have complete freedom like before but there is a bit of creative freedom. It is also nice to help people make their first bit of WAX and enable them to buy some RAM and start their own collection.

Nice any artists that you have helped that I might know ?

No, well I don't know. I don't actually know that I have helped anyone along the way to buy their first bit of RAM and make an NFT collection but that is the dream and goal. I do know that taverns have been some users first wax sale though.

Oh that's quite cool. What has been the hardest part of doing your project ?

The hardest part of it is my regular job. It is hard to keep up a regular job when all you want to do is work more on what you love. Work on what you see developing and what you see is possible. But from 9-5 (8-5:30 in reality) I have to try and concentrate on my job that is not as mentally fulfilling.

I know the feeling . Would you like to go full time on this project if you could?

Not really, I mean, yes, but I am trying to make this project accessible and the the money secondary, and I want users to make as many cool things as possible. If this scaled out though and the bits became enough to keep me fulltime, I'd love to work full time on creating more value for users. Create more innovation in the space and make more immersive experiences for Tavernbuilder, WizardTavern, and NiftyWizards. I'd like to make the source code open source when I can, because I'd like to see what others would do with this as well. I know there are so many people who could do great things with it.

What you like to do to unwind ?

I like to sit on the beach and swim. I love hiking, walking, and exploring. I have been visiting different recycling stations called Green Stations around the Hong Kong. There are 20 in total and I'd like to visit them all. Again I like to collect weird things.

So I asked all artist tell us something random so I would like to ask what weird things you collect ?

I have a huuuuuge collection of vintage photos of people holding ukuleles, I collect gold coloured plastic, I collect handkerchiefs with maps printed on them, I collect Batman comics that feature either Two-face or the Joker, I have a small collection of the Joker comics that came out in 1974, and I collect NFTs with mint #69, #99, and #181

Oh wow you collect an array of stuff . What does your family think of your project?

They don't really know much about it. My son has seen the artwork and he loves that style, but he calls it Minecraft.

Ha ha have you shown him uplift ?

We went in a long time ago before it was open to public! Corey started in Niftywizards you know. I don't know if NW was his first NFT though

Oh really didn't know that. Where can the community keep up with the project?

Twitter: https://twitter.com/saycubed?t=B-J6oWlBuFVb1FJCWCEaHQ&s=09

Telegram: t.me/tavernbuilder or if you play Niftywizards I am the brewmaster and you can usually find me in the Tavern.

Where can we get your NFTs ?

Taverns can only be bought from the creators (please support the creators and you never know what artist you may be enabling for future collections) https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=wizardtavern&order=desc&schema_name=tavernbilder&sort=created&symbol=WAX

Labels, draughts and taverns can be bought on Atomichub https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=wizardtavern&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

Some things will be available on Nefty for WAX and or DUST drops: https://neftyblocks.com/c/wizardtavern

When you hoping to drop a new NFT ?

The next NFT I hope will be the tavern that you build.

I do plan to make one any chance of a competition for the readers ?

I do have the "Yelp the Tavern" contest running and I think I might win the current contest. If I do win, I'll roll over the dust into the next contest, and then add another 1000 DUST. So for everyone there will be a total of 3000 DUST up for grabs on the 3rd week of the "Yelp the Tavern" contest. Here is what to do! Go through all the tweets about taverns from my Twitter feed. Find a tavern that you would visit if it really existed and write a review as if you just visited it. Use your imagination and write about the decor, the service, the food, the drink quality, the cleanliness of the washroom or whatever. Tag it with #YelptheTavern3 And your WAX address. The best review will win DUST and I'll pick some lucky winners to award some other NFTs.

https://twitter.com/saycubed/status/1469917527581294593?t=25CD1JSShTH5BG6TF4reWg&s=09

Nice so click the link above to enter before we finish up is there anything else you want to say or add to the readers ?

I could be predicable and say, we're still early, wagmi, and LFG, but I think I'll go old school and say, "Help control the pet population, have your pets spayed or neutered, keep you head on the ground and your feet in the stars, and give a hoot, don't pollute!".

I still havent had a chance to create my tavern but I will so guys enter his competition or buy his NFTs and create your own and don't to give him a follow on Twitter .

15
$ 19.81
$ 19.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.21 from @Pantera
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 6
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: WAX, NFT, Artist

Comments