Meet the Artist DaPrankster

9 109

Really got to love this community I love new artists getting in touch or artists telling me to check out an artist I always will and this how this article came about dont be afraid to reach on my twitter or my telegram IL leave both at the bottom . But lets get back and meet the artist .

So lets introduce you whats your name ?

My name is Alan but I go by Da Prankster in the Wax world in honour of Ken Kesey and the Merry Pranksters .

So where you from ?

America born in Altanta and now live in Texas

Whats your Twitter account ?

https://twitter.com/pranksterdrops?s=09

Lads give him a follow

So are you on Telegram and have your own site ?

t.me/pranksterdrops

And I currently dont have a site

So what you working at til you can go full time in here ?

Currently i am a Mercedes salesman. But nobody grows up wanting to be a carsaleman

Hope your driving a merc for your troubles

Lol those employee deals aren't what they used to be

I bet

I am old enough to know my strengths and weeknesses what I would really like to do is save up the money for a decent computer and hire a Manager. Running the shill and building a brand all by yourself is tough

I know but we all start some where and I would love to be running my own site running my meet the artist and have artists bios up there with there lastest series and stuff

That would be dope. I definitely see my self leaving my job with in 6 months to pursue art full time .

Brilliant think about the nft community more so wax is they are so supportive

Omg the ETH gas fees are rediculos i tried to burn the one piece I had on rarible , and it was going to cost me money . WAX has been a life save the community has incredible

Ha ha ha you should try juungle its on the bch blockchain its quite cheap . And yes the community is great

Constantly people helping giving advice .

I know its great

Are you familiar with the team at NeftyBlocks.com?

No are they good

They have really streamlined the Atomic Hubs APIs they have a Telegram group i am sure they would love to chat with you about their tools . With regards to the WAX NFT community though I think i do have one tiny bit of criticism . And mostly it has to do with Atomichub . The issue is that Atomic Hub is not really meant to be an art gallery . There is no one there with an art history background which to me causes issues when mobs cry "BlackListThem!"

So do you think there should be more then one site running of the wax network with a more offical running

Here in Dallas we have a gallery run by resident artists that host shows of their work but also the community, it would be nice to see something like that with WAX

Like a virtual gallery ?

Yes

Thats interesting how would it run charge people 1 wax to enter for up keep of the site ?

That is a good question, maybe.even charge more wax for the opportunity to see and bid on special curated exhibits, that would solve the Bot problem we have . That being said i think the community is not ready for that yet. Everyone seems to be on a bit of a pink cloud with hugs, drugs, and love

Ah the 70s in the art world 😂🤣🤣🤣 So how bout the artist have to x amount to put the art in there ?

Bots are ruining free drops buts thats atomic hub issue

I think that is fair it is basically just like buying ram . The harder part is going to be educating consumers and artists why the gallery system is still important . But the good news is that being blockchain it could some how be a decntralized gallery like maybe you for example you just have to stake X amount of a certain WAX based crypto to display your work

I think artist would be intrested and i think consumers are ready and have it based on staked wax is good idea

Did we just start a multinational business! Lol

Its something i had been thinking about

Well i think the team at Nefty blocks might be the people to chat with about that, and then of course a smart contract writer

So lets chat more about you have you always been artistic ?

No, i really struggled in early school to find my calling, it wasn't until I was 18 that a group of reaserchers told me to go and make becuase i was good at composing different things together

Cool so you enjoy art so ?

Definitely . Even after having a wife and kids i could never stop drawing on the back of my business cards and would spend hours making 8 bit gifs on my phone while board at work

Ha ha and what does the wife think of this

She just knows i am making money selling NFT's not that they promote the shamless use of Psychadelic drugs

So will you stay making those NFT's will you change it up ?

I have a small following but i am trying to mix it up not everything can fall under that category. I have always seen myself as more of the Bruce Nauman type of contemporary artist . But I mean most people in the NFT art world seem to idolize banksy and shepard fairy . Richard tuttle is another one my biggest influences

I really love the mundane obscurities of life but finding the audience for that on Atomic hub is a challenge.

So you want to change your direction of your design ?

Definitely but i value my fans that I want to make sure that they come along the ride to, so it will be a gradual shift

Any change you have a sample of one and we can get some feed back ?

Of my more obscure work? Or what I am currently working on?

Both if you

Here is an oil painting i did years ago

I think it is 5ft by 5ft

So its small there is a market for that in the nft world . This is true but small doesnt help me quit my day job. I think my newer series of Bad Scifi movie theme work will help make the transition

The later one I keep telling people buy that it's only 50wax in 4 years it will be a museum piece

But people love Sex Drugs and rock and roll

The first one has a look of war of the worlds and not the tom cruise one

Love them

Thank you that is the feel of what i was going for. When you look at rarible every other NFT has jubulent astronaut i was trying to capture the inverse of that, Do something different and flip the script .I think the other thing about my work is that it is all done on a phone, it makes it very challenging I am using $2.00 stylus and free aps to try and recreate screen prints and oil paintings

That impressive

What programs are you using ?

Adobe draw, photo shop mix, adobe capture, Canva. Any free gif maker.

So what kind of phone you using to create this nfts on ?

Honestly I will use any useful program, I am almost to a point where i am alittle worried about being spoiled if i get a PC Nothing to fancy a OneTouch 6+ . Lol not even an iphone

Thats just means you will have to step up your game when you get a pc lol

I have never heard of one touch lol

It is a flagship Android device that cost half as much as a samsung . They are really great becuase they dont have any preloaded bloat ware

I would be lost without my samsung !!!!

So are you open to collabs ?

Yes . At first i thought I wouldn't like to but the artist I am friends with have a general consensus Make Shit Look Cool .

So who would be your dream collab ?

Hmmm you know I would love to do a Colab with Basquiat . But he is lost to us !!!!

So how many sets collections do you have out and how many more planned ?

I think i am just going to stick with cooolaidtest collection, i am very intuitive so who knows

I would love to get a groupnof artist together to creat a new collection but each of us with our own schemas

Have you put it out there ?

Trying to find the right crew, i think it . The only way to take on the collectibles market . I mean freaking Alien Horrors today sold out in actual seconds and thats what we need to be able todo

Well there is a few of the lads i have chatted to and they are always collabing together

This is true but i haven't seen a group come together yet to launch a rocket at Atomic hub . To be taken more seriously

I think if another site came along atomic might clean up there act

You are right, and I am encouraged to see that someone else sees some flaws in AH

Well its not a market if there is only one site

Well when you get your dAPP up I will be the biggest promoter . Until then just have to tip toe around the devs at AH

Are you whitelisited on there ?

I am and to me it is kind of rediculos the disclaimers they put on the pieces to be honest we all want to say that they are not corporate BS but they are and honestly they would have blacklisted andy warhol

I think they are afraid of copyright issues to be fair

Have you tired to get lisited on token heads ?

I was going to fill out there application but there a section about being W for everyone and my work is not E for everyne

Have you joined there telegram chat ?

Not yet i will though

So what is your favourite nft you own ?

That is hard i buy them but i give them all away to give back to the community

So you have none you hold that you want to keep for yourself ?

I had a proffser in college . He had us all bring in our favorite piece of art . The assignment was to destroy it . The lesson dont let yourself get over attached to things . And on the bright side when i give away a Senor Lupe to someone who really wanted, it makes me happy

Now if something like this was an NFT

I would never let it go. I think i might be a bit of an old school artist at heart

What is the best way to promote oneself?

I have been doing a ton of free drops to build market presence

And just recently started doing blends where ppl have to track down the nfts that were free and burn them to mint the new ones

Like this one my followers had to go buy and burn my work https://nft-blender.com/cooolaidtest/96935

So how long you been making NFT's ?

Hmmm 2 or 3 months

Ok cool what was your first NFT you made can you show us ?

.....it got black listed.... But i was doing unfortune cookies at the time. Give me a second i might still have the image available

Ha ha ha

Lol you probably dont even know who smash mouth is

Of course I do !!!!!

But i just thought it was funny so I made it . Ummm they were the band that wrote the song that like you couldn't in eacape in the US for an entire year . And then my work kind of got more detailed rapidly . I thought everything had to be like a "Card" sticker etc...

They are really good

No problem just got the template for next concept piece

So how long does it take for thought to finishing a NFT ?

I have ADHD, so I cant stop thinking Alot of the time i will make an NFT and then use the bottom layer like canvas And just re wrap the flesh . Like the DaDa Poem schema I fell in love with the hello my name is sticker

Lol like that shits makes me laugh

Sometimes I can make an NFT in 5 Mins or a day it just depends

What advice do you have for people trying to become an NFT artist ?

Three things

1. Be carful the market is not ment to be an art market.

2. Learn about art history, study where we have come from.

3. For fuck sake try and do something different then what everyone else is doing.

Bonus: don't make pictures of dragons

Where can we buy your NFT's ?

My collection name on Atomic hub is cooolaidtest

@prabinchds://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/collection/cooolaidtest

Is atomic only place to buy yours ?

Yes . Unless some body wants to contact me directly

So what hobbies you have not including NFT's ?

What ever my wife tells me to do I am pretty wiped

🤣🤣🤣🤣 🤣

What do you do for fun when your misses lets you off the leash ?

Video games and high performance 3D printed nerf blasters

What video games ?

League of legends wild rift, and arena of valor

Pc gamer ?

Nah phone gamer

Oh god you do live on your phone ?

Its terrible I really need a pc

Yea or even a laptop

So il be putting this up on read.cash do you know it ?

I am unfamiliar but learning new stuff every day

Dont worry il be dropping a link to you to the article any way

Have you got your kids involved with nfts yet or they to young ?

They are alittle to young for the grungy stuff, but I would love to see their school have like a fund raiser with kids art selling the NFTs

Do you have any other crypto currency bar wa

Bro I got Rekt leverage trading listening to Bitboy crypto and the rest of the gang. Didnt like hurt me financially but i have decided to just keep to my art

Nice cant go wrong so

How do you feel about funko pop coming into wax world ?

There is a good and a bad to all of it. But..... My issue is that companies keep doing credit card payment drops instead of WAX drops . It is counter productive to DeFi to offer fiat listings. Over all it is a good thing because it does grow the wax community, but i mean why not just make it easier to buy WAX

I agree it will bring new fans in and hopefully might bring changrs of how to buy wax

My moto is only hate on people making dragon artwork

Why is that ?

Have to stand against something

We all have to have a dislike lol

I mean big foot is cooler

Agreed !!!!

I think Grendel would be a way better focus then dragons

There are just better creatures from our mythology that have more depth to them

So do you fancy doing a free giveaway for the readers ?

Of course so follow me and you and retweet this article on twitter and tag us both and drop there wax in a comment .a winner will be picked 48hours

Last question anything you would like to add or say to the community ?

In the words of NOFX democracy Don't work in mental institutions

I really just want ppl to educate themselves

Right guys please show this guy some love as always and IL see you next time

https://twitter.com/Crackers832?s=09

@Crackers83 telegram

If you know someone I should chat contact me

11
$ 9.23
$ 8.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
+ 5
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

Loving this series

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers mate when you goin to star writing again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.. I'll give him a follow 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha “Hello my name is sticker”😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"That is hard i buy them but i give them all away to give back to the community" A good artist Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Show him support on twitter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congrats for another great interview

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago