Meet the Artist Monstercadet

5 117

Welcome to another meet the artist this artist started out on Opensea but couldn't settle there where he then moved to WAX and has made himself at home and is doing really well lets no waste any more time .......

How you today ?

I'm doing well. How about yourself?

Busy as always . Do anything exciting today ?

Today? Not yet. It's a work day so I'm just plugging away at my desk.

What name you go by here ?

Monstercadet

Where you from ?

California

What's the full time job ?

Same as the part time. Haha. Illustration + Design.

Oh cool so it kinda helps . Do you work for yourself ?

Yes, for over 10 years now.

Oh brilliant would I know any of you day job work ?

My biggest client now is Biltwell. They do Motorcycle Accessories. But I've done work for ViewSonic, the now defunct Lowrider Magazine and some Time Warner Publications back in the day.

You got around .

Yeah, that comes with being self employed. You follow the money.

Of course how did you discover NFT's ?

I've been a long time follower of Beeple on Instagram. I first heard of them there when he mentioned doing a collection. This was right before he blew it all up.

So when did you decide that NFT design was for you ?

I think, like every other artist, when Beeple hit it big I explored Open Sea and minted some stuff there that never sold. But honestly, after giving it a lot of thought, I felt I was doing it for the wrong reason—cashing in—so I deleted everything. I took a break and then began to slowly re-post stuff that had more personal value. It was work that I had put more blood and sweat into and meant something to me. Which... to this day, remains on OpenSea unsold. LOL.

When did you turn to WAX ?

I stumbled onto a video on YouTube by CryptoStache. I loved that it was based around a collector market. I used to collect Comic Books and Garbage Pail Kid cards back in the day, so it resonated more with me. The more I explored it the more I uncovered what a great community it is, too. I've met some great people because of WAX.

That's brilliant there is a great community so when did you drop your first NFT ?

I don't remember the exact date, but when I first started I didn't know what I was doing or about being whitelisted. I minted some art just to learn so I'm not sure I'd count that. I think my first official drop was my Man of Steel in the beginning of May.

Your only making NFT's on wax the last four weeks how many have you launched since ?

As of today, 20 Pixl-Pops and 7 for my Pulp Friction collection.

Wow 27 that is some amount that is like 1 every day or just about !!!

It didn't seem that way when I was doing it. I think it's because I had completed a lot of work prior. It's definitely slowed down some. I have to create a lot of the art for the new season of Pixl-Pops so it wasn't like when I first launched it. I also didn't learn about drops until late in the game so I was just releasing to Market.

Technically, there's only 15 of the Pixl-Pops the rest were promotional mints.

Oh right so you had a lot of the work done so do you regret not spacing out the releases ?

I do a little. But I also think me not knowing what I was doing at the time, and releasing them to market worked out. Most people that started collecting them kind of stumbled onto them and it spread mostly through word of mouth. It was too much work though. I'd release 5 at a time, they'd sell out and then I'd mint 5 more... Drops are so much easier!

Yea and are you using nefty for your drops or are you still using Atomichub ?

I've been using only Nefty. I'm really fond of their project and the guys running it are really good people. They're super helpful and supportive. I joke with them that I think they're androids because they're always there answering and solving users problems.

That's a good thing so I am guessing you are having more success on WAX then Opensea ?

Definitely more fun which in my book translates to success. I've created some friendships with both collectors and non-collectors. OpenSea kind of lives up to it's name, you're almost adrift by yourself and lucky if someone waves hello. On WAX seems almost the opposite.

Yea a lot of great fans and artists . Do you collect NFT's and design them ?

I just started collecting. I didn't have time at first. It's a bit addicting, especially for me coming from a history of collecting vast amounts of comic-books.

Collecting, but taking it slow. LOL

Have you got a certain collection of NFT's you look out for ?

I'm eagerly awaiting the next D1rtyflapjak drop. Also, I have some already, but I'm waiting for Lucius Felimus's collections to get whitelisted. I lean more towards collecting art right now.

I like the art for RAWR and the stuff Galeria NFT is putting out, too.

I'm a little late, but looking forward to seeing what Lars does with his Dark Pinup series.

I only chatted to dirtyflapjack on Monday where she gave us an options on what NFT she will drop next ?

Really? Which is it? We're supposed to trade some artwork, but I'm definitely buying some too to support her work.

The one I want, she hasn't announced yet.

Its a Collab she posted on Twitter.

Oh that's with ultra horror I think

I think so.

I also tried to pick up up some of CryptoFlash's pieces but he mints super low and sells out super fast.

Have you done any Collab's yet ?

Yes, I have one right now with the Curator of Galeria NFT.

Oh cool has it dropped yet !!!!

Yes: https://neftyblocks.com/c/fanaticsuno1/drops/3871

That's is class looking

Who would be your dream Collab ?

I'm discovering talent daily on WAX as it continues to grow. I think my top two right now would be Dither who's also with Galeria NFT. (I own three of her pieces,) and D1rtyflapjak.

Because you have two different types of collections what is your favorite type to design ?

I like them both, but for different reasons. Pixl-Pops are super fun to design, dream up, plan, and the community that's building around them is super fun as well. The artwork I do I'd be doing regardless of minting. That's jut part of my nature and something I need to do, so I guess it's important on that level. I feel down, if I'm not drawing, painting, or creating something.

What is your favorite NFT you have designed ?

I'd have to say, Hell... Don't Burn! I love drawing that character.

Can we have a picture ?

I like that I can see why its your favorite . Was that a good seller ?

Yes, it sold out.

That's good is it part of a series ?

Kind of. Originally I had intended to create a series just around her or this style, but Once I started Pulp Friction she kind of fit in that collection. And yes, I have another one in the works right now, that I'm really excited for.

Do you have any new drops lined up for this week ?

Since I'm working two separate projects and a collaboration I feel like I always have drops and I'm always tired. There was a new drop in the Pulp Friction collection today and the second card for Season 2 of Pixl-Pops drops tomorrow.

So your always busy have you set up a Discord or Telegram channel to interact with the community ? And Twitter

Yes, and a really good group. Here's an invite link if you're reader's want to join: https://t.me/joinchat/0IMGFFuA9BA3ODQx

And you of course. You're welcome there!

https://twitter.com/monstercadet?s=20

I might pop in !!!!

How do you create your NFT's ? Are they hand drawn first ?

The Pulp Friction stuff is hand drawn. Sometimes out of sketchbooks, sometimes just on the iPad with the Pencil. Those never make it to Photoshop. The Pixl-Pop stuff I usually start on the iPad and then move into Photoshop or Aseprite for animation if needed. The card graphics were created in Affinity Designer.

What advice do you have for new artists?

Don't compare yourself to other artists, learn from them. Create art because you love it, learn the basics and practice, practice, practice.

Do you have any interest in crypto currency's ?

Yes, we were actually having a dialog about that in our telegram group earlier. I started buying Crypto sometime last year.

Oh interesting what coins you holding ?

I'm pretty diversified in Crypto overall. Largest percentage is in Bitcoin then Ethereum. I have smaller percentages in Cardano, Ecomi, XRP and some others.

You really do have a diverse collection .have you looked at any other markets for your NFT's like Hive or Juungle ?

I have but right now, there's not enough time in my day, and I don't want the current NFTs I'm creating to suffer from overextending myself. The only other project I'm developing that I'm excited for is an an Collectible Card Adventure game. It will also be on WAX. I'm taking that project really slowly, and looking to hire other artists to help.

I feel like I'm barely getting the hang of NEFTY and ATOMIC, not sure I want to dive into more markets yet. I'm sure once things catch up I'll give those a look. I've had several people reach out to me, too for collaborations but I've had to pass for now.

So you are looking for other artist to join you in your project ?

For the Adventure game, yes. I think I want hands off the art on that project to focus on the gameplay. I've reached out to a couple of artist friends, but it seems everyone is super busy these days, which for artists, is a blessing.

Of course what kind of adventure game you want to build ?

It's still in it's infancy, but as of right now, it's fantasy based. It'll be using card packs and blends. I'm hoping the guys at Nefty will introduce a random element soon, but even if they don't I think I have concept working, at least in my head. We'll see once I start testing.

I actually know a friend who is trying to develop a game to ?

On WAX?

Yea

Nice. I like the idea of using WAX. I like the challenge of limitations. Makes you think outside the box. I'm not a programmer so I'm confined to what Nefty is doing, which I don't mind.

I wish him luck and success, too!

What would you want your game to be like NFT controlled ?

It would be a progressive adventure, where you can level your character, find different locations, collect loot... all the classic elements of an adventure game, and it would work entirely with blends.

Cool is this just an idea or have you started working on it ?

I've started working on it. I have the basic mechanics down. I've approached a couple of artists for the artwork... It all really banks on that at this point. I might just draft dummy cards with stick figures just to test it first.

If you can get the mechanics working you could be on to a winner ?

I'm trying. I know I have a lot of testing ahead of me, but in theory I think it will work 🤞.

Any chance of a free drop or a lil competition for the readers ?

Sure. Anything you think your readers would like? I can giveaway a fish Taco or a first season Pixl-Pop which are rare right now.

Since your the artist IL let you decide ?

How about we do the Taco and the Pixl-Pop. I'm not sure how you want to work out the logistics of it.

Well we can do a google form where they follow both of us and retweet the article and we can do a draw

That works.

Tell us something random about yourself ?

I'm an enthusiastic sing-a longer to music while driving.

What your favorite song to sing to ?

Love all kinds of music but favorite to sing to... almost anything from the 80s.

When your not making NFT's what do you do for fun ?

Spend time outdoors. Hiking, camping, beach etc. Essential after sitting at the computer all week. I still draw for fun, too. iPad makes that possible anywhere or I always have a sketchbook handy.

Can we have a link to where we buy your NFT's ?

https://neftyblocks.com/c/pulpfriction/

https://neftyblocks.com/c/pixlpopheros/

Today 10:30 is the drop for a rare Pixl-Pop only 60 minted. Not sure if your story will be out time or not. Just wanted to give you a heads up.

So is there any thing you would like to add before we finish ?

Not that I can think of .

Thank you so much for your time and two win the pixl pop and taco fish enter here

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/160ccwd9aakK8q76CO1Js4xwhfsDHq_c6gDCRGUTUQo8/edit

Thank you for reading .

15
$ 22.84
$ 20.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @bitcoin
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
+ 7
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Great interview guys thanks for the mention!! keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome thanks for reading my article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll leave mine just incase i get lucky.. 😁

zocr4.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Enter the copetition

$ 0.00
2 years ago

done 😁..sorry didn't read the last part for the competition 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago