Meet the Artist Konceptonwax

13 208

Right this meet the artist artist is South African and they set up cat stickers in the NFT world who in turn helped me get this interview which I am very grateful for so without further a do lets meet this artist .

Hey

hey!

How you today ?

I'm doing pretty good, and you?

Cant complain no one will listen lol What you doing for the day

wait whose not listening?

Its a joke

I'm just chilling watching series and drawing some stuff got nothing much else planned

What you watching ? Are you drawing some stuff for a new NFT ?

I just finished watching a series called 'The Outpost' it was kinda bad but I need to have background noise while I draw I am currently working on a new pack, I plan on releasing around 25 different illustrations, with a few variations of each. I am wanting this to be a nice big pack for the people that like my art

Of course and I am guessing this will be a big project ?

I am hoping so, my last packs did quite well. So I am hopeful it will have a similar result. I do plan on releasing a bit more than last time. As some people were not able to get, and I really want to make sure that everyone who likes my art is able to at least get one pack

That's really good nothing worse then selling out and the community missing out

exactly, I don't want them to feel like they have missed out and the only way to partake in it is to buy them off the secondary market for expensive prices

Yea the secondary market can hurt your wax wallet . How did you discover NFT's in the first place ?

It was on new years, I was visiting some friends and they had been talking a lot about NFT's and how they were collecting and selling digital cards. I thought it sounded fun so I bought my first kogs s2 pack off the secondary market, I opened it and sold the contents. After that I kinda got hooked and then a couple months later I wanted to draw my own NFT's for people to collect and now I am having so much fun doing this! I hope that one day I can do this full time. I also plan on doing my own art tutorials in the future .

I also know you introduced Catstickers to NFT's

I work with her an a web design agency. And she was showing me her cat illustrations so I suggested that she should set up a wax account and try sell some of her drawings. At first I don't think that she believed me when I said people would buy her work, I think that her exact words were "I will eat my hat if someone buys my cat stickers". I am still waiting to see her eat that hat!!

Ha ha ha so how did you decide what kind of NFT's you were going to create ?

I just knew I wanted to do something anime related, and as I kept drawing I discovered new ways to draw. Currently I am really into using a lot of ink in my illustrations .

I am guessing your a big anime fan ?

I was back in high school, currently I draw more anime styled illustrations than I watch anime. There are anime series that I do still watch, like one piece, Gintama and a few of the other bigger series. But other than that I have kinda lost touch with what's happening in the anime world.

So being a web designer it helps with creating your NFT's ?

It has helped me, when I created my first pack, I released a website along with it and knowing web design definitely saved me from having to hire someone else to create the website .

Do you hand draw your NFT's ?

I draw all my NFT's on my iPad pro and an app called procreate. From there I import it into photoshop on my laptop and do some final edits before posting on social media

How long does each NFT take to create ?

It takes me between 5 to 9 hours to do a drawing, most of the time I spend scribbling down chicken scratches trying to figure out what to draw, but once I have an idea and its working I get into the zone

Any sneak peaks of your new NFT ?

sure! I post them on twitter, Instagram and in my discord channel Here is some of them that I have recently done

These are two that I completed over the weekend

Will they be in the packs ?

Yes these two will be in the packs that I am creating. Currently I have 8 illustrations out of the 25 done

How many cards will be in each pack ?

Currently I am not too sure, what I know for now is that I want to have 25 different illustrations and 3 variations of each one. So the normal - common, uncommon, rare and then have only 5 epic cards which will be a 1/1 .

Well you add blending into your theme or maybe a Collab into a pack ?

For this pack I am thinking about just having them as pre-minted digital collectables, no blending. But I am planning on doing some blending in the future just not for this pack .

How about Collabing ?

I have done a few collaborations in the past and I would definitely be open to doing more in the future! One that we recently have going is with cryptopups you can join their telegram here: https://t.me/cryptopupsworld They currently have this amazing collaboration going with multiple artists where they plan on giving most of the proceeds to uplift art for their school!

Telegram

World Of Cryptopups

You can view and join @cryptopupsworld right away.

Is there any artists you would love to Collab with ?

I have a few in mind

  • 1. Lewd Momo

  • 2 Catstickers

  • 3. Red Panda Adventures

  • 4. Magnta

  • 5. cryptofoxart

Its just trying to find the time to do them all. Currently I work a full time job and freelance after hours for 2 other people. So my weeks get a little busy.

Wow busy lifestyle I know most those artists good friends with one never heard of cryptofoxart will check him out

I have only ever spoken to two of them so far, lewd momo creator and catstickerss. I have see the other artists work and I really like their style and definitely want to support them. Cryptofoxart also does anime illustrations here on wax I have collected a few of the art pieces on my .wam account and think that they are really cool

Have you tired bringing anyone else into the NFT world ?

I tried to get my gf into it, she is a graphic designer and is also a pretty good illustrator as well, so I was hoping that she would be happy to sink her teeth into the whole NFT world. But her interest lasted less than a few days, she just wants to watch her 90 days to wed and whatever other reality show she watches while I draw

Ah that's a shame what kind of NFT would she have created ?

Her style is very simplistic, she likes to draw hands and animals mostly. They are very line based illustrations with one or two pieces of colour added into them. She actually did a few animal ones a while back, here is her twitter: https://twitter.com/madebytamica I ended up buying most of them as I wanted to encourage her to do the drawings, but it didn't last long before she 'gave up'

It looks like she is working on new work?

I hope she will get more into it, it would be really fun doing NFT's with her

Hopefully a Collab with yourself might help her get noticed !!!!!

That's exactly what I am thinking, maybe I should ask her to do a small collaboration with me for my packs

Just to help her to get her art noticed a bit more

That would be a great idea . Do you still collect NFT's or just create nowadays?

I have a few collections that I enjoy collecting. My favourite are:

  • 1. Kogs

  • 2. Creek

  • 3. Streetfighter

  • 4. Bitcoin origins

There are other collections that I have NFT's from, but not as many as these ones. I think I have collected over 600 Kogs NFT's!

I hope you have your Kogs staked

I have them all staked on rplanet, as well as my bitcoin origins I have some super rare cards from bitcoin and Kogs and I plan on keeping them until 2030

Love it so what is your favourite NFT you have created ?

Probably my first piece I ever did, its the one of the purple astronaut. It was the start of my NFT journey and I don't think that I would have gotten this far if I hadn't created it. But I am also enjoying some of the recent illustrations I come up with, I see my self improving every time I draw and it gets me excited!

Can we have a picture ?

Sorry it took me a while to find it, but here she is

This is the full version, I was originally planning on releasing her as a card, but decided to rather just do it as a circle sticker instead

Oh you should drop the full size

I am currently working on a rework for my new pack so the full sized one will definitely be included!

Of that makes sense so how do you like to interact with the community do you your channel ?

I have twitter:

https://twitter.com/konceptonwax

telegram: https://t.me/konceptonwax

Discord: https://discord.com/invite/RdWPT66FWp

I and most active on twitter though, I use telegram for work mostly so I don't really like to use my group on there incase I get distracted

Tell us something random about yourself ?

Oh gosh, something random... My favourite food is French toast (eggy bread) and Bovril . Most people don't like it, but I love it!

Oh god Bovril no thanks . When your not working or creating NFT's what can we find you doing for fun ?

I play a few games, like call of duty warzone and league of legends, otherwise I am either working or watching a series. I have just started a new series called "the new legends of monkey"

Cool must play a game cod with you some night I miss the days of MW2

MW2 was the best game I ever played, there has literally never been a better cod since then, but warzone is pretty close. I just wish there was not so many updates

Any advice for new artists coming into NFT world ?

Yeah, its a lot of hard work. If you want to start doing your own NFT's its like having another job, you will spend hours and hours working on your NFT's, but in the end it is worth it! You just need to stick through it and keep doing what you're doing! This is just the beginning of wax NFT's its only going to get bigger!

I think the major fall in crypto some people have got a little spooked !!!

100% agree, but crypto will always have its ups and downs, but we are still at the beginning so I am not worried

Either am I think NFT's are a great form of Art

Exactly, before I was hardly drawing, but getting into NFT's I feel as though I have this new drive and passion towards art. WAX has given me something amazing and I am truly grateful for it!

So NFT's have helped you express your artistic side ?

exactly!

Where can we find your NFT's for sale ?

https://linktr.ee/KonceptOnWax

Don't want to take up much more of your morning / afternoon so two questions left . Any chance of a small drop or a competition for the readers ?

Yeah I can do a drop, I will send you a link shortly

Brilliant thanks the readers will love it

how many would you like? 100?

Il let you decide Before I let you go is there any thing you would like to add ?

No I think that's it!

Thanks to konceptonwax here is a link to a free drop

https://neftyblocks.com/c/konceptonwax/drops/8273?key=5JgMbBmDqhrUVRB3E3V8ZdbC51BZPtdPLxp3RxSd2WwgdddSQ6U

Hope you enjoyed are chat and keep an eye out for his new packs coming soon

11
$ 25.98
$ 25.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 8
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Waaaah. They so cute and cool!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love this one. Been following the artist on Twitter already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well dnt miss his free drop in 13 mins

$ 0.00
2 years ago

WOW I didn´t see this one coming ;), nice interview mate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers bud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is just sooo nice!!!!! 😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a drop in a lil while

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I missed it. Already out of stock since internet got messed up but happy to those who got it. Better luck next time for me haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this interview

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love those pieces, really great interview!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a free nft in the morning make sure you check the link

$ 0.00
2 years ago