BreadlyToast 2 years in Wax

0 28
Avatar for Crackers
1 month ago

It has been two years and two weeks since I first did an interview with this artist and today he is still plugging away with his new season just dropping recently with we caught to see what been happening if you want to read are first interview check the link

https://www.publish0x.com/meet-the-nft-artist/meet-the-artist-behind-breadlytoast-xvyogvo

Hey man

Hi Crackers! how you doing? it's been a bit

I am good man and you ? It has been a bit just short of two years lol and your still plugging away on Wax?

ah yes!! I am still here ~ as are you!! still interviewing folks & chatting with new waxxy people. Very awesome you have kept your chats up of over the years too!

Of course I love being a part of this community . So your 2 years creating how many have you created?

There have been quite an abundance created since last we spoke; 2 years has gone quick. Yesterday we reached 101 unique animated 'breadcritters' from the breadcritter schema in total. In terms of total unique animations I think it is around the 220 range including all the schemas. Last time we spoke I was still very new to the space & had only made 5 or so

Wow that number has jumped a lot have you changed anything about how you create them?

Honestly I have kept things pretty much exactly the same; with a few exceptions here & there. Mostly they are all still 4 frames with the concept for each one originating from a doodle in my sketchbook. For some of the trippier loops I have occasionally done 8, 12, or in rare occasions 24+ frame animations instead of 4; but i prefer keeping them simple & close to how I originally started

Have you or will you do anything to celebrate your 2 years on Wax?

I did a special drop for my 1st year, but not the 2nd year. Turned out to be busier than I expected this time around so the time snuck up on me & passed me by. Though got some good things brewing !~ no special 2 year celebratory drop or anything like that - it was a missed opportunity; though had some fun kicking off 'series 3' of breadcritter yesterday with a new drop to mark the beginning of the 3rd year

Ah what can we expect from the 3rd year?

Main things are:

  • Be more consistent with weekly or at most semi-weekly breadcritter drops • Largest pack yet for the collection is dropping in April, Not sure exact number of nft pool inside yet but it will be at minimum 20 unique animations in the premint pool

  • Though I love collabs, there will be far less collabs. I want to focus more on my own stuff. Last collabs for a few months will be the upcoming sk8coin collab

  • I have other big plans for breadcritter beyond the blockchain; so lots of planning really. I won't have much to show for anything in that regards for a while ~ but exciting things are brewing. I will reveal more once I am in a good spot to share more

You talk about collabs who have you worked with so far?

Oh man, all sorts of fun folks!! I love collabing as each person offers something a bit different Waxballs, NippyNip, The Kollector, Catfresh, Taco, Acryptia, Señor Lupe, Krypto Kumas, Pixygon, Antlyers, Ducking Fuzz, Duckblob, Sk8coin ~ & that Stingers community drop hosted by NiftyBC. Pretty sure that is everyone; apologies if i missed someone in there

Is there anyone out that you would still love to collab with?

Ah yes, there is a handful. There are a few that come to mind. skunkychunks, catstickers, beedeebee, wonderwilds, cryptoflash to name a few.

Many others; I am often quite open to collabing as long as I have the free time to do so. I should have more free time in 5-6 months. & of Course, would love to collab with Bohn

I get Bohn is one of the holy grails of NFTs on Wax or even Opensea . So what can tell us about the packs coming in April?

These packs are something that I was working on heavily about a year ago; and am now finally working on wrapping up. They are called 'Peculiar Petals' and are flower themed ~ with the potential of finding rarer packs within the packs that have smaller editions and some 1/1s. it will include a medley of flower themed critters, wizards, beasts, etc. Shall be a fun time!

How different NFTs will be available in the packs?

Goal right now is at least 20 ~ planning on doing more though if I can swing it in time! I think it would be wild to do 30-40 but that is pretty ambitious for just a couple months so we'll see

How many NFTS will be in each pack?

Depends on total number of NFTs in the pool ultimately, which Ill have a better idea of as the time nears~ right now looking like between 3 & 5 NFTs per pack

So what can you tell us your big plans for breadcutter off chain?

I'm going to preface by stating that I don't want to hype folks up or say I'm going to do something that won't come to light for a long time hence why I'm being vague about the details as of right now. I don't want to overpromise, or give myself a deadline. With that said, I am quite excited for what's to come

Aside from NFTs I am heavily involved in music/studio recording, & other artistic ventures which I am looking to tie the breadcritter realm into, in some capacity.

Before breadcritter I was dead set on bringing a different animated/music related project to life - non blockchain - which I become seriously involved with only to find that I had the ideas but not the content or means to make what I wanted to accomplish happen. For the past 6 years I have been doing additional planning & drafting, & am finally at the point where I am able to revisit, knowing that this time I am ready to put my plan into motion, successfully.

Now that I am seeing it come to life it is a great thing; Though I don't have anything I wish to show for it at this time. I think fans of breadcritter will be quite pleased with what I am doing, though it may be 2 or 3 years before I make an official announcement on anything.

I am a perfectionist in my own way, If I'm not happy with the product I'm not going to release it into the wild. I am a fan of long-term development, especially if it means the end result will be better. I am in no rush to complete this side venture ~ though I do find it consuming more & more of my time.

More recently, I had the realization that tying breadcritters into this project would be a good idea & make it more interesting than I previously planned

Ah so its a while off at the moment . So out of all your NFTs what has been your favorite to create?

That is a tough one; there are many I am fond of. I think all & all I had the most fun with the Sticker 'Fantastic' pack drops;

Which offered 3 tiers of packs;

Which included NFTs, a ticket to redeem a physical doodle, & in some cases a ticket to redeem for a custom 1/1 animation. With each purchase 10 stickers, a pin, and a hand-drawn doodle were then mailed to the purchaser - anywhere in the world. For the few packs that didn't sell that were left on the market, I literally burned the leftover drawings I created & turned that footage into an animated NFT which I then airdropped to the folks who had already scooped one up. It was a pretty fun experience, & I really like the NFTs that were included in the packs as well as the animations for the packs themselves & the redeemable sticker ticket NFTs. Fusing of physical/digital art in the form of the NFTs that resulted turned out really nice, In my opinion. Each pack contained a random 1/1 of the physical art that determined which piece they would receive in the mail. The whole experience was a good time; my goal was to make enough funds off the drop to cover shipping & printing of the stickers, which it did. Something hits different about physical art/drops too. It was fun to dabble with that aspect & bring breadcritter goodies closer to home (literally) for those who wanted it

Have you looked at creating on other blockchains?

I have looked into it. I dabbled initially with Eth & Wax simultaneously. I got tired of the ETH ecosystem & found it difficult to manage multiple projects on two different chains without neglecting aspects of one of the collections. Between the gasfees, lack of buyers, and the burning trashfire that is OpenSea, I ultimately decided to stick with Wax. I have researched Tezos, Sol, & some others; I have no real interest. All future drops I planned on having on ETH are being released under the breadcritter colleciton on WAX in their own "Puddle Party" Schema, the style is a little different than typical breadcritters & those drops will be far & few. I would love to continue indefinitely on Wax; I won't be found on any other blockchain. If the Wax boat ever sinks, which hopefully it does not, I would turn my attention to fully focus on my other artistic ventures IRL

So Wax is your home?

Indeed, It's like a big cozy home made of Wax. I dig it

What has the biggest lesson you have learnt the last 2 years?

I spent a great deal of time on a collab with someone I deeply respected in this space; the most time & effort I have ever put into a collaborative project. Midway through the collaboration they ghosted everybody; & left everyone on twitter, discord, and all supporters of their project in the dark. This was nearly a year ago. It made me realize; that even when you think you know someone online, you really don't know them. It was an important lesson to realize that the only person I could really count on with 100% reliably is myself. I am confident in my abilities, & know what I am capable of & not capable of. The self-imposed pressure to constantly create & push stuff out is real, but it is important to take a step back & look at the bigger picture. Often the biggest critic of your own work is yourself. It is easier said than done sometimes, but don't compare yourself to others, don't stress if you get heckled or get criticism, & don't let others tell you what you're worth or push you in a direction you don't wish to go. If you aren't happy with your own work then it is not work releasing. Do what you enjoy doing, and if you don't find enjoyment in your project anymore then it may be time to shift your perspective & find something that does make you happy, even if that just means relaxing & taking it easy for a bit. It's OK to take breaks. Those were a few lessons I suppose, but ayee!! all important none the less

Oh wow that is some lessons you have learnt . What would be the one thing you would tell someone starting on WAX now?

The best tip I have is do what makes you happy, whatever that may look like to you. Be consistent & eventually people will take notice. Authenticity is important. Wax needs creators with original ideas. The community is smaller that it appears and many folks are willing to lend their support if you are genuinely passionate about your collection & are having fun with what you are doing

Bro its been a pleasure catching up and all the best with the project going forward

Appreciate you reaching out to catch up Crackers!! it's been a pleasure ~ Kudos for always being down to talk to Waxy folks! Thank you

Anytime bro

To catch up BreadlyToast

https://linktr.ee/BreadlyToast

Twitter : https://twitter.com/Breadlytoast

Discord : https://discord.gg/XVjn5mkUBg

Atomichub : https://wax.atomichub.io/market?collection_name=breadcritter

Neftyblocks : https://neftyblocks.com/collection/breadcritter

His next drop is tomorrow and is this

1
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Crackers
empty
empty
Avatar for Crackers
1 month ago

Comments