Meet one of artists behind Silent Death Bringers

13 102

Right I came across this guy in April when I was trying to find a Dev for an artist but we came across each other during the week and he now has his on project with a friend of his so Il let him explain a bit more but its one of the first projects I have come across that is based on Du$t payments only .

Hey

Hey hey.

So how you doing on this late night early Friday morning ?

Honestly? Still dead tired but much better after taking a full day to recover from yesterday. I may be only 37 but I sometimes feel I have the body of a 97 year old lol. How about yourself ?

I know the feeling as I am the same age lol sometimes its good to take a step back sometimes . Did you do anything exciting today ?

Nope not really. Kept it low-key. Well, to prepare for the new Candyman I just re-watched the original 1992 Candyman. Last time I saw that movie I was probably only ten years old. Watching it today changed my perspective of it. As a kid, it was a super-stressful horror flick. As an adult, it still is just as stressful, but I can appreciate the beauty in Tony Todd's performance, and finding parallels between Candyman himself and the Cenobites from Hellraiser.

Ah you like your horror did you do any work or your NFT project ?

No I decided to dedicate the entire day to recovery. I could have worked and been productive but I wouldn't have been putting 100% into it. Just had to take one of those days, you know?

Of course . So tell us about your project ?

It started off as an idea between my friend and I to try to get more views on our Twitch streams. The idea was to start a new NFT project and do giveaways on our streams. We're still really new, but so far I've found way more interest in the NFTs themselves, and not so much our streaming LOL.

We started off with three variations of the same NFT, all at varying costs. The cheaper versions can be blended into the more expensive ones, and the highest-level one actually provides utility. HODLers of the Early Bird Supporter Lucky 13 NFT get put into a raffle whenever we release a new pack of NFTs, and winners of the raffle get the first 13 mints of the pack for free, and can open their packs a full day before the sale starts.

After those three NFTs, we released our Shuriken Pouches. They contain shuriken NFTs that are dedicated to my friend and partner in crime, @Cericat. The shurikens have different blend levels, and the highest level is the Shinobi Cat NFT, which is limited to 100 mints, is signed by @CeriCat, and acts as a random airdrop NFT.

Right now I am working on NFTs to donate to a Hurricane Ida charity, as well as our next pack series. We're also taking part in the ART by Huddo airdrop for HODLers of the ART pass between October and December.

Ah so what brought you into the NFT world in the first place ?

I am lucky to know some artists personally, one of whom is my brother (Photoyshop). To be honest, in the beginning, it was ALL about money. I saw the people like Beeple and others were making money by selling digital versions of their art, so I approached my brother and other artists and we agreed that I would figure out how to make NFTs, and then I would manage them.

I started on the Juungle marketplace, trying to sell NFTs of Photoyshop, Justin Vargas, and lucivay. I made two decent sales, both for Photoyshop, but I didn't find any more success on Juungle. The NFTs on Juungle are SLP NFTs, which is based off of Bitcoin Cash. I LOVE Bitcoin Cash, and I believe in the dedication and hard work of those behind-the-scenes at Juungle, but they sadly don't have the support of the Bitcoin Cash community. So I had to look at other marketplaces. I need to update the site, but you can still see all of our Juungle NFTs at http://bchnft.art.

After trying AirNFTs and WAX, and finding it extremely difficult to get collections whitelisted, I finally bit the bullet and opened accounts for my artists on OpenSea. So far no success, but we're slow-dripping their content so hopefully some day we will get some bites.

In the meantime, I grew into the WAX space. I became a part of the community, for better or worse. I invested in other projects, as well as supported some because I just really enjoyed their work. I found that now, even though I am "in it for the money" so-to-speak, I actually feel like I'm a part of the NFT space. I feel like I'm taking part in it all, instead of just throwing content out and marketing all the time.

Oh you where on jungle its a shame it never took off I back BCH to be a better bitcoin to be honest . So I am guessing your on noise.cash . I love the WAX community but what other projects on WAX where you involved in ?

Yeah it is my opinion that BCH is the true Bitcoin that follows the Nakamoto whitepaper. But I also feel that various crypto can coexist. I'm totally against tribalism. But that also doesn't stop me from thinking that current BTC and ETH gas fees are RIDICULOUS lol. I am on noise.cash. I created the "ShitpostsOfNoise" chamber lol. I found that a lot of people would post shitposts in hopes of getting free tips. I used that chamber to put a spotlight on this sort of action. But then the chamber blew up with actual shitposters so now it's just another place where people go to shitpost on noise LOL.

Officially, I am only involved in Silent Death Bringers (https://silentdeathbringers.com). I did start a WAX collection for Photoyshop, but I couldn't get his collection whitelisted on AtomicHub, so I canceled his WAX series sadly.

In unofficial capacity, I am involved most in Nifty Wizards. I'm not part of their mod team or anything, but I enjoy playing their text adventure and simply taking part in their community. There's also Magic Dust, but I kind of group Nifty Wizards and Magic Dust together because they were created and are maintained by the same team.

funmanbobyjo is a WAX collection I enjoy and the owner actually runs PvE and PvP games in the various telegram channels dedicated to the project.

Films Forever is just a cool set of photography taken in Hawaii. It's run by someone I really respect in the space, whom has treated me fairly in times when others didn't. I'd be remiss not to mention his collection.

Also I'm not really involved in OrderOfOther, but that's another collection run by a Juungle alum. I check in from time to time and I'm impressed by the level of success he has found.

Oh and how can I forget ART by Huddo? ART is a WAX token similar to DUST. They sell airdrop passes and I'm one of the artists for their October-December 2021 airdrop pass.

I love noise.cash been on there since December last year I actually know the creator of OrderofOther and I know a few of the other and project you have mentioned . When did your project launch ?

Silent Death Bringers soft-launched on August 26, 2021 at 4:20 PM Pacific time, and our Shuriken Pouches launched September 5, 2021 at 4:20 PM Pacific time. I personally chose the 4:20 times though @CeriCat is not one to partake in "herbal remedies" lol.

Ha ha ha how did launch go ? How did the community react ?

Full honesty: I think it went as well as it should have for a project starting from the ground-up, but it didn't go as well as I had hoped. My hopes were for everything to sell-out. But there are still plenty of Early-Bird NFTs and Shuriken Pouches available for sale. So far only three out of the 100 possible Shinobi Cat NFTs have been blended for. But as they always say: Rome wasn't built in a day, right?

Community reaction has been mostly positive. I actually haven't heard any negative feedback, which maybe isn't a good thing because negative feedback can also be helpful. You can see for yourself by joining our telegram: https://t.me/SilentDeathBringers

One of our goals is to turn the telegram group into a DU$T mine. In order to apply, we need to stake 200K DU$T to niftywizards and have at least 100 members. Thanks mostly to sales of the NFTs, we were able to stake the DU$T rather quickly. But getting members to join has been a challenge.

We recently released a 50 Telegram Members Celebration NFT that is almost-free and only available to our telegram members. It is limited to 50 mints, but only about half of them have been claimed. That should give you an idea of how active our community currently is. I still have a lot of work ahead of me.

That's ok it takes time to build up a community about a project you will get there . What was the first NFT you dropped ?

That's a tough one. From dropping so many NFTs for my artists it's hard to pick out the very first one. My first sale was "The doctor is in!" by Photoyshop (see attached photo). That one sold on Juungle for 0.18816446 BCH. Silent Death Bringers' first drop would have to be our Early Bird Supporter Lucky 13 NFT: https://neftyblocks.com/c/silentdeathb/drops/41765

Although that link isn't the actual first time we technically dropped it, the NFT in that drop was the first one we ever dropped.

Here's a GIF of the Early Bird Supporter Lucky 13 NFT

Ah so is this the first NFT from your project ?

Yeah that is the one that grants HODLers raffle entries for the first 13 basic packs of each pack release. For example: When the Shuriken Pouches launched, I held a raffle using the wallets of HODLers and the first 13 Shuriken Pouches were distributed early to them. I screen-captured the raffle using Wheel of Names and put it on YouTube for them to view: https://youtu.be/upgiHcQM6LQ

How many NFTs have you dropped so far ?

That's another tough one. Between Silent Death Bringers and my artists, I'd estimate at least 100, maybe even 200. For Silent Death Bringers alone, I'd say only 13 so far.

What has been your favorite to create ?

My favorite would have to be the entire Shuriken Pouch line. From drawing the shuriken, the pouch, the crate, and the Shinobi Cat (which is really a lion, but you can't see his mane under the ninja outfit), and figuring out how I would differentiate the variants, animate them, deciding on the blend numbers, and even integrating @CeriCat's signature. It was a lot of fun to plan and put together.

What programs you use for creation ?

I always start with a pencil drawing. Then I scan the pencil drawing and colorize it and touch it up in GIMP. When it comes to animation, I use a video game engine called Construct 2. I program it like I would a video game, and once it animates exactly how I want it to, I use Screen2GIF to capture the animation.

How long each NFT take to create ?

That really depends. I have ADHD, along with other mental health issues, so simply staying focused and motivated is a HUGE challenge for me. When I am really stuck-in and focused, I can work for 10-15 hours straight and get a lot done. Other times I am plagued by procrastination, distraction, or simply dealing with life in general. Unfortunately being at home doesn't always mean having all of the time in the world.

For one piece, I can get the pencil drawing done in maybe a half hour. It's the colorization and touch-ups that take the most time. This is mainly because I'm indecisive in my methods, and like to try new things. So digital colorization and finishing touches can take any number of hours.

Animation so far hasn't taken too long. Once I figure out what I want it to look like and how I will make it happen within the video game engine, it usually doesn't take longer than an hour or maybe two.

Have you done any collabs yet ?

Not yet but some are in the works. One is for ART by Huddo, as all of the artists taking part in the airdrop will be taking part in a single collaboration piece.

I have plans for a collab with one of my artists. That is still in it's early stages though. I have been approached by another artist regarding a collaboration. I really just need to get back to him on it.

Who would be your dream collab ?

If I could work with Yoshitaka Amano on ANYTHING that would be amazing. I know I'm not nearly on his level, but just to see him work and be a part of it would be just that: a dream.

Do you collect NFTs ?

I didn't think I would when I first started, but yes, nowadays I do. I am somewhat selective, though. You can see my entire WAX collection here: https://wax.atomichub.io/profile/xineedmoneyx

I have a few NFTs on my Juungle wallet as well.

I collect NFTs that have utility, such as the ones from the dust collection. I also collect funmanbobyjo NFTs because the game is fun, and they have their own utility that includes free weekly airdrops. I try to support my friends as well. Also once in a blue moon I'll find a piece that I just think is too awesome not to own such as Pulp Friction's Vintage Spiff vs. The GLARGHGH! Signature Edition Poster found here: https://wax.atomichub.io/explorer/asset/1099560455988

What the biggest collection you hold ?

At 218 pieces and counting, that honor goes to funmanbobyjo without question.

Wow that your favorite artist ?

Yoshitaka Amano is my favorite artist. funmanbobyjo is my biggest collection for a number of reasons:

1) I play the game.

2) I don't dump the NFTs, although I have sold some.

3) Weekly airdrops keep increasing that number lol

Ah so is NFTs now a full time job ?

For better or worse, I currently have all my eggs in the NFT/crypto basket. I see crypto as pretty much the only possible way to get out of poverty, and NFTs are just one part of the crypto spectrum.

What's the best lesson you have learn from creating y0ur own project ?

Do your best, but don't keep your expectations too high. Understand that scarcity is a bigger driver when it comes to NFTs than, say, art itself. Pay attention to what those whom are succeeding are doing, and do what they're doing, but try to do it better and make sure it fits your own moral guidelines.

How does your family feel about your project

Less than a handful even know about it. My brother is just hopeful that it pans out. My uncle has shown appreciation for the art (and he's even going to be in one of my upcoming NFTs), but for the most part doesn't understand it. Most of my family don't understand crypto or NFTs, so I don't bother even talking with them about it.

Tell us something random about you ?

I was Assistant Programmer on the Nintendo WiiU game Test Your Mind by XenoHorizon.

Oh wow . What you like to do when you aren't creating ?

Definitely gaming. I've been into video games as long as I can remember. That and spending time with the Mrs. and my dog.

What games ?

My all-time favorite video game is Final Fantasy 6. When I first played it, it was Final Fantasy 3 on Super Nintendo. Nowadays my primary gaming console is the PS4. But I play all genres. First-person shooters, real-time-strategy, platformers, JRPGs, and so on. Lately I've played a lot of Modern Warfare Multiplayer, and I recently started a new game of Shadowrun for Sega Genesis. I have beaten Shadowrun probably three or four times already, but I recently found out about a site called Retro Achievements. It incorporates achievements into your retro games. So now I'm playing through the game again but unlocking achievements for the first time ever. You can monitor my progress here: https://retroachievements.org/user/TongvaPower

There are too many notable games to count, but some that have been the most impactful are Tenchu: Stealth Assassins, Resident Evil 2, Silent Hill, and... well as I said I could go on and on lol.

Where can the community keep up with your project ?

The best way to keep up with Silent Death Bringers is to join our telegram at https://t.me/SilentDeathBringers and read through the pinned messages. You can also always find all of our links, including our news blog, streaming channels, twitter feeds, and affiliates at our

Website: https://silentdeathbringers.com

Here : https://read.cash/@SilentDeathBringers

Twitter for the Artist https://twitter.com/TongvaPower?s=20

Where can they buy your NFTs ?

Our storefront resides on NeftyBlocks: https://neftyblocks.com/c/silentdeathb

You can also find our NFTs on AtomicHub's secondary market: https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=silentdeathb&order=desc&sort=created&symbol=WAX

When the next NFT to drop ?

We haven't released that info yet as there is a lot of work in progress. Our next piece will be donated to a Hurricane Ida charity.

Any chance of a drop or competition for the readers ?

Yeah absolutely! You should actually see how I normally do giveaways first-hand.

Here's one for you: https://silentdeathbringers.com/giveaway/03/

And here's one for your first lucky reader: https://silentdeathbringers.com/giveaway/04/

The password for both of them is MeetTheArtist (case sensitive)

Thank you so much before we finish up is there anything you would like to add or say to the readers ?

Just make sure you know what you want and what you're getting into before you buy into any project. There will always be a hype man trying to send FOMO through the roof. It's not just about doing your own research. It's also about trusting your own gut. If something looks too good to be true, maybe try to look at it from a different angle before aping in.

Thanks so much for your time and I agree don't always follow the Fomo .

No problem and thanks for the opportunity to be a part of your ongoing documentation!

Thank you . So guys check out this quite cool project and give the artist a follow and if you want to help them get there Du$t miner join up to there Telegram .

18
$ 11.22
$ 10.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

I enjoyed the game πŸ˜ΉπŸ˜ΉπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘took me a while to get a hang of it but when I finally did I enjoyed it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its brilliant i love the idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice style πŸ˜‚ i played the game close to 5 times before getting it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yea just played it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Claimed it! Haha, funny airdrop, loved it. Wow these are some cool nfts, with envelopes and randomness when opening

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad you liked it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Understanding NFT seems like understanding Calculus to me. I can’t still wrap my head around it πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What confuse you about calculus

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I suck at calculus generally especially differential calculus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lets start at nfts so

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay. I know literally nothing about NFTs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are very easy to understand

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’ll read up on NFTs tomorrow then. I am a newbie to crypto. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago