Cthulhu-world scam project and worse

9 166

Right this is not my usual article where I praise a project or an artist and give them the spot light to show your work . For the record I have never charged a project for doing a Meet the Artist and I never will most of you know I stick to WAX blockchain artists that I chat to I will be doing some Proton artist soon . But if we rewind to Thursday I received this message into my Twitter messages.

And yes he was overing $800 for threes post at the moment that could of come in handy for helping in the real world so I had to bit and enquired more how about to make this easy cash forgetting the first rule of if it seems to good to be through it proubly is but however persist asking for more details.

So at this point I should of had alarm bells ringing he wouldn't want to appear on the show and discuss his project and have a promotion interview out there what came next was to invite to play his game.

Next message he sent was asking for an email address and what coin I wanted to be paid in . So I asked to be paid BNB and provided contract for it the email I provided is not connected to any crypto related . So after this he overs me a link to his game which I think grand lets go here is a link to the game https://cthulhu-world.com/app

Up pops this page everything looks great nothing to dodge about this so he gives me instructions of how to log in and download the game so I was out and about so I thought I would download on to the mobile so I had no luck I reached back out to the time but they tell

So fast forward to yesterday and I jumped onto my system and run through his steps and go to download the game and it turns out to be a zipfile so I unzip the file and here is the folder I am left with.

So I presome for the files that appeared on my screen that it is the last file called pumped so I download and get a small startup screen asking for a password which I think I have shown in the messages above my screen loads for a couple of seconds nothing happens so reach back out to the team and he questions me about my system now this laptop isn't that old so I know it should run but it doesn't he asks me do I have a second system to try it on sadly I don't he then say he will reach out to a programmer to solve the issue . In the mean time I join there Discord and try get a solution here is a link to there Discord https://discord.gg/yxHjhjTCtu . I was even smarted enough to get the tags of the project leaders in there at this second I am still in the group .

Now I have had very little interaction in the Discord as it is very quite on there I did say hello and that I was having a issue which was replied by put a ticket in I got a reply and that they would be in touch asap I haven't heard back yet over 24 hours ago . Fast-forward to last night and I get a message from another user in there Discord asking me some questions about I thought and this where I start getting worried I have hidden the person name because I don't want him to receive abuse.

Now as this person has tipped me off about a totally different named project but with a lot similarity's when it comes to there game we should play a game called the spot the differences

If you look at the two screens both screens look totally the same project but check the address in search bar now what else stands out well the big Metamask symbol in the right hand corner in the screen on the left which seems to me that is proubly the real project . I did a lil more digging on the Alchemic World twitter page https://twitter.com/AlchemicWorld and it looks like this CthulhuWorld has been banned already

So after looking at everything I have seen I think we have a copy cat project that must be running a scam so I proubly have a virus in my laptop somewhere which the lads on twitter have now provided a few sites to run the files through and see if there is .

virusscan.jotti.org

https://www.virustotal.com/gui/home/upload

virustotal.com

I have just run a test on the files and low and behold look what I found

So these guy sent an archive bomb straight to my system now thank god I haven't open that file but its still sitting on my system now. So to finish this article I will say is I am now off to try resolve this issue and guys please always do your research if its sounds to good it is and last but least I hope it doesn't happen to you

8
$ 6.78
$ 6.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @nomadghada
+ 1
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty

Comments

So sick of scammers.. i wish they could put all that effort into creating a legit project.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Total agree if they could put in half the effort of spamming into project they would proubly make more money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, this sounds awful. Glad you caught on to the guy before some real harm was done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did not see that coming..... oh wait I did

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh thanks man so supportive lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

scammers are the worst. Hope your laptop gets rid of that virus. Thank you for sharing and keeping us informed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its my pleasure i am getting laptop sorted 2muro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rule number 1 ... never install anything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know

$ 0.00
1 year ago