Meet the Artist behind Humbledrawing

33 139

So this meet the artist is a no brainer for me I have been annoying Humble for interview for a while we met through @SillyPsyBen in his discord channel I loved humbles NFT's but at the time when I asked for an interview he wasn't ready so I told I would be back and this time he was more than happy to chat thank god

Just before we get into chat IL let humble explain the dynamics of humbledrawings

Well Sara is the artist of humble, she´s my older sister. I (Kenneth) manage the techinical stuff, twitter, discord and getting the art digitalized, as she is not a very technical person. Guess we´re kind of a team, the real art is made by Sara, the blend we dropped last night and the special editions of humblehouses have been made by me (Kenneth) with sara´s blessing of course.

Sorry if it´s a bit confusing 😁

So I sent some questions to kenneth for his sister to answer ......

1. Where did the design for humbledrawings come from ?

Well, I´ve been painting and drawing most of my life. The idea to get my art made to NFT´s was actually Kenneth´s. Our first NFT was the HumbleHouses, my little colourful wonky houses.

They became the foundation for HumbleDrawing´s and where we are today. I honestly did not think people would spend money on these paintings I make, Kenneth was the one convincing me to let him try to release the first one,

and then it kind of just went from there. I´m still amazed and absolutely grateful that people actually buy and like my art.

I´ve been told before over the years that i should try to sell some of my art and that it looks great, but I´ve always been a little hesitant on it, until now at least.

2. Are they all hand drawn before they are finished in a program ?

Every piece of art we release is handmade, our specials are made from these analog physical paintings as well. A good camera is used to take a picture of and digitalize the art.

The originals we release usually get a boarder of sorts put on, and then the HumbleDrawing´s writing.

If you look close in the bottom corner on most pieces there is a signature either SVC or SvvR, depending on when the art was made (Marriage, so change of last name)

3. How many programs you using to create the NFT's ?

Kenneth is the one who puts boarders etc on the art, as I´m not very technical

For now, only one program is used, and that is gimp. It was recommended by someone in the NFT community (SillyPsyBen) and is so far pretty good for someone new to editing photos.

In the future other programs will be added, we´d like to try making something cool with animations.

4. How long does each NFT take to create from thought to being for sale ?

It takes a few days to be satisfied with the actual NFT, the paintings can take a great deal longer to make, depending on which painting it is,

there are multiple layers and they have to cure in between each other. And of course sometimes mistakes happen, and that takes time to correct too. Having a full time job on hand pushes how long it takes to make as well. I also like looking at them for a few days, just to be sure, that I’m satisfied with them.

So some paintings can take several days to make, others can take weeks depending on the complexity of it.

5. Are you background staff or do you get a say ?

Kind of both, Kenneth manages the socials we´re on, and the making of special editions. But I do get a final say in what gets released as NFT´s, and Kenneth usually asks if he has suggestions for something.

I do have a Twitter account (@frkvang91) but I mostly use it for snooping around seeing what others do lol, and for sharing HumbleDrawing´s tweets

6. Is it hard working with your brother ?

I don't think it is hard, he is very capable - and I don't know much about Cyber-stuff

7. Do you have any interest in NFT's yourself or you just the designer ?

First I´ve heard of NFT´s was through Kenneth. As mentioned earlier, I´m not very technical so I´m not familiar with the technology behind it all.

The idea behind NFT´s as I understand them is really neat, but I don´t own any on my own, not yet at least. For the most part I´m just the designer

8 . Are you invested in crypto ?

Not at all actually, all I know about crypto is from my brother, and it´s not a lot lmao. I do have some WAX of course, but that is actually it.

9. Tell me something funny about your brother ?

When we were children, I was always the boss when we were playing. I once made him play a troll or my servant. I also made him believe, that I was a lion.

10 . Is design and artwork part of your full time job ?

I work as a nurse full time actually. Artwork and design has been something I´ve done since I was a kid, I´ve more or less always been drawing and painting various different things

Thanks Sara for answering my questions

Hi bud you free ?

Yeah I'm good to go

Brilliant how you ?

I´m doing pretty well at the moment, how about you?

Just in work lol you not working today

Not today, I have a minor concussion from a work related accident,

You alright ?

Yeah I´m fine, get a little dizzy when I strain myself too hard, but it´s getting better each day, happened some time ago

So have you been off work long ?

It happened two weeks ago yesterday, I had a few days where I went but had to leave early due to getting dizzy. But it´s going the right direction, and the doctor is not concerned for the future

Oh right so have you been getting stuck in on here since you been off ?

Well yeah I spent a decent amount of the time looking up how to edit and animate pictures, and completing the blend we now have available, and working on the next one as well. I have to take small breaks from being in front of the screen ever so often to avoid headaches with the concussion and all. But most of the time I had to spare went into HumbleDrawing´s, hopefully time well spent.. Also I´ve been very exited about doing this interview

So have I its been a long time coming to be fair I think we have been chatting for about 6 weeks I have offered to do meet the artist a few times but as you said you weren't ready

Yeah it´s been a very long time coming. And me being hesitant on accepting your offer on interviewing us, was partly due to wanting whitelisting on AtomicHub, and partly because I felt HumbleDrawing´s was not ready for the world, or if people would even like the NFT´s we make. I have since been proved wrong, and this has only fuelled us to want to get our NFT´s out to the people interested in them, and hopefully we can make a little community around our artwork some day. We´re even building a Gallery on a Rail Plot in The Uplift World for people to see our art displayed, we plan to have room for other artists and creators there as well. But this is very much a work in progress at this stage.

If we had known back when we first chatted about doing this, that it would go the way it has, I´d have accepted that interview instantly.

Oh right so your whitelisted on Atomichub and are thinking about getting listed on tokenheadz ?

Yes, we got the whitelisting in April. We need a "real" logo for listing on Token Head, and currently we have one in the making, when it is done and we´re pleased with it, the next step is to apply for listing on tokenhead. Which would be pretty awesome. We also have our collection listed on NFTHive as well, for the people that like the Hive platform

Oh brilliant are you looking at any other markets ?

We actually would like to stay on the WAX blockchain. And if possible, one day gain the final verification on AtomicHub. That would be an amazing milestone to reach. I mean we have looked on a few other markets, but man those gas fees just takes the fun out of it all, so WAX is the place to be for us

Brilliant so your invested in uplift world i have heard of it not used it was it expensive to set up ?

Well price for setting up is hard to give an exact figure on, but it´s not free lets just say that, despite that we still think it could add something special to HumbleDrawing´s, maybe there will be special NFT´s only to be found and bought through that plot, who knows ;)

You can buy packs where you´d get random plots, or you can trade your way to specific spots. We were lucky to trade our way to a decent spot (it´s at 1850, 2000 in game if anyone fly´s by). That being said, we are part of a team that has more plots around the Uplift Genesis server, part of the team are other creators, one of them is Cryptopunk, they make YouTube videos on crypto, all the rplanet stuff and NFT´s. So by being a team our expanses are spread out among us

That's great that must help a lot so can I ask I know your sister does the drawings for your NFT's and you finish them how do you find working with her?

It helps out a great deal, also on getting something built on there. Would be too much to have to do multiple plots on our own, and make our NFT´s.

Yeah Sára is the real artist behind HumbleDrawing´s, I just digitalize them and make boarders etc. I find her very easy to work with, I mean she has the talent, so when I make blends etc. I run them by her and she has final word on them.

Ah brilliant so team effort ?

Yeah, with the way we do things that works better for us

So where did the whole idea of humble drawings coming from ?

Well I actually came up with the idea of making one of Sára´s paintings into a NFT. For many years we have been telling to Sára that she should try to sell some of her work, but she never really got around to doing so, a couple of paintings have been sold over the years but nothing crazy. But when I got into NFT´s myself in the beginning of the year, I saw it as a great opportunity to try and get her art out there, and maybe it could become something special. So I proposed that I could make the NFT if she´d let me, and here we are today. It all started with what we now call HumbleHouses, the colourful oddly shaped houses she has made in some different variations. After seeing that people actually bought them, we decided to go for it and try to make a name. The name HumbleDrawing´s came up shortly after the houses were released, and I think it fits the collection very well

It real does work well so what's your favourite you and your sister have made so far ?

I absolutely love the blend we released the other day, but speaking of originals my personal favourites are the Faroe Birds, they are simple but still very beautiful pieces. That´s of the ones released so far, but one of the upcoming ones might take the place as being my favourite. But cant say too much on that one yet

Can we have a pic of the Faroe birds ?

Yes off course

Looks quite like puffin

The first one is a Puffin. The name of it is a Lundi on the Faroe Islands. The other is a Oystercatcher, and is the national bird on the Faroe Islands it´s called a Tjaldur

I know you have told me before you have family there ( We have discussed this before )

Indeed, half of our family are from those beautiful little islands

Where the other half from ?

The other half is Danish. My siblings and I all grew up in Denmark

Ah there must be some fabulous lil houses in Faroe island to make into NFT's ?

There are quite a few places around the mountains, where there are some interesting old little huts/houses with grassy roofs, these are really cool looking, maybe we should make a NFT of one some day

You could just do a set called back to nature ?

Might actually just end up snagging that idea lmao

No problem IL take 10% cut lol

Always great with input from outside of ones own bubble :P

I know so have you done many Collab's ?

We haven´t done a Collab yet, but we´re open to do so. We have one thing coming up, details are not completely settled yet but in the next few weeks we should know more on it and make a announcement, it should be pretty exciting! But in the meantime we´re open for it if anyone wants to do something with us. A few have offered, and I will get in touch with them in the near future

You telling me you and @SillyPsyBen haven't Collabbed ?

That´s unfortunately true, we chatted about it before, and I would like to see what we could come up with. He´s the no 1 on the list of people I want to get something done with, as it´s been a while since we chatted about it 😄😄😄😄

I am going to call him out on it lol and for the record I did and there is now a Collab planned . Who would be your dream Collab?

Well with me not being a wiz at animating things yet, it would be cool to Collab with someone like Alex Grom (@alex11go on twitter) his animations are really cool, and probably light years in front of what i can animate at this stage

We all start somewhere so are you working on a NFT at the moment ?

Not right now, but I will start working on the next blend for our stickers later this evening. And we also have a traditional piece planned for next week

Brilliant how many NFT's do you think you dropped so far ?

I believe we are right around 12 different not counting the stickers. Number of sold ones is harder to answer, I think between 2 and 300 of the different stickers have been bought in total

That some amount in all fairness !!!!!

Yeah, we did not imagine this would happen at all . And we´re still kind of amazed it did

But yous are happy to keep making them

Yes both of us want to continue releasing NFT´s from HumbleDrawing´s.

Do you think you will change direction with your NFT's ?

That´s a difficult question, I would like to have as many originals as possible. That being said, we also want to have digitally made varieties of our originals. So in that way we stay on the course we´re on now. I have looked a little into making something that would be redeemable for a special NFT, as I think it could add a neat twist to the collection. I´ve seen examples of someone doing something like that with custom baseball cards and those turned out quite nice. But nothing is set in stone yet ;D

what advice you have for people trying to become a NFT artist ?

Oh, well don´t be afraid of asking people for help, even if it´s someone who seems to be in a "top" position, I have been surprised who checks their dm´s and actually answers. Also don´t be discouraged if your NFT´s don't sell out, or have low sales in the beginning get your name out there, then sales will pick up. I hear it doesn't hurt getting interviewed by Meet The Artist 😜 One thing I regret not doing earlier is Collab's, they can be really powerful for getting your name out there, and making friends in the space. 😉😉😉

So who is your favourite artist ?

I was worried this question would come up. To be honest I can´t pick a single one, there are many great ones out there. But to name a few, SillyPsyBen does some pretty cool stuff, Blockchain Cards make redeemable cards that look incredible, I recently was told about the collection monstersandh and ended up buying all of the mint #1´s they had listed, they make cool little figures. And the list just goes on and on 🙃🙃🙃🙃

I knew you wouldn't give me a straight answer lol 🤔🤔🤔🤔

It´s a real difficult choice lmao

So tell us something random about yourself ?

Hmm well I like 3d printing and drones besides being into NFT´s

So what you do for fun when your not creating NFT's or in silly chatrooms lol?

I enjoy gaming a lot lol. When there is nice weather I like to go out with my drone and fly around in nature.

Where can people reach out to you ?

https://twitter.com/humbledrawing?s=09

The Discord is a little more active

Discord: https://discord.gg/jzXNAbXDZc

Telegram: https://t.me/humledrawing

Can we have a link for Atomichub to buy your cards ?

We regularly announce drops on our socials, but here is for the secondary market https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=humbledrawin&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

What's the plans for the night ?

Not very much planned for tonight, will begin working a little on the next blend later tonight

So any chance of a drop for the readers ?

Yeah, we could drop a sticker for the first 20 readers who post their wax addy under your article after reading it maybe? 😍😍

Perfect

Gotta give the fastest people a little something :p

Of course so anything you would like to add before you go ?

I think we got everything more or less covered with your great questions. If not I´m sure we´ll do this again in the future at some point . Other than that only thing there is to say, is that this whole space is filled with helpful people, and talented people as well, and it is great to be a part of it.

Thanks to Humbledrawings for chatting to me been waiting so long and a bigger thank you for the free drop for the readers so don't forget to drop your wax account and give Humble a following on twitter or join one of his channels . and till next time ...............

22
$ 16.02
$ 15.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.11 from @PVMihalache
+ 7
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

whluc.wam I HOPE IM NOT LATE

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1ioqu.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great read and love the art. Our address is puxbw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sending you the sticker right away :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am i late? hehehe.

uhmqy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uhmqy.wam

Not at all, sticker is on the way ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMg! thank you. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am i late? hehehe.

uhmqy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice read rx2r4.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

finally, a scandinavian!

.ytqy.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Done 💚💚, love that cute Oystercatcher 🤩🤩.

knrr.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love those faroe birds!

tfabu.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finally!!! ❤😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whem the collab happening

$ 0.00
2 years ago

p4ira.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you all for your kind words, and for reading, stickers are on the way :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you, that was a nice surprise in the morning.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the eyes of the Faroe Birds. q52aw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think artist will like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the colorful house, it's been a while that I haven't collected NFT been slacking off lately, I'd like to have one from humble drawings 😊 Thanks!

4ibr2.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Be sure to follow us on twitter to catch drops :p

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, already done. Even leave comments to one of your tweets 😁 Nice to meet you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! Thank you :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome! Your arts are great relaxing to my eyes 🙃

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You slacking off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, haha sorry I will try to catch up 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Come on get ur head in the game lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up.aw.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice!!! udtr2.wam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goad you liked it

$ 0.00
2 years ago