Meet the Artist behind Voodoods

10 241
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: Artist, WAX, NFT

So I have I hunted down this project because there are NFTs are they are quite creep but cute so I had to chat to him about his project and from the sounds of what he has planned for the project he could be on to a winner have a read and see what you think .

G'day mate 👌 Haha .

Hey how's it going ? and going with the Aussie hello lol . Its Monday night where you are did you do anything exciting today ?

Nothing too interesting really, scanned a heap of family photos for my father and sorted out an Atomichub whitelisting . Oh and played too many games on the pc that Apex legends has me hooked .

Ha ha ha busy day so . Never really played apex legends . Are you just applying for whitelisting ?

Applied and completed, the voodoods collection is whitelisted, Atomichub are surprisingly fast considering how many requests they go through . Only the big volume collections get verification, so maybe one day 😄.

Of course everyone hopes or aims for that ! How did you discover NFTs ?

Back when crypto kitties was a thing and was jamming up Ethereum, I never really got into them until much later though, Technically I think the first NFT I actually owned was on EOS, It was back when everyone on lightning network were passing around their torch (just a heap of satoshi)

So I made a none divisible single token on EOS, we passed it around a few hundred people, but that got boring quick though, fast eosio chains kinda take the thrill and anticipation out of an event like that .But my first real deal NFT would have to be from Blankos block party, After that I got heaps into the crypto Finney project on wax, I'm a big fan of the guys at writer, so dropping my tribalism and ego kinda helped me dive deeper into wax and NFT .

Ah so you jumped in with Ethereum that must of been expensive . You have been on EOS as well and I did chat to Blankos block party loved his project. When did you decide to jump into creating ?

I've decided many times, never really followed through though 😄 I'm a world class procrastinator when it builds down to it, But recently I got heavily back into my art, toyed around with a few ideas, but decided this would be a good bit of extra game theory on top of the standard jpegs that are going around .

Ah so what's the idea around the project?

Most NFT projects receive a trading fee for their collection, That goes back to the projects wallet to be used for whatever the project lead chooses (further the project or buy Gucci idk 😅)

With Voodoods, 50% of all accumulated fees for the months go towards a lottery that is paid to 1 lucky holder of a Voodoods NFT, The remaining 50% is then rolled over into next months lottery to kick off that accumulation higher and earlier,

Have been discussing rolling over 40% and using 10% to buy back and burn though that's not settled upon . On top of that, we aren't actually selling any NFT, they are being given away freely, so we stand to gain nothing of value other than a community (potentially)

Oh so you are creating a lottery system for holding your NFTs that's sounds interesting and will you do the draw live?

Live preferably, Haven't fully decided on how we will do it yet, but whichever way it ends up being it'll be verifiably fair and honest .

You could do a twitch stream ?

Definitely could, maybe a monthly marble race 😄

So your NFTs design what gave you that idea ?

The lottery or the imagery? The lottery game theory just kinda fell in my lap when I noticed the collection fees, I wondered if there was a way to use those as an incentive rather than to fill my pocket

That's one way to give back to the community and the imagery ?

I toyed around with just making actual lottery ticket imagery, but that was very unsatisfying and boring, So I put the idea to the side and kept drawing away, a few months passed and I was introduced to someone at a class I was attending, he had this little outline tattoo on his forearm of a sort of voodoo doll looking thing, it was very basic, but I knew as soon as I seen it that it was an idea I wanted to run with .

Cool and how many have you created so far ?

Close to 100 completely original characters so, we haven't wanted to release many as of yet, would rather keep some ammunition in store so if the project works out there's ways to keep things interesting . As for the NFT / asset themselves, we've only minted 20 each of the 8 released characters .

Ah when the next NFT coming out ?

Well at the moment there's talk of release a few more, that could be this week or the coming weekend .

What is your favorite NFT you have created ?

Hmm probably this guy

He was the first one I ever sold so he's got a spot inside me always . But out of Voodoods it has to be be him

Jack'O wins me every time .

That is quite creepy but cute .

Haha thanks .

How did you create him ?

Well I do have a pc with all the gadgets to make great art (tablets and what not) But I mostly enjoy drawing using my Samsung note20 and Autodesk sketchbook .

How long does it take to create ?

Some are faster than others, but I cam usually draw an entire character (after the idea is formed) in about 3-4 hours .

What programs you use to polish the NFT ?

Basic stuff really, a background eraser, Paintshop pro, picsart . Most of its free to use except Paintshop . But a free alternative to that would be gimp .

Have done any collabs ?

I have made a Dood inspired by crypto Finney and a few other things like that, but no collaborations yet .

Are you open for them and who would be your dream collab ?

Yeah definitely, hmmmm dream collab would probably be @Blankos . Would be stoked to see Jack'O as a blanko haha 😅 .

What your family think of your project?

My family doesn't really show a heap of interest in this sort of stuff so I haven't bothered to discuss it with them .

Tell us something random about yourself ?

I've played guitar for about 19 years, been in a heap of bands and recorded a lot of music .

What do you like to do for fun when your not creating ?

Playing guitar, Apex legends, or sneaking in a workout .

Where you like to keep the community updated ?

The telegram channel or Twitter is the best place, the projects just getting started so best to get in early and maybe help out,

https://twitter.com/TheVooDoods?s=20

https://t.me/Voodoodshodl

What advice do you have for new artists?

My advice would be to ask questions, hassle anyone who is doing what you want to do, get a plan together and make sure it'll work before you go minting pointless stuff that won't work, I bumbled around on my own minting silly things and working it out, but it wasn't till I actually talked to people who knew, that it all came together

Can we have links to where we can buy your NFTs ?

I'm not selling, but others that have received them in contests are selling some on Atomichub

https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=voodoodshodl&order=desc&schema_name=voodoods1&sort=created&symbol=WAX

Any chance of a drop or competition for the readers ?

Definitely, how about the next 40 people who joins the Voodoods telegram and drops your name in my DMs will get sent a claim link .

Is there anything else you would like to add or say to the readers ?

Get a Dood!

Thanks to this crazy Aussie for taking his time to chat to me about his project check him out on Twitter on Telegram I like the project and its not costing you a think to grab his NFTs . So if you want to grab one of his NFT join in his Telegram and mention me .

31
$ 19.75
$ 18.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @bmjc98
+ 16
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
2 years ago
Topics: Artist, WAX, NFT

Comments

Do vodoos really exist or they are just fictitious beliefs?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lil scary, but nice. Followed twitter and joined TG 💙

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I joined I love scary stuff

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool arts, I joined the tg 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cool art

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another cool artist, thanks for this 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Where's the TG link

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the NFTs, @Crackers! And of course, to the artist!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That looks good n cute po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago