Meet the artist MuensterVision

2 254

Right let me start with this man is a legend and a killer rap artist and a classy NFT artist and a great community but less about that and more about the man and his project .

How you doing bro

I’m doing great ! Man ! Hell hath frozen lol. We finally doin the do ! How YOU doin, bro ?

Of course we are did you get up to much today?

Well it’s mid day here in Texas … but also. Yes man. You know how I work …. I’ve been at it since 6… following up w mails… finalizing art designs … meeting w game devs…. Then I started my day .. lol l do sales and synergy ( among other things) for a mid size IT Healthcare co. When I’m not on my Muenstervision steez I’m working lol n that … well …. Also a 6 month old and an amazing wife/chill home life lol. Crap. I sorta went off the rails there …

Lol its allowed so how did this crazy journey start for you?

Garbage Pail Kids bro I mean … I guess really the NFT exploration started before I found wax but it wasn’t till I found wax that I really started “getting it”. My good buddy Lex Lewis is a solidity dev, and has moved on to some executive roles with several coins, had introduced me to the notion of NFTs and tokenizing my music back in January 2019. But, I had just released a huge record, and was growing my streams and followers heavy at the time. I couldn’t get my mind around the abandonment of the old way, and had NO IDEA just how life changing this “crazy journey” was gonna be … I digress… Ok. Back to GPK, WAXP, r2 monsters of rap, CAIT token, Graffiti Kings, Muenstervision NFTS and everything in between ….. Wait … what ? 😎😵‍💫

So NFTs was your start in crypto?

Well. No. My intro to crypto was sort of everyone’s story in like 2018 ish …. DOGE on fn Robinhood, then BTC on PayPal … and then learning about private keys vs custodial wallets and defi exchanges thanks to my good buddies at Astronos, a sort of crypto think tank of sorts.

How did you know its was the right time to release your music through NFTs?

Hmm… I think as I started to understand token backed asset management more, and put real world use cases to test both in theory and application, through buying into staking projects, learning about Liquidity Pools, Faucets, and watching Packs flip/moon/tank lol … I started to see “the whole picture “. By that, I mean the unique nature of offering utility through token management … as a musician your fans and followers are your life blood, joining in communion with them will make or break and artist. Especially any “do it yourself” creators … so by taking time to talk about my processes and creation methods I have been able to bring hundreds of new “Muenstervisionaries” along with me in the process. Really opening up a plethora of possibility to do unbounded things with my fans. Whether it’s crating unique mints, art toys, or merchandise mints, in able to bring my digital life, and creativity and overlay it with as much of my “irl” as possible

How do you decide the image to represent each song?

Well…, so it started with CAIT music, and the CAIT community sort of driving that firstborn music NFT of mine lol. The ppl had spoken! They wanted “Didactic” as my first music NFT mint on WAX from my record: Weirdope. I didn’t have any direct imagery for it so at the time the CAIT team actually put the visual together for the first one. BUT…, serendipitously enough, at this time SER, the head honcho at GK ( Graffiti Kings ) and I were starting to talk about collaborations and stuff as well. So, we did a cool crossover drop where if you bought my first NFT drop and the previous CAIT music NFTs before mine then you got air dropped a unique CAIT-coin kid GK crypto-moonboy art card along w the visual for “Didactic”. (Fun fact: I was third CAIT music drop ever). Hahahaha… I laugh because it was my first drop and I was already collaborating … The universe of synergy opened up so much at that point ….visual artists became collaborators, but at the same time, it started pushing my own comfort zones when it came to crafting and creating my own art. I’ve always leaned on collage and mixed medium works myself, but it was not until I found NFTs and the amazingly open minded community of artists and creators on WAXP/ NFT digital creation in general, did I feel really ready to brand myself as an artist separate from my musicianship.

When did you start dropping with your music?

I think my first drop was around June of last year I believe.

I started releasing music on my own in 2012 w my first EP Epicenter I released a mid size album in 2014 called Warped Tape my first full length record in 2016 called radio dogpile, my second full length record Weirdope in 2019 and now wrapping my third and BIGGEST record to date for sure, Muenstervision Presents: Ian

The static image was my album cover as well

So how did the community react to your music?

Quite well. It was overwhelming… I had never experienced such an embrace by a new culture group ( in this case WAXP) mostly through new friends all chatting at CAIT at the time. I think we hit the 250 cap for the gk drop in like three days

How many tracks have you dropped since as NFTs?

Lemme go see it’s a bunch lol

Well that narrows it down.

Muenster How Long ft Pterradacto (https://neftyblocks.com/c/cxcmusicnfts/drops/99920)

Muenstervision Presents: Forewarned (https://neftyblocks.com/c/sublimesound/drops/103059)

Chances Are (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/50222)

Didactic (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/25206)

Message (https://neftyblocks.com/c/cxcmusicnfts/drops/35228)

No New Ways New (https://neftyblocks.com/c/sublimesound/drops/81775)

Chances Are (MFJ Remix (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/89211)) MuensterVision Presents: Ian(MercArt PACK) (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/96317) Muenstervison Presents: Ian(ArtistByron PACK) (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/106181) Muenstervision Presents: Ian(Secret Saviors PACK) (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/111031)

Dborjs PenArts Muenster Cloned DNA (https://neftyblocks.com/c/penartdborjs/drops/117858)

Dborjs Blend (https://neftyblocks.com/c/penartdborjs/blends/blend.nefty/8394)

MuensterVision Presents: Ian - Freshpack 4(20) (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/drops/115660)

EZ ft. Ritchy Flo(Blend) (https://neftyblocks.com/c/caitmusicnft/blends/blend.nefty/9491)

Have you done many collabs?

I also have collabed with CXC music, Sublime Sounds, CryptoSwatches, and a secret collab completed I can’t speak on yet ….

Have you done any of your own art work?

Yes. That’s what I was saying earlier above, this whole venture has lead me into feeling solid w my post edit and collage works. Enough to start using in my mints and beyond… I had a really cool moving collage highlighted in central Paris during NFT Paris week thanks to my good buddies over at Yuser app.

Wow congrats on being highlighted . So what drop first featured your art?

Thanks man! Was a trip ! The piece is super pop art too so as one who likes that genre I was even more proud it got selected. I think the first time something I did post edit work on was my first Muenstervision Presents: Freshpack series … I had sown amazing art made of me as a crowman but the homie Jake at @MercenaryArt… and from there I made 5 variants and a pack wrapper and minted those as the lead off of singles into the record. So that would have been January I believe …

How you creating your work?

Man …. Many apps and many steps lol …

How does it take to create a NFT?

10-15 hours typically

Do you have favorite?

Bc each time I make a certain it’s unique. There aren’t any base parameters aside form perhaps the static art I begin w if it’s sourced that way. Maybe the last edit work on the video and track I made out of “Muenster of Rap” R2/Rory McQueen made me …

I know you have many collabs but who would be dream collab?

I manifested all of them this year dude. Between my fresh packs with Mercart, Byron, Secret Saviors, Stoney Baloneys, GK, and R2…. I really don’t know. I suppose I’d like to make some fly IRL/Mints w WaxSnkrs and Sk8 Coin … a real deal Muenster Funko would be illy … who knows. “Merch Mints” are really paramount for me. I have some art toys in production, tapes being made, trading card packs being printed and shrink wrapped and working on a 1/1 vinyl minting as part of the record and packs dropppng this fall.

What has been the best part of doing your project?

Learning about unbelievable use case mechanics, growing a community from nothing to over 300 creators, collectors, and friends, and being a part of something larger than myself ! WE/me. All day.

What's been the hardest part?

A couple of things, likely most challenging both internally and as a brand is managing expectation and outcome… sometimes you miss deadlines, or a mechanic doesn’t work right… but, that’s ok…. That’s life, and all of its imperfections lead to progress…

I think that's life when you have a real life family and job sometimes you can struggle for time . What your family think of your music and your NFTs?

My wife sort of rolls her eyes when I start talking crypto but also is super supportive of me, my creative process, and all my accolades and success. And she mega loves my music and is quite the craft and canvas artist herself. Overall my family is always blown away by what I tell them I’m cooking up, recording, performing, and doing throughout the years. I see eyes glaze over when I start talking generational sovereignty through royalties and smart contracts tho lol

What made you start rapping?

Uh … unanswerable. I been rhyming and songwriting since I was 6. Literally. I found rap masters vol 2 as a tape at sound warehouse when I was like 7/8 .. I got candyman after that, I graduated into actual stuff that started molding me … EPMD, Rakim, and Fresh Prince w my allowance money… and from there a Tribe Called Quest, Organized Konfusion, Wu Tang Clan, Cypress Hill, Rawkus records… sound track after soundtrack, then all the underground tapes started floating around austin mid nineties … found Artiffavts and the Roots in jersey and Philly …Living Legends and Hieroglyphics in the bay … but then I found the golden goose about junior year in the Goodlife cafe /Project Blowed artists and my life changed … those teachers of craft and style, of “off the dome “ delivery and positive reinforcement by through verbal annihilation of the weaker MC … if you heard “please pass the mic” you knew you better go harder next Thursday…. Anyway. Yeah. Hip Hop made me.

Have you rapped with many artists?

I have rapped with a lot of artists. I have 20 joining me on my new record. I have also had the pleasure if being a part of / fronting for several hass fusion/funk bands as well. I try to stay as diverse and ranged as possible.

Have you brought any rap artists into wax?

I have ! And other artists ! In addition to minting assets w my homies on the track, I have gotten my good buddies over at College of Hip Hop Knowledge whole label on it, they have dropped with both CAIT music and are also signed as Sublime Sounds artists, additionally I have onboarded my buddy Quanstar onto CAIT music … and most recently my buddy in R3DR43 a rock band out of Lawrence Kansas !

When your next drop?

I have a drop w Sublime Sounds this month I believe ! Def dropping something 09/09

Where can we keep up with you?

I’m @muenstervision EVERYWHERE!

Where can we buy your NFTs?

My primary collection is mvpian schema under CAIT music … which can be found on CAIT shop native, NFThive, Nefty Blocks, and Atomic Hubs markets !

Is your music available to buy any where?

Yes. You can buy my music directly through http://Muenstervision.Bandcamp.com I am also available for downloads on Apple Music, Amazon music, and I have records and CDs avail on Discogs.com as well as various on line shops

Any chance of a competition for the readers?

Hmmm. Yeah. Best 16 bars….. written,spitten, or sung. Gets a free album pack. Muenster community vote. Bring ya a game. #notourists

Oh interesting so before we finish up is there anything you would like to say or add?

Um. Be good to each other. Be good to yourselves. We only get once round in this skin suit. Best get it !

Love it bro great to finally cover you

Man. That was a blast my dude. Thank you.

Drop your best 16 bars in the link below

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1563648891370627072?s=20&t=OXTUH0KDG-2UNKn8hG-PQQ

8
$ 8.46
$ 8.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Huge effort and huge acheivments for the guy! Great story

$ 0.00
1 year ago