Meet the artist DrawnCompany

0 93
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, WAX, Artist

This really easy a brand new meet the artist as this artists only launched his collection on tuesday and I came across and his NFTs and they are really orginal idea .

Hey

Hello . Made it .

Ha ha . How's things ?

Really good . How are you ?

Good cant complain . Did you do much today ?

Well I’m still in isolation which has given me some time to work on DrawnCompany. I had some wicked chicken wings just before this - which was a particular highlight .

Oh god lol so how did the drawn company come about ?

Well! If I’m honest I had no idea it was a thing until Tuesday afternoon - I was locked up in bed with Covid (had watched James Mays Our Man in Japan) and thought fuck this - I want to change the world so I started work on the collection proper - I had already had the idea previously whilst working on isometrics for day job. The isometrics never got used and have been sitting there waiting to be taken out the box . So literally form my bed I created a collection, checked the requirement for the whitelist and went about the task . Can I share the original designs padded to my mates in November 2020 ?

Of course .

This the point of genesis! As you can see it started as panels with speech bubbles and Eve loved this week to what you see today . Bold sexy text and some funny captions and has Evolved to what you see today.

So it has been a long time coming . How did you discover NFTs ?

I had an itch to get into crypto and did . What really sparked my interest was that everyone I spoke to about crypto had no idea what an NFT was - they still don’t generally . I always regret not getting into YouTube at the time and I can see this been a similar type of thing - get in early, learn and become a master . I bought my first NFTS In October and have curated quite a collection of legendary and grail cards - primarily those with a physical redemption . It’s a new hobby .

Nice . Was WAX always the place you wanted to create a project ?

Well I did a lot of research and I settled on WAX as that was the most coinvent for the type of collectibles I was interested in - and it’s familiar so was easy to navigate in a short space of time - I’m fully aware of stuff like Opensea but I set a goal and wanted to get something up and live ASAP so I stuck to what I knew and tbh - I don’t regret it. Just for context there - I chose the platform when I was just interested in collecting October .

And what is the project about that ?

DrawnCompany is really a combination of sleek typography married with simple graphics and dark humor - it’s quite cathartic and let’s me explore some themes you would not normally be able to through other channels . That’s quite a pretentious answer . 😅

Lol .

I get to combine my talent for making people laugh and my graphical abilities (if that is even a word) . I was a born entertainer .

Of course did you struggle to get whitelisted ?

Well let’s say working in the field I do in the day job - we have to meet right requirements within the public sector so I understand how to skim requirements and ensure I understand what they want and give what they need! . I got there first time (with the exception. Of one school boy error) . We do have to bear in mind I had not created an NFT before Tuesday . I think it’s quite an achievement .

Its amazing what was the first NFT you listed ?

Well I followed the guide and made some templates first - the first NFT was Advice but I fucked up the template so I had make it again to ensure when minted it was correct.

It’s not easy .

Ha ha ha love it . Everyone makes them

You have to fail sooner so you can succeed quicker

Of course how many NFTs have you made so far ?

There are 13 in series 1 .

5 common cards all having a UV variant and two having other variants .

Nice will there be blends ?

As you can see, the variant is slightly different to other collections as I vary the text rather than the image for some and the image for others I added the whitelisted NFT as a bit of fun 🤩 . Ah sorry - no I’m going to blend . That’s one step to far at the minute I think + I have super awesome ideas for series 2 already . If you want the scoop?

Of course .

Here is series 2 map . So you can see I’ll follow the same theme and a sneak peak of a NFT .

Love it how long you going to wait for series 2 ?

I intend the text to type on the Kinect cards and I’m going to put Karen in Hyperspace (the lady photocopying her lady bits)

Lol .

Well I want to start work ASAP! I’m aiming for a launch at the start of Feb -but maybe March .

Don't pressure yourself . What is the process behind creating your NFTs ?

So I have lots of ideas 24/7 I’m always being creative in one way or another - with DC, I starting with titles for the Panels and maybe themes! One I’m defiantly exploring is a little shop that sells a variety of eyewear and fucking headphones (not forgetting coloured backgrounds) - a place where NFT animals might shop . I want explore what happen if the NFT animals where shot dead in cold blood whilst shopping - thinking Pandas and Monkeys first

I also let things flow - I think Karen will become a bit of victim as the story evolves . It’s mainly brain farts . You just experienced one .

How long does each NFT take to create ?

That depends maybe 10 minutes - I have a lot of assess in the bank I have never used so it’s about looking at what I have and creating something with that / however series 2 will be a lot more bespoke . Theme first , Idea , Then artwork . Not the other way around .

And is there room for collabs ?

Yes huge potential but as a new player on the scene I will have to cut my teeth first I guess - I am already setting up NFTS for my brothers twitter page but I think these will be completely separate as he is into retro football shirts .

Do you collect NFTs ?

Yes 🙌🏻 I’m doing the Funkos but I’m guessing that’s mud in the community .

Mmm no comment .

There is so much cool stuff to explore . And I have said it for a long time - my son won’t have a panini sticker album he will go to ASDA with grandma - scan his pad and receive packs of NFTS cards with a virtual album on his tablet that’s the end game here I think I am also of the opinion pads will be given out like sticker albums are now for that very purpose the potential is huge this the dawn

Total agree I think NFT is the future .

It most certainly is .

What have you enjoyed about creating this project ?

I enjoy the creating but this is what I really love .

The dude asking about Karen I have created something that people interact with I have reached and touched someone they found it funny and are interacting . Let’s make everyone smile again . I like the fact that I started with five quite mundane panels and we already started to create something of a cult filling around the theme

What has been the hardest part of the project ?

I guess the technical side of things - there is lot to learn and very little help on the web. What seems common place to some is just plain inaccessible - the hardest part was working out how 1. I opened a wallet in the first place 2. The general ecosystem . It’s not easy to the outsider . No help online .

You learn from your mistakes lol

Yes you do .

What is the long term plan of the project?

I need to make some sales to start and go down there. I started to create a road map for 2022 but I think that’s a step to far! I am going ahead with series 2 and if that’s success we can look at bigger things . Most of all I want to have things on the blockchain I have created so I can say to my son - daddy did that before everyone else did .

Would you like this to be full time in the future ?

No no no . Then it won’t be fun anymore / if it gets to a point where it’s a success I would employ people and just do the fun creative bits in my spare time . Keep it fun.

Has this made you more interested in crypto ?

Yes - tbh it triggered my interest in the first place! I don’t think without NFTs, I would be that interested - I have been digital for at least 10 years playing games like FIFA FUT AND hearthstone (both NFTS of sorts) . I think it’s a lot easier for those who have already surrendered the physical to get into - we forget it’s a big step for most people and just seems like nonsense when you try and explain it .

What you like to do to unwind ?

I run… a lot but tbh this is my new hobby for 2022. I also do a lot of LEGO and entertain my 2 year old son

What your family think of the project ?

They are confused - I asked all my family and friends who had a wax account and only one friend did - a few do crypto but not that many - it’s a hard concept to sell to even those who have bitcoin and Etherum - it’s very much fringe . I am trying to educate though .

Good man tell us something random about you ?

I once tried to sell Data from Star Trek transformers at a transformers - I did not who he was and was truly gutted when I found out it was the actor who played doctor Okun in Independence Day . It was a hard sell too other people at the convention frowned #StarTrekFans .

Lol . Where can the community keep up with the project ?

https://twitter.com/FunnyNFTGuy?t=zajVaJ_qPpZks-qzBDKWKg&s=09 on Twitter that’s my only channel at the min Karen will be there 🤣 .

Where can we buy your NFTs ?

On AtomicHub at the moment

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=drawncompany#sales

I have single NFTs and bundles for sale .

Any chance of a drop or competition for the readers ?

Yes let’s do it I will give 3 readers compelte sets of common cards

Perfect what they have to do to ?

To win come up with a theme for a final series 2 panel .

Perfect . Before we finish up is there anything you like to add or say ?

Just thank you so much for your support yesterday! It made realize this is actually a thing, has value and could be a success . Thanks for the Belief .

Anytime it was a pleasure .

So guys check his work out they will give you a laugh follow him on twitter and here is the link to are competition .

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1480354464129245184?t=LORszy9z-i5K_Cw2zdQvvA&s=19

7
$ 15.36
$ 15.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: NFT, WAX, Artist

Comments