Captchas For Protection and Frustration...

0 8
Avatar for CodyMac50
2 years ago

I use several websites each day, and collect sats just about all day, and run into the infamous "captcha".

It is said that to protect the site, these are needed. That is more than likely the case, because legitimate sites do need some form of protection against malicious attacks.

Hackers are smart, and have found ways to damage and steal using denial of service attacks, duplication of site theft, outright hacking of the server, and several other forms.

But for the average person...like myself, it's frustrating to say the least.

Examples are hCaptcha...my LEAST favorite captcha. Not because it asks me to choose the boats, or trucks,or cars, or motorcycles, or bikes, but now, it asks me to choose the length of a pair of pants.

It's stupid. #1 sometimes it only shows the pants by themselves, and #2 other times it has a model wearing them. When they are by themselves, it's turned into a guessing game rather than proving you are not a bot.

Below, I have an example of not hCaptcha, but the Google version, the first version. In it, just today as a matter of fact, I was given these two captchas.

It asked me to click on the "bicycles". Bicycles. Seems easy enough, right?

It showed me two bicycles and a motorcycle. So, after thinking the two were enough, I clicked on "submit". And sure enough, it asked me to click on all of the pictures with a BICYCLE...so, I clicked on the motorcycle, and it allowed me to proceed.

My issues aren't with captchas, (even though I hate them, I do understand why they are needed) my issue is with how they can be so off, when tech companies PAY websites to use them, and the oldest is from Google!

How is it possible that a giant, monolithic mega "we own the world" vampire company like Google, can't fix their captcha to understand the difference between a bicycle and a motorcycle...

I get that they probably don't care. They have the little fish to fry, and push out of business. So maybe both companies are trolling us all.

"Haha! We are going to come up with the MOST ridiculous system for you to earn a few cents, and we don't even care if it works properly, or makes any sense...you MUST do it because if not, then sorry, no access for you!"

You want to protect your website from hackers, and frustrate your users? Just get on the captcha bandwagon...

Adieu!

1
$ 0.59
$ 0.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for CodyMac50
2 years ago

Comments