Meet the artist Peter Graham

6 114

So this one is a great one for me as its the first person I have interviewed from Ireland who creates NFT's and his NFT are but its not only him his daughters are also creating some great NFT's

How's things ?

Not too bad today, sunny here and been out onsite which is a welcome change

I know day off was in the park with the kids .

How many do you have?

2 thank god 4 year old and 6 month old do you have any ?

Daughters 10 and 8

Oh wow so I am guessing your a builder as you were on site today ?

Engineer, just looking at a problem . Did not solve it but was still nice to be out ?

You must of been quite the last few months with the site closed .

I spent most of COVID on an IT project working from home but got to move back near the actual work once the IT project finished at Easter so it is a new role that make it interesting

Yea I was working home from march till early December then we were all brought back to the office have to say loved working from home

I will probably have a mix from now on and that suits me. So much time and effort can be wasted commuting

(So for the readers Peter lives Dublin )

Are you a north or a southsider lol

Leopardstown, my wife is a southsider but I class myself as Scottish (but Irish enough for a passport) been here for ages though

Ah I know Ballygowan I worked on the apartments before the crash lol

So what brought you into the NFT world?

I have been in crypto some 2017 but as things got worse and worse spent a good while away. I came back to have a look late last year and while engaging on crypto twitter I came across NFTs.

I started chatting to people and eventually I made some. It is a unique art form that I enjoy. Copying a scene with wet paints or major abstract depictions are not really me but with NFTs I can more design my way to show what I want to show if that makes sense

If I go quiet I have taken my girls to Athletics, I help coach them

That's no problem so your an engineer so that must help would you call yourself artistic ?

Yes, but with a heavy element of design and structure beaten into me.

And OCD

Ah but do you enjoy making NFT's ?

Love it, not sure how I would have got through lockdown without it.

I have been doing a lot of NFTs with my daughters recently and have really missed doing my own work but started again this week

I know you started out on Opensea how you finding wax community ?

Love the whole NFT community, I would not think there is a social media group like it. So positive abs supportive. ETH or WAX makes no difference but as an artist they are different

Really can I ask what you find different ?

There are a few differences, the first one that was evident for me was the file size with Rari being 30MB and Atomic 2MB so I found I was constrained by that at the start and also the setups in Rari the artist gets verified and but in atomic it is the collection and it is a lot more collection focused. I know that since I started on WAX Opensea has got very popular with collections but rari was a lot more individual pieces back then - it was only a few months but feels like a generation of difference.

I am not really doing too much with it but WAX NFT staking and gaming and the larger commercial collections like Street Fighter and Topps will bring WAX fully mainstream and that is really exciting

What name do you use as your artist name on each or is it just the same ?

Just my name

Oh right just plain and simple

It is all fed so much from Twitter and it is best to have them linked in some way. at the start I was doing individual pieces so non need for a cool name to link it all

Ah so at the moment where you putting most your work up on ?

At the moment I am spending a lot of time working with my daughters on the seaglassnfts collection that has developed from nowhere but is popular especially their Punks (it is on WAX).

I was recently part of the EOS gems project, that was super cool to be involved (on EOS but very similar to WAX an on Atomic) and I am have art in the the Nifty Boards project being fronted by @MISTERNFT, that is super cool and love my input into it and I have another couple of WAX collaborations ticking along. I did start a new piece that I might put on Rari but let’s see how it goes as just seeing may way though a concept.

I do actually have some of your NFT's and I have the blue skulls and your Collab with ben (silly) and I have to say I love seaglassnfts they are quite cool .so how do they find the NFT world

They love it, I have been showing them to them the whole time. The 10 year old has actually claimed my LUX card, and there are a few of my eth ones they have their names on - just to clarify as she will read this I have not agreed that she can have my LUX card.

On Seaglassnfts that just started by chance, the girls would go to Seapoint while their mum swam and they started collection the seaglass and then they did a few pictures with them so I minted them. They started with animals, then Star Wars then punks - all their choice apart from I made them do my mooncat and they have done a couple for my twitter friends

They have a wallet just for them and they have proceeds from sales and the No 1 mints in it, they can decide what to do with it when they are older. They also have a few pieces they like in there.

Wow so they are learning a lot so they create NFT's themselves or do you help them

They do most of the physical mosaic stuff and originally I did all of the digital but the oldest one is staring doing some of the editing too.

She makes a lot of her own pieces (not seaglass) on my iPad but we have not gone on to mint these, a lot of the stuff uses images off the internet that might be protected so we need a few more lessons before they see light.

As far as the seaglass they steer the ship and have even asked me to approach other artists about collaborations, one of which might come to something and would be cool if it does.

It would be nice to get to the stage that they mint off their wallet without my input but not sure if the community is ready for that yet

Oh so they are up for Collab's do they have any artist in mind ?

And is minting on the like of Opensea not getting a bit dear to be using with ETH hitting ATH ?

They have started with one, the other artist has an ETH collection but it would be WAX NFTs we make. The ball is in their court so will let you know if anything comes from it. I have a couple the artists ETH NFTs in my gallery and they were gifted one each to my girls before there was talk of a collaboration and then we have a collaboration ongoing with @MosaicNFTArt and @SillyPsyBen that is almost ready to go.

We did release a collaboration with CryptoPups last week also, we might need to slow down a bit now that the weather is improving.

I think all of the girls art will be on WAX, me going back to do an ETH piece would just be an occasional flurry when I get time, I am not too bothered if they sell it is for my own headspace I would be doing it so only minting costs really matter.

Ben and Mosaic are brilliant NFT artist I chat to ben most days genuinely lovely guys . Have the girls discovered a artist the love or are they collecting NFT's yet?

Not really collecting themselves, they are not on twitter so most of the stuff they see is in my collections or because I show them and they comment. If I get owls or Star Wars on WAX I send it to their wallet and a number of pieces in my ETH collection will be theirs when they get a wallet - and gas is reasonable but it is hard for them to look themselves.

We are pulling together a seaglassnft as a gift for an artist friend and it had a Banksy reference and the 10year old knew about the girl with the balloon and we had a long chat about his secretive nature and when I showed her the shredder prank so was amazed, it will be great to see how her interest develops

Yea and I take it they enjoy art ?

Love it, I can tell that from the questions they come up with. From a young age I have been trying to explain to them to try and look deeper into things, like advertising and promotions and what people are actually after or saying, I hope this is helping them look at art in their own ways.

If you mean doing art the house is full of it, have boxes of stuff lying and they are always drawing (or on my iPad )

I think everyone has there opinion of art what I call art others would disagree and I think its great to have boxes of there artwork in the house so who is your favorite NFT artist ?

There are a far too many to possibly even mention but I will give a few styles I like

Possibly the most amazing art I have ever seen is from @annadreambrush it is just so amazing and with the performance added it is unbelievable.

On stills I love the beauty of @Chrissweetart art, I love all of @nathan58893696 art and I am so happy to see him come to WAX in the last week or so.

On WAX I think MosaicNFTart is amazing, so versatile and such a hard worker and great for the community amongst so many more.

It is such an amazing space and all the artists are so approachable and nice

Do you collect NFT's yourself ?

I would say more hoard NFTs, I have a good few ETH NFTs and lots of WAX ones too but the numbers in my wax wallet are vastly overstated because of a Street Fighter addition I am trying to work out of. I have started an eth galley and I am just waiting for similar to be available on wax.

Have you looked on twitter I nearly sure there is someone on the there doing NFT gallery's ?

I have not seen on WAX but I have a mission for tonight now. Thanks

I think I follow someone IL tag you in a bit so have got any friends involved in crypto or NFT's or is it just your daughters ?

I got one of my friends involved, @tomjmulholland into NFT collecting. He comes into twitter intensely for a few days and then has a break. He is amazed by the space and could not believe how accessible the artists are. His mum is a traditional artists and he is looking at trying to get her to mint some of her works but explaining the whole NFT space can be tricky. I have seen her work and it would come across well.

And how do you feel about the whole crypto scene i presome you hold different crypto other than ETH and WAX

Yip, have a few and all doing well after a number of painful years but I never went out of my depth so was happy to let it sit and recover, it was like a bet on the grand national - I put in enough to make it interesting.

I think it is starting to come more mainstream with more institutional investors, that is the difference between now and 2017 and that should help calm down some of the pump and dumps and manipulation which must be welcomed. These will also be a few coins going into full use case and that is exciting

Have you thought your daughters much about crypto

The big one(10yo) knows a lot, we have had long chats about it when running and she knows the basics. God help her teacher if they ever mention BTC or crypto in class. She knows some of the history on BTC and the pizza guy and the lost wallet keys and she knows about micro payments cross border currency transfers - on one run I agreed to give her and her sister some XRP for some bribe to speed up or something. I think it was $20 worth each when it 50c each so they are doing ok from that.

Yea that has really jumped so do you blockchain and crypto should be thought in schools

Probably not at their age, in secondary schools I cannot see how you will be able to do economics without it in a few years - I can see the whole financial sector being changed with money able to flow unrestricted across borders with ease. And with blockchain being able to securely record anything the applications are almost infinite, I would not bet against my kids school results, driving license or ID for getting into pubs not in a blockchain by the time they are old enough for them.

How long those it take for each nft to be made for thought to creation ?

The Bondi Skull which was my last ETH one took a couple of weeks so I probably put 20 - 30 Hours into it, the SeaglassNFTs are faster (excluding the collection and cleaning etc) the physical mosaic can take about 1 - 2 hours and the same for the editing depending on what way we do it.

The works I put in for the EOS Gems and Nifty Boards would have been a couple of longer nights so Maybe 8-10 hours. I do most of my work in the evenings once the kids are in bed so it is bad when i get into a piece as sleep is the first thing to suffer

What programs you currently using to make your NFT's ?

I mainly use Sketchbook and Bazaart, I have also used motionleap in the past and GoArt for applying filters. There are so many out there, I have not got into spinning cards etc but others have and done great with it

Ah That is some list so what is your favourite nft you have made ?

It would be the Bondi Skull

Can we have a pic

That is class so you dropping any new NFT's this week ?

Possibly a few. The Nifty Boards project is dropping soon as might the collaboration with MosaicNFTArt and SillyPsyBen. We are working on the gift Seaglassnft for a friend of mine. There is a seaglass punk or two in process

Any sneak peaks ?

I never mentioned it because I am not sure If we will drop it, give out as gifts or just mint one for keeping but this is a seaglass copy of my mooncat that is almost ready

https://twitter.com/PeterjgrahamN?s=09

Well i always ask the artist does he fancy doing a drop for the readers ?

I can do a drop, do you make as a giveaway? No problem can do Some punks or mooncats, what do you think?

Perfect so 5 clints il do a google form and we will leave it open for 48 hours so retweet the article follow tag peter and me in the tweet fill out the google form

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1BXyRr1fxlF2I82MJJaLKCoHdBVY_h0Yob5omuo1GZHw/edit

So where can we buy your NFT's ?

My ETH wallet is rarible.com/1978 and if you want the seaglass punks they are in my kids wallet is https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/collection/seaglassnfts

Tell us something random about yourself

I make beer and cider as a hobby, it is like my art as it is a bit rough and gives you a sore head but hopefully entertaining to some people

Must a get pitcher of your next batch lol is there anything else you would like to add ?

Any time, last beer I made was a beer like Blue Moon and i will do that one again. I would Just like to thank you for your interest and for being part of the community, I think it it the most amazing supportive place for artists, collectors or anyone interested. Thanks

Thank you peter for your time and best of luck in the future and i am sure we will see in each other on twitter .

12
$ 20.80
$ 20.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 5
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Another great insight and that Bondi Skull is crazy good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know some nice nfts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

those seaglass NFT's realy looks cool i like the skulls the most awesome work he makes m5fay.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea dnt forget to enter the competition

$ 0.00
2 years ago