Meet the Artist behind old-world.money

13 98

So this artist is a lover of old coins and the history of them he likes to create little hunts and I have to say they look really fun and he is was very happy to discuss his project and about himself so strap in and lets learn something new

hey

here

how you today ?

A hard one, I had 16km walk πŸ˜‚

Nice how come ?

The morning walk in the park with my little girl and the few short trips around the city. Lately I love to walk instead of taking the car or the bike.

Good for the head .

Plus, I'm in an virtual contest to cross Romania from West to East, 983 km, so my 16km for today counts for that contest.

Where you live ?

I'm from Romania, Timisoara City

Oh cool how far have you covered so far ?

Around 55%, so close to 550km . I helped the guy who organize this, I did the design for the medal also so I want it in my collection, I want to earn it .

Nice did you do any NFT work today ?

No, not yet. I will do after I will finish this .

What will you be working on ?

I must do the NFTs from the Sunday drop and I will do a membership NFT. Many people are not from Europe and 7PM UTC is kind of hard for them to get it. So I want to do a membership thing, you pay up in advance for one month and you will get the NFTs straight to your wallet, no need to stay 4AM late to get the drops .

That's a really good idea well lets start at the start how did you discover NFTs ?

Well, about one year ago I wanted to learn about crypto a bit, as an investment. But I let it out quickly, my little brother didn't and in March this year I've started to talk about crypto with him more and more until one day he told me "you know the guys I did the logo for them, flow blockchain? they have something massive now, is called NFTs with NBA" . I looked a bit and few days later YouTube sent a video to my feed about Alien Worlds, I've showed to my brother and we started to play a little just to see what's what.

From Alien Worlds we went to R-Planet, and then we got some free NFTs.

And I started to love the idea, I'm a old graphic designer with 13+ years of experience and I wanted to make my own thing, my style. I had few ideas and this one with the money stick to me as I'm a coin collector in real life.

Ah so you brought something you love into the crypto world ?

Yes, I'm a coin collector since I was a kid. I think I got my first foreign coins at around 8 years old. My Grandfather gave it to me.

Do you have many coins ?

And I did this collection to send the bug to others as well, and teach them the importance of money in history, and how money can teach you history. Right now no, when I've moved from Bucharest to Timisoara I've sold some or gave it away. I had few thousands then . Now I only have few collection and I try to concentrate on those

Oh so why did you choose WAX for your project ?

I love WAX, there is a big community. The blockchain itself is designed for collectibles NFTs and game lovers. And WAXP is a good token, is not very expensive so many can get in. The fees are low

This project is an educational one, so I need to make the NFTs cheap and easy to collect because I want more people to get it, so they can learn through this. If I would do on ETH or any other expensive blockchains it would be for profit and way to expensive.

So this is a learning project ?

Yep. We sold around 14k NFTs so far and the profit is around 800 WAX so far πŸ˜‚

Oh wow that's impressive ?

I hope that some people can make money from it, because in coin collection everyone is also a trader. You buy more coins and sell some so you can afford the ones you don't have in your collection .I remember when I was 12-13 years old, me and my older brother went often to old cars market or flea markets. We would buy like 5 coins, sell then 3 or 4 to cover the expenses and keep one. The next week we would do it again. Coin collection can teach people about how to handle money, how to get profit out of money. And on top of that they will learn history and a bit of a lot of languages as you need to know how to identify and read all the coins and banknotes from around the world.

Your happy for NFTs to be sold at profit ?

Absolutely!! I think every collection needs traders. They will do a lot of advertising to the collection they believe in. I know many people don't like flippers, I'm not one of them. I know they put hard work to make a profit, they will read and learn about the collections , they will bring extra to any collection. The downside is that on some projects the collectors may have to pay extra, only on some projects... many times failed flippers allow people to get it cheaper πŸ˜‚

Of course so how many different NFTs have you created so far ?

  • Around 60-65.

  • 56 are coins, 3 are numismatics lessons.

  • 1 coin set

  • 1 pack

  • 2 promos

so 63 is the magic number oh no 66, forgot about the keys and the 100 WAX prize for the Coin Hunt .

Wow and how old is your project ?

Is just and infant, one month and half I've made it public on 23rd of May .

And you have made 66 that's a lot . How often you trying to drop ?

We have this "strategy" that each coin has 3 drops, Sunday, Wednesday and one month after the 2nd one. And we get out 3 NFTs per week. Plus we have one Lesson per month that is about 60% of the whole inventory the other 40% is a small community game we did these days 26 NFTs, each coin has one letter of the alphabet on it, these are rare coins from 2018-2019.

  • There were 500 packs, each pack had 10 coin NFTs. And people had to from words with it.

  • GUINEA got you Very Rare 1 Guinea from 1813

  • SOVEREIGN got you a Very Rare 1 Sovereign 1821

  • And the whole alphabet got you 5 Pounds 1893

  • People had to blend those words/letters plus a key

So that's how we got so many NFTs in a short period of time .

Ah so this more of a game and puzzles ?

Yep. I'm calling a NFT Community game because those keys are not in the packs . Those are separate, 8 twitter accounts had those and each account made giveaways, contests etc. to give out the keys You had to go on a "hunt". It was fun .

When will the next one start ?

The plan is to get a Coin Hunt for each country we approach. We did this UK Edition. The next one might be in October or so as we plan to get out the second country in September . There will be totally different, different concept, different partners .

Oh brilliant can I ask what was your favorite NFT you have made ?

Hmmm I think this.

This coin hunt had the theme "pirate" and at the half of the game we had a surprise blend. You got the above NFT and the Map. I like it a lot, that coin was meant to be used in this coin hunt, was perfect for it.

How long did it take to create ?

Right now we have 5 templates so it doesn't take long to create one NFT, maybe like 1 hour or so. We have few partners that they have huge photo galleries and they let us use it. We then must think of the 2-3 line of description On every NFT there is a small section where we say the context this coin was minted or how many were minted. A short history.

So each NFTs give you a bit of background ?

Yes, I think is important to know why a coin was minted or why is rare, common or very rare. For example, 1 Guinea 1813 is a very rare one as only 80.000 were minted and only to pay an army from abroad so most of them were melted . And it was the last time they minted that type of coin because the gold in it was valued at 1.2-.1.4 pounds and the coin value was 1.1 pounds πŸ˜‚

In 1813 they had to pay up an army and is was funny as hell they have negotiated a price and after that, they chief was like, and we want only new minted Guinea coins

Il give you credit you know your coin history !

so the Brits had to pay a lot more than they negotiated πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Ok I'll stop with that πŸ˜‚

No its great . What programs you use to create ?

Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Premiere Pro some elements are from Illustrator but there were made only once .

Have you done any Collabs ?

I think is kind of hard to do collaborations as this is a very specific collection, is not art. And to be honest, I'm a new guy around and only now I've started to know people around.

Well if you could do a Collab is there one artist you wouldn't say no to ?

Hmmm, that's a hard one! There are few collection I love, like the one from Ultra Rare UK also the Monsters of Rap .

They are two great projects on WAX . Have you looked at other markets to expand your project ?

I had an offer on the table to migrate to another blockchain... pass! I really think WAX is the best for this project. Another plus for WAX is that we back all our NFTs with WAX at the coin face value. Not many blockchains allow that. We do that so the NFTs behave like real money and it keeps the market value high. And if move the project to ETH... if I put 1 ETH in the 1 pound NFT, who would buy it? It will be so expensive and the educative goal is lost.

Of course they are great reason to stay in the WAX blockchain . Can we have a sneak peak at the next NFT to drop ?

I can show you the coin will be used, if you want .

happily

Is the coronation coin of Queen Elizabeth II .

when is that coming out ?

This Sunday, 7PM UTC (18TH JULY )

This one and two other coins as we get 3 new coins each week.

Ah so is your brother still involved in the project ?

Yep, Every idea is discussed with him, He is always my backup when I can't do something.

Oh that's great . Have you learnt many lesson since you start ?

Oh yeah. And we plan to use those lessons for some collections that we want to do, not sure when but somewhere in the future.

I am guessing your family are very supportive of the project ?

I have a deal with my wife, I can do it if I don't waste family time πŸ˜‚

Ha ha ha that's a fair deal lol . Tell us a random fact about you ?

I'm the man who know the most useless informations πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

You must be great for quiz's so . What do you do for fun when your not creating NFTs ?

I like to play with my kids, play any sports or board games with friends, read a lot of "useless" stuff about cars, science, watches etc And yes, I'm good a quizs πŸ˜‚

How do you keep up with your community ?.

We have a discord server but there were no time for it, I've talked with a guy to help out and he may start to be admin in the next few days.

https://twitter.com/oldworldmoney

https://old-world.money/

https://discord.gg/p6GzAtDx

Cool . Any chance of a drop or a give away for the readers ?

Yeah, I would love to. I will look at the inventory to see what goodies I can send.

Oh brilliant thank you . So before we finish up is there anything you would like to say or tell the readers ?

I think they had a lot of me already πŸ˜‚ Read, educate yourself and don't take anything too serious, it will spoil the fun πŸ˜‚

That's a fair point thank you for taking the time chatting to me .

Thank you!!

No thank you

To win 4 of his brilliant NFTs enter below or drop your wax below and don't forget to keep an eye out for his next hunt .

https://twitter.com/Crackers832/status/1419446677904269316?s=19

16
$ 7.78
$ 6.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @tired_momma
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
+ 12
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

good read as usual vfzdy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank wait til 2night it has a great nft for free

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm enjoying these interviews.

nizfc.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thx ☺️ 4nxeg.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice again I was following this one for a while now rx2r4.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice he is lovely guy with a great fun project

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the sheer number of NFTs sold is mighty mighty impressive

.ytqy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All these great interviews. I kinda regret not clicking on them before in noise. 1ccb2.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yey. Thank again .axr.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Old world money looks cool..

4ibr2.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can I do magnet fishing for this coins? up.aw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you @Crackers for another awesome interview and OldWorldMoney is super cool! I love old money too but I accidentally throw a bag of old coins, still hoping I can buy some in the auction. πŸ˜… Cheers!

24ea.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago