Meet the creator WAX Pot Headz

0 36
Avatar for Crackers
5 months ago
Topics: Blogging, WAX, NFT, PFP, Interview

I recently bumped into a new project brought to by Dreubber who is bringing his own WAX Pot Headz to life on the Wax blockchain he is also an artist that is featuring in this years Advent calendar .

Hey bro

Ello ello Fam

How's it going bro?

Going great. got up a lil bit ago just checked my drop to see how we doin https://twitter.com/WAX_io/status/1721200284095873517/photo/1 and DUDE...the official WAX.io wallet swooped 25 of my drop!!!!!

Oh that's nice man so sales going well?

At 138 of 420 minted going good ya. How's your day going?

Ah been busy hoping to get advent calendar up later today

I'm excited for that!

This will be its 3rd year . How your crypto journey start?

I got into NFTs via Funko Digital Pops, selling them. I've dabbled around in crypto a bit prior but not too much. I started streaming Trading cards, comics & Funkos...moved to digital Funkos cause No Shipping fees/packaging compared to physical items . I was streaming on Whatnot and they cut NFT sales so I was lookin into other options, Junkie App brought me on as one of the first 5 Digital Collectible streamers. It being a newer app/platform had lower traffic rolling thru but its fun...

What made you dive in and create your own project?

Grandma passed away and I took a few months off and dove deep into my artwork instead of becoming more emotional l distracted myself I got lost in art. Took my doodle, Pot Headz, that started when I was in junior high/high school and adapted it to WAX Pot Headz. The OG doodles were stick figures with upside down pots for heads, instead of the usual circle. i did not add faces to them originally . I didn't even know the Ganja/weed reference when the OG stickfigure Pot Headz where created I've been doin art since I could hold a crayon been doing graphic design since high school

Ah so this project has been in making for years so . And was Wax blockchain always the first option for minting on?

The version I have now was created over the last year or so, I'd say. but the concept and doodles have been my favorite characters to draw for years yes originally when I though about getting into NFTs i looked t ETH but the gas fees were too brutal to dive in haha

I am guessing these are all hand drawn so?

Correct...I don't for see me using AI Ipad and apple pencil for the digital version

OG style

Ha ha ha will they be getting released?

I will be doing an OG Style series, eventually also yes. This pic is one i set as a drop. my classic.wph schemea and look at rank #3 currently on PFPs my Dreubbers bloody Mary in that living room window scene haha

Blood Orange pollen crossed with Mary Chino (cherry) mother! my first strain created by me.. Dreubber's Bloody Mary hehe

Did you drop any promos on the lead up to the PFP?

https://nfthive.io/drop/nfthivedrops/6537

https://nfthive.io/drop/nfthivedrops/6538

These two the banner and my avatar we used NFThive ads a bit also social media posts , word of mouth and Lefthouse had me on stream a week ago or so also

How's has the reaction been to the project?

Great overall. People love the nostalgic feel they have I've been told. 'They remind me of something, just cant place it, love them' 'They are vibrant and colorful'. I do plan a THC FREE Series/Family Friendly one. so they would be that WAX Pot Headz but without any ganja accessories

Is there rarity levels in the PFPs?

The rarity levels are changing up as things get minted a few things were def set lower odds than others, like the Living Room View background with Dreubber's Bloody Mary in the window. and the Karate Headband, also a lower rate pull

Is there many traits in the project?

I had sooo many traits. I didn't want to add them all because I am limiting to 420 mints, and that risks traits not even getting used if too many added. I honestly forget how many are in it currently, i could go add them up tho . NFTHive has the 'preview' option i the drop to see possible outcomes

Have you come across any weirds one yet?

Meaning like the minted PFPs, did any layer wrong? not yet I'm 99% sure they will be fine lol.

What has been your favorite that has been minted?

Ooooh def a few.

Probably these three atm

They are all total different ones . Is there room for you to collab on the project?

100% and in the talks with a few projects

Can you drop any names?

Not sure how soon but yes to WAX Wolves, BPWC, ACK Consortium/ACK Aliens, Novopangea, NFX Creations, Las Vegas Ape, CaptianDegen, PrimeRogueInc

Well who would be your dream collab on wax?

I think SKunkyChunks would be a fun collab. BRSketchArt could be another fun one, I'd love to see a watercolor version. a Pixel version would also be rad, Waxel World/WaxelNinjas. those would be cool. so many great projects

So you where saying your going to do a non weed PFP is there more plans for other drops?

Yes, this is Series 1 'Holidaze Shenanigans' is the next one I've been working on

Oh any sneak peaks?

Not yet.

What has been the best part of doing the project?

Meeting all the amazing people on the WAX Blockchain. I have gotten to know so many great people. Become good friends with many people. The overall community vibe is great. The smiles that the characters bring to peoples faces are the best!

What's been the hardest part?

I'd say balancing everything timewise. I'm the stay at home parent, we have 5 kids that we homeschool. Also having fibromyalgia, so some days are rough for me health wise. The artwork is all done by me, the website, socials, etc. It's a lot of work. I love it tho

What your family think of the project?

The kids love it...my wife hates how time consuming it gets and how absorbed i can get in it at times, but she's proud of the progress and me getting my artwork out there

What you like to do when your not working on the project?

I like to explore other projects and learn about new web3/NFT space things....I really have been super focused on the project a ton lately. I enjoy livestreaming with the kids as cohosts, and without haha

Where can we keep up with the project?

https://www.waxpotheadz.com/

https://discord.gg/CDhQckumNa

https://twitter.com/waxpotheadz

You have your PFP on NFThive at the moment?

I do.

https://nfthive.io/drop/nfthivedrops/6436

Is there anything else you would like to add?

https://nfthive.io/collection/mynerdporium my other project is here...it where my non-wax pot headz artwork goes/will go. some of my IRL sketches/doodles I've taken photos of and turned into digital collectibles as well as some digital graphic creations

Oh didn't know you had a second project?

It hasn't been a main focus, just a place to add some of my other artwork. It was suggested to me by a few friends. Figured why not!

Ah i get you thank you bro for your time and good luck with the project.


1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
5 months ago
Topics: Blogging, WAX, NFT, PFP, Interview

Comments