Meet the man behind Kryptos Studio

10 158

This has been planned for a long time but we have either missed each other or have been to busy but I finally caught the creator Krypto Studios as he is on holiday and we got to chatting about his projects and himself .

Hey at long last lol .

Hi

How are you today I know you relaxing today at the beach or was that a lake ?

That was a fake I don't have a sat-phone .

Ha ha ha what did you get up to ?

I've been gardening all day with my toddler while my wife has been out shopping planted a new flower bed .

Oh nice so your good with your hands lol

I like working practically whenever I can! Drawing, gardening, DIY and I play a bunch of table top games so paint miniatures when I have time. Next step is converting my garden shed into a studio . The official Kryptos' Studio.

Oh nice . So I suppose we better get down to the nitty gritty the reason we are here . Kryptos Studio is your Wax project how did it come about ?

I joined the Wax Community at Christmas to get stuck into what seemed like a cool blockchain project with some time off, I then quickly discovered the Discord communities attached to AW, such as the CryptoMonKeys, and that opened up the door to other collections and then before long I was hoarding my favourites and trying to flip cheap NFTs... I soon realised the Atomic Hub could be a bottomless pit of fiat currency if I let it and I've been drawing for years so it seemed like an obvious step to cut out the middlemen (moon pay etc haha) and just make my own Wax income steams. A lot of the characters have existed for longer than I've been planning to make NFTs but this technology is (imo) the best way for independent artists to make a decent and residual income from their work. And so, I founded Kryptos' Studio and started working on NFTea & Friends, Avatar Folk and (further down the line) Crypts & Creatures.

How did you come across Wax do where you already involved in crypto at the time?

I've been involved with crypto since the beginning really. My friend and I bought 135 bitcoin in the Autumn of 2009 (and sold it all a year later for uni beer money and a new laptop!) and in 2014 I started working for a gaming company building a game on BTC as at the time that was the only choice. I've been buying into crypto on and off during that time but due to my own income didn't invest masses! 2018 was when I got back into it properly and have been keeping tabs on NFTs since they appeared. (Our BTC game had non-fungible elements to it but using different smart contracts so don't think they were technically NFTs) It was a lot of the environmental concerns that kept me away from ETH NFTs but when I discovered AW and Wax it was a no-brainer.

Is your BTC game still around ?

No it was too early really, not enough adoption and no one knew what blockchains were haha. We took the game to Gamescom in 2015 I think and people were interested and, if I do say so myself, the gameplay is better than most "blockchain games" are today, as a lot are glorified wax drips. It was called Deckbound and there were plans to re-launch on newer platforms which I really hope happens but I believe the developer has moved onto a new project.

So would you say you are looking for a new developer for the project ?

It wasn't my game, it was the developers project, I was working in a biz dev role but I have my own ideas for how to gamify the collections released under the Kryptos banner. The good thing about being around so long is I've met a bunch of people who are interested in this industry and releasing our collections is only half the business. Our core focus is bringing as many new and existing artists into the NFT space and we want to offer a full-stack service from community management to product development, merchandising and marketing. My team consists a programmer, 3 artists, 3 marketing & business development consultants, all with a background in crypto, gaming or both.

Ah so Krypto Studio's has a team behind it ?

It's getting set up but yeah we have a few people to call on for the right project. I joke that it's an Avengers moment where a new client approaches us and I gather the team to work out who has time and the best knowledge to support the project. It's mostly me and two of my artists but my plan is to get everyone in the team a full-time wage and regular work. Until then it'll be project-by-project.

Of course so at this second how many projects come under Krypto Studio's ?

3 native ones, NFTea, Avatar Folk and C&C are all under my creative control.

Have had talks with any clients yet about coming under your company ?

We have about 5 collections I and some of my team are working with, I need to formalise a few things first and confirm who is okay with me publically announcing so can come back to you with names if you'd like that.

No problem ! What was your first collection you came up with ?

NFTea was the first project I started seriously designing but Crypts & Creatures has been something I've been messing around with in my head for a few years.

And where did you come up crypts & creatures ?

Crypts & Creatures is a fantasy-based RPG series that is reminiscent of a rather famous pre-existing franchise but with an NFT twist. I'm excited to work on the dapp for it but Avatar Folk will likely be live months before.

Your creating dapps for your collections?

Yeah each brand will have its own game attached to it but we're currently discussing whether to make one of each or create a Kryptos dapp with a bunch of different games. The second option would be easier, but also allow for crossovers between the brands (I have a few options in mind for how the lore could work if all three projects existed in the same metaverse) and could also mean we bring other collections into the ecosystem with us. Make a proper Kryptos Arcade

I love the name Kryptos Arcade . When did you release your first NFT ?

July 1st

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/1avatarfolk1/181707

Wow only a few weeks ago feels like you are around a lot longer ?

I've been pretty vocal and I think I launched NFTea socials in April . It's this NFT vortex we live in, time moves really slow on the outside, but super fast day-by-day on the blockchain . Already discovered 5 new collections I have bought into this week and it's only Wednesday. lmao its Tuesday, see, point proven haha? So many drops today I thought it was a day ahead of where we are .

When you dropping your next NFT ?

In half an hour haha

They have a good plan and I have a few ideas from them. This is the benefit of the NFT communities merging. I can't wait to drop Avatar Folk or NFTea onto ETH, I think the characters will do really well. I just want them to get a few roadblocks out of the way. One of Kryptos' Studio ethos points is to be carbon positive. We plan to double-offset our carbon so that for every NFT you mint, you are actually making a positive contribution to the planet, rather than just a neutral one!

They have a good plan and I have a few ideas from them. This is the benefit of the NFT communities merging. I can't wait to drop Avatar Folk or NFTea onto ETH, I think the characters will do really well.

So you plan to expand to other markets?

Eventually, but not for a while with our own collections, maybe next year. I'd like to focus on WAX for the time being. We are working on a few ETH collections that'll be launching in the next few months

How many NFTs have you dropped ?

We have 49 unique NFTs on the market right now and 3 more character drops to go until we're ready to drop packs. In a few weeks we should be ready for collection one drop .

And will the packs be just of 1 collection or all different ones in a pack ?

Just Avatar Folk . They're all separate collections. Might do mixed bundles in the future ones all the collections have launched for a while. See where the lore takes me I'll be doing collabs between my collections though, that'll be funny trying to cross a skeleton warrior from C&C with a Green NFTea .

What about collabs outside of your collections ?

We have a couple in conversation but nothing happened just yet. I got my eye on some AF WaxSneakers

Ah Benn he is a mate and a gent IL happily say it to him ?

Anyone that reads this that wants to collab should deffo reach out! We have a lot of art to work with !!!!!!!!!!! I own a bunch now but have like 6 pairs of dogecoinkid people sold the low mints crazy low. Oh, did you get my drop lol?

https://neftyblocks.com/c/1avatarfolk1

I did indeed . Your a collector what's the biggest collection you hold in your wallet at the moment ?

Erm Food Monsters haha . I was like their first real whale first to reach a 1000 Food Monster NFTS in my wallet haha

that's my top ten .

I actually interviewed the creator of food monster such a lovely guy he even creates YouTube videos to help the community .

Yeah I used Frazels videos to learn and cryptostache . Online Inn was the first real community I felt a part of so offered to mod . That's where I started to pick up on more collections and artists .

Who are you loving at the moment ?

I've really enjoyed the journey Green Rabbit has taken and have high hopes for GnomeCity but Astral Entities is the big one for me right now, they have some exciting and new plans, you should talk to their team!

What is your favourite NFT you have made ?

Probably my Animated NFTea Rooms Logo or the Urban Sketch but I have some really cool blends coming that should pick up the interest in the sketch artwork before the pack drop. Would like to get a collab or two under way as well. I've released a few random NFTs under the Kryptos Studio collection account which were more personal artworks so those are always good to do.

Can we have a pic of the one you are most attached to ?

Sure two secs.

There haha that's a sneak peek at the blends for the artwork and I quite like this . Depending when you put this out it might be on atomic hub templates .

Nice . How long does each NFT take to create ?

Each character takes about an hour to come up with a brief and draw. Then another 30-60 mins for the backstory and then each variant of the OG design takes between 30-120 mins depending on the complexity. I try to design in batches so I use the same techniques in a row speeding up the batch time.

And what programs you using to create them ?

I'm only on mobile right now and using a Samsung Tab and my Samsung Galaxy S21 and S-pen so just mobile apps ha. I use MotionLeap for animation and PicsArt, PenUp and Snapseed for drawing. Buying a new PC soon to use more advanced animations faster .

Is this a full time job ?

Not at all. This is all in my spare time. I work in a games studio during the day. It's a lot to juggle but I really value having time in my life to create and if I can make money and meet other creators along the way then awesome .

Oh cool can you say ?

I can to you lol. Kryptos is very much my public blockchain ego .

Next few questions are just about yourself so bank details and so on lol .

Where you from ?

London. Born and raised.

Is the rest of your team from there or are they worldwide ?

Worldwide some in Asia and the States except me .

So Krypto Studio is a global brand ?

We are indeed. And the plan is to be able to employ these individuals full time one day but when that is is dependant on how quickly people buy up all our NFTs :p

Of course so tell us something random about yourself ?

I was training to be an Olympic athlete and soldier as a teen until I went to uni and decided to follow a more creative, less destructive route (and also drink and smoking didn't help with the fitness haha) .

Wow that impressive. What does your family think of your project ?

Haha they think the artwork is cool but tbh my partner is fed up with hearing about "the latest Wax trend" and my parents still think a 2% base rate on their savings is good so explaining the differences between fiat and crypto and then how NFTs work is too much so I just tell them I'm selling pictures online to people and we move on.

Ha ha ha love it . What's the one lesson you can pass on to a newbie artist coming to create NFTs ?

Your collection handle is important, if you decide to change it after you've released NFTs, you can't, without detaching your project from those existing NFTs. People being able to associate your brand with the 12 character name on the side of the market feed will help you stand out. I first made AvatarFolk under a different collection name but realised I didn't like it before I dropped so made the current one.

Oh that advice I haven't seen given yet . What you like to do when your not in work or creating NFTs ?

A lot of outdoors activities to get out the house with all these lockdowns the reason I disappeared again is I'm taking my kid to a country park

Where can the community keep up with your projects ?

(https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_banners/1404159437623996417/1624797499/1500x500)

Welcome to the magical world of the Avatar Folk - a colourful and diverse metaverse where you can be anyone you wish to be... or everyone! partying_face

people_hugging Join our community for future drops [NFTea Rooms Discord Server](http://discord.gg/7K7tWGYkjU)

shopping_cart Buy from the Avatar Folk secondary market [here](https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=1avatarfolk1&order=asc&sort=template_mint&symbol=WAX)

bird Follow us on Twitter for more from the [Avatar Folk](http://twitter.com/AvatarFolkNFTs) woman_singer

Check out the other collections from Kryptos' Studio:

artist [Kryptos Studio](http://twitter.com/consultkryptos) adult‍

teapot [NFTea & Friends](http://twitter.com/getNFTea) teapot

crossed_swords [Crypts & Creatures](http://twitter.com/cryptscreatures) crossed_swords

Oh is there anything else you would like to say or add for the readers ?

Also I have so much more to add, hopefully we can do this again further down the line when I'm ready to launch NFTea and Crypts & Creatures .

Here is something that this brillant artist created just for this article !

https://neftyblocks.com/c/1avatarfolk1/drops/28408

So say thank you for the great NFT check out some of links or even buy some of his NFTs . I think this studio will get alot bigger than even he thinks .

15
$ 12.66
$ 11.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 12
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Oh this articles really let us (the buyers, collectors on a way to name ourself) , get closer to the story behind the art, the artist. I already has some nfts from this creator, but incredible to read more. Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have won a giveaway from him on twitter! waiting to receive my reward :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure he will send you the prize soon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So cute. Like powerpuff girl 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leaving my wax here coz I know you and Kryptos Studio are awesome! 😉

uhmqy.wam 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cute nft I mean the little cartoon girl.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks! :) We have 7 characters currently promo'd and trading card packs dropping in a few weeks. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! Is this you, Dave? Yay! Welcome to read.cash! Didn't know you were here. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buy one there arent dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a nice interview 👍🏼

$ 0.00
2 years ago