The Man Who Lost His Memory - Part 2

2 48
Avatar for CourtneyDutton
2 years ago

Hello everyone, I know it has been a while since I posted part one of the story. I was trying to decide if I wanted to continue or not since part one did not do too well (in my honest opinion). I will continue with the rest of the story and then see if I decide to stick around or not.

So...here is part two!

“Andy, I heard what happened last night,” he said, “are you alright?”

“I think I am okay,” Anderson replied, “but I have to be honest…..I don’t know you.”

“What do you mean you don’t know me? We were roommates back in college, and you hired me as a manager in your trucking company,” the man replied.

The man, Kyle, felt hurt and betrayed so he got up and left before Anderson could explain his situation. Anderson was now more confused than ever. The man did not leave his name with Anderson before barging out, so he did not know how to figure out who he was other than a former friends and employee.

Anderson walked back to the living room and starting looking through more photographs. After the photo of Jason and him, he clicked over to the next one which was a photograph of the two of them again, but this time the stranger who had just came to the door was there.

The three of them were a great team, like the three musketeers. Anderson felt sorrowful; he may have just lost one of his closest friends because of his amnesia.

The clock chimed three- o -clock as his children walked through the door.

“Hi dad,” they all said, “we’re home.”

“Hey kids, how was your day,” Anderson asked them even though he felt like they were strangers.

“Good,” said Micah

“Boring,” Eli stated.

“It was alright,” said Autumn, “just like any other day.”

Anderson did not know if he should tell his children about his spell of amnesia, but figured maybe they would be able to give him some helpful information.

“Kids, I want to ask you something,” Anderson said, “do you know what happened to me last night?”

“What do you mean,” Micah said, “you didn’t come home last night.”

“Where was I,” Anderson asked.

“Well you had gone to the bar with your friend from work,” Micah replied.

“So that was the wild night the caller was talking about,” Anderson stated.

Now Anderson knew who had called earlier in the day and left that confusing voicemail, and part of why it was a wild night. Anderson usually did not go to the bar and get drunk and wild. He would have a drink or two just to mellow out, but this time was different.

He still needed to find the rest of the pieces to the puzzle and figure out what exactly happened at the bar. Anderson grabbed the phone and started searching through the contact for Jason’s number, but before he could find it, his wife Destiny walked through the door.

“Honey, I’m home,” Destiny said, “I can’t wait to tell you about my day.”

“Hi sweetheart,” Anderson stated. He said that with a confused look because he still was not sure if Destiny was his wife or not.

“How was your day,” she asked, “you never came home last night.” Destiny was not too concerned that Anderson didn’t come home, because he often stayed overnight at work dealing with stacks, and stacks of paperwork.

“My day was a loss, I can’t remember anything. So I have been trying to put all the pieces together as I find them,” he replied.

“You even forgot who I am,” Destiny asked.

“Yes,” Anderson answered, “but I know now.”

After their conversation, Anderson found Jason’s phone number and pressed the call

button. Jason answered the phone quickly as if he was sitting by the phone waiting.

“Hello?”

“Hi Jason, its Anderson,” he said.

“Oh Andy, it’s good to hear from you,” Jason said, “Did you recover from last night?”

“Jason, what exactly happened,” Anderson asked, “I can’t remember a thing.”

“You got pretty wrecked buddy,” Jason replied.

“How much did I have to drink,” Anderson asked.

“Well you seemed down so I ordered you two shots of whiskey to start,” Jason started, “after that you were already buzzed so you ordered two more. Then you moved on to Jager, and before the night was up you finished up with four or five shots of tequila.”

-What happens next? Part 3 coming soon....

I feel this is a good place to stop so that I have more of the story for part three. What do you think of the story so far? Do you wonder who he is, and what really happened?

Part 1:

https://read.cash/@CourtneyDutton/the-man-who-lost-his-memory-part-1-b32015b6

Lead image from Unsplash

4
$ 0.15
$ 0.05 from @JLoberiza
$ 0.05 from @fiyyahhewit
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
Sponsors of CourtneyDutton
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CourtneyDutton
2 years ago

Comments

Hmm seeing the name Eli, I was expecting that the wife's name is Courtney. Hehe. Going to read partn1 now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, maybe it should have been but I wrote this before I knew I was going to have a son!

$ 0.00
2 years ago