Meet the Artist behind Dustypixels

2 82

This meet the artist is a about an artist who was selling his physical cards then discovered NFT's and now he is creating his cards as NFT's and they look good so before I say anything else IL let him tell you more so lets meet the artist ......

Hey how you getting on ?

Ok now I've binned dust mine in my telegram . not for me I guess

Well maybe in the future

Perhaps .. I like that the group is doing well on its own merit

Of course what's the link to your Telegram chat room ?

https://t.me/dustypixelsart

Where else can we find you ?

https://twitter.com/DustyPixels2?s=09

Instagram @dustypixels

That's always a good a thing . How long ago you launched the project ?

I launched "we are the misfits!" as a physical project mid-way through the Uk lockdown on 2020. I released the initial box set/base set in oct 2020. I discovered NFTs arounds 6 weeks ago

and it blew my mind!

Audrey-Too-Micro-Set-Guide-V1.5.pdf

Check out the link above to learn more his project

Oh so there is a physical project to this as well ?

yes, being a kid of the 80's, I like tangible things and so a physical set was where this all started. It was very well received and I gained a reputation for quality pretty fast. The main problem is that being in the UK, almost all the customers were US based and shipping costs proved to be a real barrier. Of the 100 sets, there are still a remaining 15 or so left.

I’m going to have some redemption cards for base sets of series one and also a few collector boxes.

That's not bad and where are you selling the physical sets ? and do you think physical sets are dying down I was in the 80s and I remember collecting all different cards but they sadly are dying out due to kids to much into technology

I sell them from my shop on dusty-pixels.com - I think physical is still huge amongst the traditional collectors. There is definite a divide of physical Vs digital collectors - I think you either love or hate it. I believe it will be a generational transition.... as the current teens get into it, they wont have any association with physical collecting and it wont make any difference to them. Much the same way people in their 40's enjoy vinyl and cd's and holding a collection, most kids are equally as happy with mp3's and streaming. (they are almost unaware of what they missed out on so there's no conflict to them)

How did you become aware of NFT's ?

like most people, I hear the rumbling headlines of crazy values being exchanged for "gifs and jpgs" - I found myself reading into it purely out of fascination, but when I discovered the details, I found that I suited my illustrations/sales model perfect. (I initially wanted to make the physical misfits! a random pack purchase but the realist is its not possible for such a small run and the risk is far too high). when I found out about being able to create digital packs and that the shipping barriers wouldn't be an issue any more, I KNEW this was right for me and jumped right in (right into a 2-3week learning curve of headaches as i got my head around a whole bunch of new terminologies that I didn't understand)

and the monetary reward (if successful) really allows the artist to consider it as a valid occupation.

Why did settle with wax blockchain ?

the first place I discovered was atomic hub. its where I found GPK being sold and that alone was qualification enough that this was the correct platform of choice. As wax is the main currency here, it was an easy choice

Do you think your project fits well among GPK and Horrors and projects like ?

definitely with GPK as my style is of the parody art the GPK fans are familiar with. I've been chatting with ultra rare and have some things in the works, so I guess they like what I'm doing and see a fit, so yes.

John is bang on so how many cards have put out there for sale so far ?

I've created 5 micro sets so far - each one seems to grow a little bigger or more elaborate each time as I learn new things. actual individual cards? no idea, I don't keep count or even know where to look to find out, I'm just enjoying the process or creating the sets tbh

Where are you coming up with the ideas for each NFT ?

for the illustrations or for the pack/blend structures etc.?

For the illustrations or are these still based on the physical cards ?

so I have 15 illustrations that were created for the series one physical set. I also have another 25ish for series two... however, these will ALL be used each week/month as micro set drops. Each illustration is created as an idea comes into my head. ill scribble the concept down so I have plenty of ideas to work on when I sit down with the drawing pad. there's no deep meaning / concepts - its just daft, throw-away fun - the true spirit of parody art I guess? I'm also creating new art in the background to creating the NFT drops so I have a good supply of new and old art to work with. I simply use which ever piece I'm in the mood to see that week.

So everything is hand drawn first ?

some start off as pencil sketches, others are sketched directly in procreate on the iPad, but everything is coloured and finished within procreate.

Ah brilliant so your bringing blending into your sets ?

blending has been there from the start - I wasn't aware it was a new thing, i just saw the tools and jumped right in

Of course so how far would you to go with project could you see yourself selling the physical set with a virtual set?

I have no fixed plans tbh - I find that the best way, it becomes a fluid process. I initially wanted to launch a full sized, 600 card NFT set but I enjoy these micro sets and the level of attention I can give each piece of art. I also think other collectors enjoy the smaller sets too - it’s more achievable to complete and isn’t as overwhelming.

I like the idea of a digital redemption code within the physical set - much like GPK did - but again, I’ll see how things develop and go in whatever direction things take me

How long is each NFT taking to create from scribble to finish NFT ?

The initial illustrations can take anywhere from 4 hours to around 14hrs depending on how well it flows and how much detail in on the picture. The set creation is a solid weeks work. When I say solid, I mean working into the early hours of the morning having been sat there most of the day too. Not that I’m complaining, I do that because I’m kinda in the zone and loving it.

The next set I’m working on “teds dead” may take a touch longer because I have new ideas to try out. But all this isn’t a “knock it out and move onto the next” - it’s a real labor of love - I just work at a decent pace!

Is this a full time job and us it just yourself doing everything ?

I’ve been looking for an outlet for my illustrations for a while now and this platform suits it perfectly. So while there’s interest, I’ll gladly continue indefinitely and see what I can build this up into. I was ideally looking fir something that I can dip in and out of as and when suits me. This fulfils that perfectly which means it’s very sustainable for me with little risk of becoming burnt out.

And yes, this is me, myself and I. Again, this is exactly what I wanted as I’ve worked in creative teams in the past and also more regular company environments. Over the years I’ve found that the more people involved, the slower a process becomes. And in the case of a small creative project, I think it’s better for the artist to be left to his/her own devices - that way you get an unspoilt vision.

That is fair enough as the old saying is to many cooks spoil the broth !!!!!

When is your next NFT's going to launch ?

I’m currently working on a new micro set called “Teds Dead” and I expect it to be ready next weekend... so maybe the 5th June if all goes as planned.

Oh brilliant any sneak peaks ?

Absolutely! The promo is already with the telegram group, with a public drop going live in a few days for this card

The set is based on this character which was really popular from the physical set - he was a box cover character

Class

So could you see yourself doing a cross or Collab with other artists ?

It wouldn't be an instant "no", but so long as the project suits me/my style and time permits, then yes I'm definitely open to those discussions. I just cant commit to huge projects as it will pull focus away from my own work.

And is there an artist there you would love to work with ?

I don't know a huge amount of artists but the one standout in the whole GPK community is Pat Chaimuang. In terms of artistic skills and ideas, he's literally on a different planet. He work is unbelievable. I don't think I'm worthy of sitting side by side in a set with him (no one is) but if I could, I certainly would! As I've developed my own style and skills, I 've never made it a secret that he's my favorite artist. His shit just makes me fizzzzzzzzzzz

Are you collector as well as an artist ?

I collect GPK casually - I don’t chase rare cards or anything like that, I just collect for an appreciation of the illustrations. I’ve found myself more interested in some of the fan sets like Wrappers Delight and France is Back. These kind of sets usually include GPK sketch artists at an unofficial capacity but are loads of fun a d it’s great seeing them come together on the community pages.

I’ve tried NFT collecting when I first discovered it.... currently I love being a creator in this space but the collecting isn’t currently for me... I say currently as I’ve been so busy creating, that I’ve not had a huge amount of time to look around much.

Has being in the NFT world made you interested in crypto currency's ?

Yes absolutely. Having to deal with wax suddenly means you have a wallet where you can easily trade in other cryptos - with that hurdle out of the way I’ve found myself playing around with a few of them. Only in small amounts really but I have high hopes for doge just like everyone else - it’s been a rollercoaster so far! Great fun though

Have you looked at any other NFT markets for your collection ?

Not really tbh, I’m a “one step at a time” kinda person.

That's far enough have you always had an interest in art ?

Yes always, from around 8 years old I’d always tell people I wanted to be an “artist”. This developed into a career as a graphic designer/3D artist. So my traditional art-side never got chance to develop. Doing these NFTs is great as I finally have an outlet for my scribbles!

What were you doing before you started creating your cards and NFT's collections?

There isn't really a short answer to that but I’ll try my best.

I’m a qualified graphic designer and landed my first job at a company called ocean software back in about 1998 (which became infogrames) working in the in-house advertising dept. I left this company 3 years later with 3 colleagues and formed a company called head-first. A small studio who offered a full marketing solution for video game publishers. We created everything from 3D renders to finished magazine adverts and got chance to work on some great games over the years.

Following my daughters birth I then left to start up a bespoke wedding & celebration company (my mother and wife were cake decorators) which in 2008 mushroomed into a company that manufactured food colours, edible felt-pens, edible glitters etc. It was a crazy 8 years as we dealt with year after year of ridiculous growth and finally sold the company in 2016. At which point I took early retirement. Since then I have enjoyed various hobbies, finally being able to put time into illustration (something ive always wanted to improve on but never had the time to dedicate). During the 2020 lock-down I discovered various GPK groups on Facebook and found a really supportive audience for my work. This motivated me enough to to create my physical box set of the misfits. I went to town on this and it became a really labour of love, with elaborate packaging and lots of extras in the box (postcards, metal trading card, hologram border card set, badges etc.). My intention was to simply continue down this path and ideally find a way to overcome the crazy cost of shipping from the UK to the us in time for series 2. However, I then discovered NFTs and atomic hub and my head went side-ways as I fell down a ribbit hole!

Tell us something random about yourself ?

I can’t walk past a light switch without flicking it 50 times... lol just kidding. Eeerrrr.... when I was about 7 years old I went to watch a UK comedy act called “Canon and ball” - they were hugely popular in the UK back then. They saw me laughing my head off and shouted me up on stage. I got to chat with them for a few moments before being asked to should out their famous slogan “rock-on Tommy!” It was my 15 seconds of fame as a kid! I thought I was on top of the world.

Loved bobby ball

A ball of energy!

I know

When your not creating NFT's what do you do for fun ?

My general life is enjoying hobbies and being around the house with my family (wife and daughter). I drop in and out of learning the piano, mountain biking, gym, video games, track days in my car and I also race R.C buggy’s (1:10th scale) at a local club. I also have a backlog of gundam and star wars model kits I want to build, but just not finding the time lately. And at any point that I’m not doing any of the above, I’m usually scribbling a new idea on my iPad or finishing off some color work from an ongoing illustration.

Wow busy life

What advice if any you have for budding artists ?

Yes, come here with a sensible and attainable goal. Don’t come here with a “get rich quick” attitude. You can see it a mile off. There are a lot of opportunists around right now, you can see that in the clip art style NFTs that are being thrown together. However, if your work is solid, just be decent with the people you meet and everything else should follow. It may not happen over night, but give it time and watch it develop. It’s great fun.

Practice as much as you can and read/watch tutorials about techniques etc. It’s amazing how much you’ll take in from a few good videos. Study the work of illustrators you like. You’ll be amazed how you can deconstruct a painting once you start to understand colour-theory and techniques better and it will allow you to apply it easier to your own work. Finally, listen to others around you, take onboard advice from experienced artists. You can’t buy experience so when someone passes it on, grab it with both hands. And finally, finally.... don’t be that person who thinks they know more than anyone else just because you’re “an artist” - no one likes that guy and chances are, you won’t know more.

Do you have a favorite NFT artist ?

Right now I couldn’t name one... mainly because I’ve only dabbled a little with GPK NFTs but it didn’t grab me how I thought it would (I need to, overcome the tangible barrier). There’s also that much stuff out there right now, I find it hard to gain a clear focus on what’s being launched and when. However, I have to say that I really liked the latest ultra rare cards. Those 4 horsemen cards are really nice and slick. Especially the fully animated ones... very polished work. They sold out fast and rightly, so.

How do you find balance of taking to a global community with the time differences ?

Currently I mainly get involved with the group during the evenings of my U.K. time zone (if I’m free I’ll jump in throughout the day also), but the group does come awake with its own chat throughout the other time zones as people chat and trade. However, I’ve started to do two drops, one that suits UK time zones and a second drop 12 hours later to try and accommodate other time zones. I don’t think you’ll ever satisfy everyone in all time zones, but I see it as a sensible way to operate. (And manageable for an independent entity)

That's a great way to operate as at least's most people have two chance of collecting your drop

It became apparent early on that the time zones are the cause of a lot of frustration amongst collectors.

What is your favorite NFT you have made ?

Currently I’d say it’s the “super slimmer” card from the Audrey too set. I was really pleased with the slime effect I’d achieved and the transition loops seamlessly. It’s not over elaborate, just tidy work.

https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/template/misfitspland/139848

12
$ 11.79
$ 10.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

I like the project

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the last one 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago